We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cold , noisy , and unpractical room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ranked #65 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Arrived with a friend for 1 night for a concert at the nearby 02 , (within walking distance) The hotel was busy but we found parking easy. Staff were friendly and helpful on arrival we were allocated a disabled room (despite both being able bodied) , A twin room with two single beds.

On arrival at the room we noticed that the light above my bed didnt work that was the first of many things that we noticed were badly designed about the room. The tv unit was on the wall so high i at 5ft6 could just about reach to turn it on, how would this work for somebody in a wheelchair? Then in the large walk in bathroom the floor was covered in what looked like mouldy damp stains and smelt a bit funky to say the least. The cistern itself when you flush sounded like a pneumatic drill meaning if either room mate uses the facilities in the night its likely to wake both up.

The pillows on the bed were so thin that i found it comfortable without using one , when we asked for spares we were given a load of towels and told to use those rolled up as they had no spares. The bed itself well it was just a thin matteress on a glorifyed piece of mdf.

The location of the hotel cant be helped and perhaps we were unlucky as ours was right above the busy lobby and smoking area and even at almost 1am we were still hearing noise , plus the traffic. I think i must have been lucky to have got an hour sleep max! One of the worst nights ever.

As for the facilites themselfs we noticed there was only one plug socket in the room , miles away from the mirror not ideal for 2 girls getting ready to go out , and needing to charge phones laptops etc. The bathroom was fine (if your in a chair or disabled) for us able bodied chaps the sink was too low but hey thats not the hotels fault. There was no bin in the room , except for the small one in the bathroom which was meant for sanitary wear. There is no proper storage in the room except for a few hangers hanging from a metal pole on the wall ,wouldnt suit someone on a longer term stay. There was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

Had a better sleep warmer and quieter on the a34 on the way home. Budget by name budget by nature.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissB1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Good Evening,

Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,294 - 1,300 of 2,141 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

The rooms were what were to be expected from a budget hotel: the plus here was the great customer service.
Nicely located near the centre of Birmingham.
Very close to the O2 Academy for anyone coming in to see bands.



  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. Michal Kuc | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I booked this hotel directly on their website as it was the cheapest option. I paid £45 for a triple room, which I thought was really competitive.

The location of the hotel was my second deciding factor. It is a short ten/fifteen minute walk to the city centre (New Street Station, Bullring etc). I didn't see the car park, but later found out it is tucked behind the hotel. However, there is on-street parking available that is free after 12noon on Fridays and over the weekends. My car was safe there all weekend.

The hotel lobby is very modern - bright green artwork, open plan etc. I was quite surprised. The check in staff were friendly and helpful, despite being super busy.

I stayed on the fourth floor (accessible by a lift or the stairs - you'll need to use your room card to access either). The room consisted of a double bed, with a single bed on top (bunkbed style). It felt quite claustrophobic on the top bunk as it was quite narrow and very near to the ceiling. The room was really basic - no wardrobe and no drawers. The mattress was quite hard and we were given one pillow each - they were paper thin.

The small sink is in the bedroom itself, so you won't be able to maintain any privacy whilst washing. The shower is in a tiny cubicle. The water was hot, but you'll need to bring your own toiletries. We were given two small towels and one small bar of soap. There is also no hairdryer. You can hire one from reception for a £10 deposit, but there are only a few. All of them were already hired when I checked on a Saturday morning at about 8.30am. There was a small TV in the room with a few channels.

Whilst the room was small, it was functional and clean. It was extremely cheap and met all of my expectations. If you just need a place to sleep then go ahead and book.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trippety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Michal Kuc | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I booked this hotel as lot of friends were staying there that were going to a Ned's Atomic Dustbin gig at the O2 Academy.
I paid £45 which isnt too bad for a city centre hotel and I was pleasantly surprised.
The hotel reception was bright and airy and the staff very attentive on check-in

The room was basic but extremely clean. The shower was small but served the purpose. The double bed was a little firm for me but I slept okay. I was in room 139 with faced the road but at no point did the traffic noise disturb me

Would highly recommend this hotel for a trip to Birmingham, the city centre and New Street are a 10 minute walk away

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dazzqpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Michal Kuc | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Hugh2Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Staff were very helpful especially when asked them to put subtitles on the television for I am hearing impaired. Ideal location for shopping as it is only a 10 minutes walk to the Bullring from the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Michal Kuc | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
EasyHotel Birmingham
EasyHotel Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
572 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#71 of 118 in Birmingham
1,147 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#35 of 118 in Birmingham
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#42 of 118 in Birmingham
1,315 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre

Address: 1 Great Colmore Street, Birmingham B15 2AP, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £31 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget is a budget hotel, offering clean and comfortable accommodation, with guaranteed standards of service and a simple food option at really affordable prices. It is ideally located within the city centre, walking distance of "Bull Ring" shopping centre, Broad Street, Arcadian Centre and the main entertainment areas. The hotel offers 24-hour reception and the option to accommodate up to three people per room. 250 en-suite bedrooms including 12 accessible rooms - "Fraiche" offers a selection of sandwiches & snack 24 / 7 - "Eat as much as you like" continental buffet breakfast. FREE Wifi is now available in all public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham
Etap Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing