We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would think about staying elsewhere if required in the future.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ranked #65 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I had to tune the tv as it didn't containt any stored chanels. Hotel bar was rather expensive for what was on offer, not a good varied range either. Bed was very low and hard to sleep on. Room was quite tiny too, who has a sink seperate to the bathroom!?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Good Morning,

I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. I would like to discuss this with you in person. Please could you contact me via email H5678-GM@accor.com or telephone on 01216227575

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,249 - 1,255 of 2,111 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel 3rd-5th December for a gig and followed by a Christmas shopping trip.

Cons-
First thing I noticed upon arrival is there was no kettle!!! :-( but as we read while we were there you can rent them from reception along with hair dryers ect. (also there's free hot water from the machine downstairs) or it's £1.40 for hot drinks.
plug sockets were quite far from the mirrors, not ideal if you use electrical stylers.
Staff member just pointed to a bowl to put of room key in upon checkout. (hope you enjoyed your stay might have been nice?)

pro's -
Our room was very clean, staff were relativity friendly. Allthough there was a bit of noise from the road (which was expected) we weren't disturbed by anyone.
Beds were surprisingly very comfy : -)
Only a 10 minute walk to the city centre.
Can change room temperature yourself with thermostat and heats and cools quickly(perfect for cold weather)

Over all this was a great hotel.
We would visit again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatalieJane93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Good Morning,

Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed in a front facing room. The continuous noise from the traffic outside was a distraction and to be fair loud, enough to prevent the light sleepers from getting their 8 hours beauty sleep. The room itself was clean however I thought that the toilet and shower configuration a little unusual. If you are a large person then the toilet is pretty tight, Shower however was roomy. This hotel is a relaxing15 minutes from New St station and is also easy to locate. I booked breakfast in advance but in hindsight this was not a good idea. Cold buffet isn't my thing.
Overall I would use the hotel again if the price was right.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face out to the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Good Morning,

Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Lucy9182
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 December 2013

clean hotel, surprisingly quiet to say it was a busy Saturday night
toilet very small
Shower was great
Bunk Bed not made up
No mirror to dry your hair
No kettle in room

great car park great location
No swimming pool or sauna

but you can't get a better deal and i will sure be back

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cadeybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We drove to Birmingham, and this was a stop after Bicester, which was about an hour away. As we hadn't got precise directions, we were aided by sister hotel Ibis Hotel which is located smack in the city. For less than 25 pounds for the night, we can't really complain for the value and location.
Pros
- Within a 10 minute walk to the city ie Bull ring shopping center & Mailbox
- Food shops are within 5minutes
- Was given room 10 on the ground floor which was a boon for our heavy bags
- Compact and cozy room, with shower, basin and toilet separate. This worked out fine for us as we could use these as required without having to wait. However this arrangement may be best suited for couples or close family members.
- Felt new, and was warm and had hot power showers
- Good TV reception
- Free and fast wifi
Cons
- Parking was a problem and so we were forced to park at the other Ibis hotel located at a parallel street, next to the church/school. This meant a 5minute trek to and fro our hotel. This was 5pounds for parking from the night before until 530pm the next day, which eventually worked out well for our needs for shopping and sightseeing.
Overall was a good stay for a quick overnight stopover to our next destination.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms promise easy access for heavy bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JemimaBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Good Afternoon,

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.

Michal Kuc | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank juliefromsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
492 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#70 of 118 in Birmingham
1,138 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#43 of 118 in Birmingham
1,300 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre

Address: 1 Great Colmore Street, Birmingham B15 2AP, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £27 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget is a budget hotel, offering clean and comfortable accommodation, with guaranteed standards of service and a simple food option at really affordable prices. It is ideally located within the city centre, walking distance of "Bull Ring" shopping centre, Broad Street, Arcadian Centre and the main entertainment areas. The hotel offers 24-hour reception and the option to accommodate up to three people per room. 250 en-suite bedrooms including 12 accessible rooms - "Fraiche" offers a selection of sandwiches & snack 24 / 7 - "Eat as much as you like" continental buffet breakfast. FREE Wifi is now available in all public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham
Etap Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing