We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ranked #61 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    754
    435
    186
    172
See reviews for
233
500
290
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Faliraki, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here on the 5th December, as we were going to a gig at the LG arena. We'd had a long journey and wanted to get checked in as soon as possible. We were checked in very quickly and greeted by a very friendly receptionist. He took the time to talk to us and ask about...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 291Ola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards, Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

A very handy hotel- excellent value with rooms more compact but better designed that the main value hotel competitors. Close to the ring road for all routes, so convenient for a business stay. In the summer it may be suitable for walking around the centre of brum at night, but maybe not in the winter!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank s0uthp0rttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.

Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

For the most part I think hotels are hotels are hotels, especially the likes of the Ibis, Holiday Inn, and other chains. You know pretty much well what you are getting. A fairly bland and blank room, bed, TV, shower etc. I thought that the Ibis Budget would be more or less like that, a little smaller perhaps, but was ultimately disappointed.

For me, the differences that I noticed and didn’t like were:-
- No carpet in the rooms, this leaves the whole room feeling cold and not at all welcoming / relaxing.
- Not a proper bed, it appeared to be a thin foam mattress on a wooden box. Not hugely comfy.
- Sheets didn’t fit, this added to the uncomfy bed noted above.

To be fair to the hotel, 2 out of the 3 niggles are part of the ‘budget’ brand and probably contribute to the lower price. (no carpets = cheaper / easier cleaning?)

I would also add that the staff were very helpful when needed.

All in all though I would have preferred to pay the extra £8 (the difference on the night we stayed) and stay in a non-budget room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank El_Badgerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for a night in October,for a Half Man Half Biscuit gig in the,close by,O2 arena..Location was perfect,close to venue and a short walk to train station for airport and all city centre amenities.Would stay here again.Single room was clean and double bed comfortable.Tv in room,think there was a kettle but not sure..Shower etc.was in perfect working order.Did not have breakfast..The cost was grand.No external noise from street(I was at back of hotel),but don't think nosie would be an issue here..
Staff were very friendly..
Every thing within walking distance...
Swipe cards required for lift and room access,had to be reset every so often,but not an issue.

Room Tip: Think I was on 3rd floor,but reckon all floors the same..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards, Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is extremely basic but is definitely sufficient to rest your head for a night. The rooms feature a double bed with a single bunk bed above them and the sink and shower are in the bedroom. The toilet is in a small room on its own.
The shower and toilet were all clean and the shower was surprisingly hot and powerful.
I had a comfortable night’s sleep.
If you are on a budget, this hotel is great, however, I would not recommend it for people who are looking for a luxurious experience. Our experience was entirely positive & I would not hesitate to stay here again in similar circumstances.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review.
It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

hiya i wanted to use your hotel for the first time, so i rang up on the 2/01/14 about 2.45pm, someone named patrick, in the reservation department answered the phone, who was very helpful, and very keen on giving me a good deal, just wanted to say a big cheers to him and the team, just incase you forget who i am patrick its the chap that wanted a double room for friday night but then wanted it for sunday instead, thanks guys.

saj

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sajid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us.

See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards, Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#64 of 117 in Birmingham
1,086 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
251 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#37 of 117 in Birmingham
1,194 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Address: 1 Great Colmore Street, Birmingham B15 2AP, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget is a budget hotel, offering clean and comfortable accommodation, with guaranteed standards of service and a simple food option at really affordable prices. It is ideally located within the city centre, walking distance of "Bull Ring" shopping centre, Broad Street, Arcadian Centre and the main entertainment areas. The hotel offers 24-hour reception and the option to accommodate up to three people per room. 250 en-suite bedrooms including 12 accessible rooms - "Fraiche" offers a selection of sandwiches & snack 24 / 7 - "Eat as much as you like" continental buffet breakfast. FREE Wifi is now available in all public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham
Etap Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing