We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy Wifi and housekeeing dont change dirty sheets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ranked #59 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lousy Wifi and housekeeing dont change dirty sheets”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The location of this hotel could be a little better but its a budget hotel so cant really complain about that. I have stayed in a few Ibis budgets and Etap hotels this one lets the side down. Firstly when we arrived we paid 10 pounds to check in 2 hours early. Travelodge chargers similar so that was fine. We got to our room and when I turned over the duvet i found blood on the bed side of it.... It wasnt fresh blood as it was a darker color that put me off. We had to flip the duvet over to sleep in clean sheets and we hoped housekeeping would come and change it the next day. We were wrong they just made the bed back up and gave us fresh towels. Other than that the place was clean but the elevator button on floor 2 was stuck together with sticky tape.

If you are on business or need Internet connection this is not the hotel for you. We could barely connect to it and trying to book theater tickets was a real pain. I had to give up and go direct to a ticketmaster outlet. The wifi speed is that of ISDN around .3 of a mb if it works at all. We even tried to use it in the lobby no joy either. Ibis budget sort this out all your other hotels have good wifi expect this one.

Room Tip: Get one not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjbrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    746
    431
    185
    172
See reviews for
231
497
290
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

If you are looking for a cheap bed for the night in fairly central in Birmingham, this place is perfect.

This budget hotel is relatively modern and aimed at budget travellers. My room was clean and secure. Bed was actually pretty comfortable. It had all basic facilities you'd expect from a budget hotel. The shower is kind of in the room covered by an opaque door, so if you are sharing with others, you may lack some privacy. The sink was in the room, but the toilet was behind a door.

Location wise it is really good - only a short walk under an underpass and down to the city centre. We got cabs back from Broad Street for only a £5 or so.

It seems to be popular with stags/hens/sports teams/people on budget. I slept fine but there were others in my group who barely slept due to noise in corridor and outside in car park. Unfortunately noise goes with the territory. I personally wouldn't stay here for more then a night or two tops.

There looked like there was a basic continental breakfast available for roughly £4/£5, but we found the Wetherspoons a short walk away at the Dragon Inn had more selection for similar price(including hot food.. perfect the morning after a night out).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hezel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.

Kind regards, Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Arrived at 6.30pm and found a parking space quite easily in the hotel car park, check in was nice and quick and the reception staff were pleasant and helpful asking if I required breakfast in the morning. I was in room 454 and the room was quite basic but clean and fit for purpose. Just remember that it is a budget hotel and toiletries with the exception of a bar of soap are not provided nor is a hospitality tray with tea/coffee etc. The bed was nice and comfy and I slept undisturbed through the night.The free Wi-Fi was quick enough to view YouTube with and send a few emails through and overall the hotel is value for money if you just need an overnight stay for business or leisure and I will definitely use again on my next visit to Birmingham.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drumstickSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards, Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

5 minute walk from Birmingham new street so it was easy to drop my suite case off and go back into town. Very friendly staff except the man who was in the lobby at night was kind of rude to us. The room was very comfortable, spacious and clean, we were so surprised as it was only £19 a night! Amazing value for money! Will definitely stay again :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jubsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Paper thin walls where you can hear the person in the room next door coughing or blowing off. Unfortunately at a bargain price you attract riff raff so people coming back from a night out all through the night up untill 5:30am and not caring how loud they are in the corridor. People coming out of their rooms loudly talking about how they have 'just done a line' - horrible place never again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay.

I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter.

Please feel free to contact me on 0121 6227575 or email: H5678-gm@accor.com to discuss this further.

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Fabulous location, clean and friendly, really enjoyed our stay here. Staff are very helpful, rooms are spotless with showers that are powerful. Would stay again and would recommend this to everyone. Best budget hotel I have stayed in for a while.

Room Tip: We were ground floor but it was still nice and quiet. Bigger shower rooms available for disabled on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonsomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel was a last mjnute booking where price was a priority.Normally use TRAVELLODGE which I feel offers more for the money. Our room was small for a triple.Bunk bed was hard to negotiate.Shower and toilet were just cubicles in the room.Have to come out cubicle into room to dry and change. Could have done with small kettle in room.Room was adequate for our party and I would visit again but would use TRAVELODGE if one was available for similar price

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 117 in Birmingham
1,069 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#28 of 117 in Birmingham
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#32 of 117 in Birmingham
1,175 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
3,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Address: 1 Great Colmore Street, Birmingham B15 2AP, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget is a budget hotel, offering clean and comfortable accommodation, with guaranteed standards of service and a simple food option at really affordable prices. It is ideally located within the city centre, walking distance of "Bull Ring" shopping centre, Broad Street, Arcadian Centre and the main entertainment areas. The hotel offers 24-hour reception and the option to accommodate up to three people per room. 250 en-suite bedrooms including 12 accessible rooms - "Fraiche" offers a selection of sandwiches & snack 24 / 7 - "Eat as much as you like" continental buffet breakfast. FREE Wifi is now available in all public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham
Etap Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing