We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ranked #58 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Write a Review

1,915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    723
    420
    183
    169
See reviews for
224
483
285
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I booked in to stay one night at the beginning of May but ended up staying for three on a business trip. The hotel was budget as i had been informed by other reviews, however it was comfortable, clean and simple. The staff were attentive at sorting out extending my stay and chatty when i nipped down for late night deadline coffee's! The room was cheerful and the bed comfy although i did ask for two extra pillows, and the various lighting options and heater/fan was efficient. The towels weren't of great quality (small and thin) but did the job and i borrowed a hair dyer for a deposit of £10. The bedroom was on the first floor looking over the carpark which was fine, although i did get woken fairly early to workmen. If i was to be really pernickety, the hotel was only a ten minute walk from the back of new street station, but with my heavy suitcase a various bags a cab would have been easier. Overall, a comfortable and cheap (around £38 a night) stay - i would stay again for city centre business.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fah9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

When I see the word budget I expect something of a poor standard.

This Ibis hotel is a good clean place to stay. It is a 5 minute walk from Mailbox & Arcadian (China Town), about 10 minute walk from the Bull Ring & 15 - 20 Minutes from Broad Street.

The rooms are clean and basic, they have a flat screen TV & complimentary wi-fi (I've not used this), the overall room is spacious with a separate toilet & separate shower, the sink is within the room.

The 5 star rating is a value for money rating, not a rating to say this is 5 star accommodation.

The hotel offers parking (approx. £5 per night), however you can park for free on the surrounding streets... take note of charge times before leaving vehicle as there are some restrictions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Altaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night with my 11 year old son for an event at 02 Academy, couldn't believe how close it was to the venue, a 3 minute walk, which was great in the pouring rain! Check in was quick and easy, with friendly staff and at £34 a night felt the price was good. We stayed on the 2nd floor overlooking the car park so traffic noise was quiet. The room while not overly large was plenty big enough, separate wc and shower with frosted glass door off the bedroom, while that's not a problem while staying with family might be if staying with friends. Couldn't fault the cleanliness, clean bedding and towels, no carpet on floor just lino but feel that this is probably more hygienic anyway! No tea/coffee making stuff but knew that so had taken a travel kettle, TV in room with usual channels.
The only negative was that the window did not seem to close fully and there was a very loud female in the car park late at night who could be clearly heard and at 06.50hrs the car park was noisy with what sounded like shutters being opened and engine revving, the window did not protect from the noise. The hotel itself though was very quiet.
Overall a great venue for the 02 and definitely suited us for a one night stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank blubirdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards, Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

There is no question this is well run version of and IBIS. All the staff I encountered were on the ball, present, attentive and professional.

Look - this is a budget hotel - so I did not expect a lot - however, what I got exceeded my expectations. There was wifi - and ironing room, clean well appointed rooms - a good quiets nights sleep - in the middle of town - a great location.

Definitely value for money.

If there is a down side - and I have to be really picky - the mattress was a little firm for my liking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steven_wilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

At £34 a night I wasn't expecting anything to write home about but I was very pleased with my accommodation. The room was clean, the bed was the most comfortable I've experienced in a hotel and the shower was hot with plenty of power. The room was basic but what more would you expect at this price?
The continental breakfast was all you can eat for £4.95 which included the usual croissants, muffins and fruit.
Ok- I wouldn't stay here for my holiday but for an overnight, convenient stopover I had a very pleasant stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#64 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Address: 1 Great Colmore Street, Birmingham B15 2AP, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#39 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget is a budget hotel, offering clean and comfortable accommodation, with guaranteed standards of service and a simple food option at really affordable prices. It is ideally located within the city centre, walking distance of "Bull Ring" shopping centre, Broad Street, Arcadian Centre and the main entertainment areas. The hotel offers 24-hour reception and the option to accommodate up to three people per room. 250 en-suite bedrooms including 12 accessible rooms - "Fraiche" offers a selection of sandwiches & snack 24 / 7 - "Eat as much as you like" continental buffet breakfast. FREE Wifi is now available in all public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham
Etap Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing