We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, modern and friendly- fab stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ranked #59 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean, modern and friendly- fab stay!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed at the Ibis budget (room 247) as part of a Hen Party on Saturday Night, I wasn't expecting much, haven been to Birmingham or an Ibis before and it was booked for me by the Hen. Really pleased with the modern and new look and decor of the hotel, got parked easily even though the hotel was busy. The room was fab, light and airy with a tv and almost space age/ Japanese style and really clean, clean bedding. Shower and toilet separate which was great for 2 girls getting ready at the same time. 10 mins walk or a 3 min taxi ride from the centre, We went to the Arcadian and had a fab night out. Breakfast was great- lots of choice and all the staff were lovely. I read a review on here complaining because the receptionist had a 'partly shaven head' we met said lady and she was great, lovely sense of humour, polite and efficient so the fact she has a funky hairstyle shouldn't matter! The hotel was clean and modern, security and night staff around when we returned so it felt really safe and they couldn't do enough for us. will definitely stay again. There were a few hen and stags there but we came back at 1am and didn't hear any noise at all. Well worth the price. People moaning on here about no tea/ coffe in rooms and only 1 pillow/ towel READ THE SHEET IN THE ROOMS! Its a budget hotel, but if you ask at reception they willingly provide more pillows and towels, there are vendors for everything from painkillers to suitcase locks and beer/ hot and cold drinks and snacks in reception so either book and enjoy or pay £20 more for tea and coffee in your room, your choice! I would recommend this hotel to anyone its fab :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katiekear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Katie,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    735
    425
    184
    169
See reviews for
225
488
288
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

nice room however there was hairs on the bed, so needs to be cleaned properly, friendly staff and great location. cheap parking to! would recommend however cleanliness needs to be improved quite a bit

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Helpful?
Thank J19Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.

Kind regards, Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for a weekend for a friends birthday. Receptionists were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are comfortable and a perfect size and the location is fab! Broad street is only a taxi ride away which cost us £8 for 6 of us. Will definately return especially for the price we payed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the ibis budget, Birmingham Centre.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Clean and modern functional rooms and the hotel is only a 10 minute walk or so to the city centre. The room rates, if booked in advance, are very reasonable for such a central location. Free street parking nearby (residents only 11:00 to 12 noon to deter commuters) if the hotel car park is full or you want to spend £5 on something else! No tea and coffee facilities in the room (which is unusual nowadays) so take a travel kettle etc. if you like an early morning tea in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTFTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

For a budget hotel, this was excellent value for money. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was very convenient for the city centre. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Morag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel, (fri/sat) and cost less than £70. This hotel does what it says on the tin, its basic and clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, and its 15 minute walk to new street station and the bullring.

The rooms aren't huge- just enough space to walk around the edge of the bed, and the shower pod and toilet are a little cramped but for the cash I really can't complain. Didn't eat there, so unable to comment on that.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank catchthatrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.

Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I wanted a really cheap hotel so that myself and my son could go to the theatre and stay over in Birmingham. At £38 I thought this was reasonable and could walk easily to the theatre and restaurants.
The reception staff were excellent and the reception area was clean and tidy with vending machines for food and drinks. I was told about the £4.95 contintental breakfast. We didn't have this but it looked perfectly adequate when we checked out in the morning.
The room is more hostel than hotel room. Very basic. The sink is in the room. The toilet and shower are separate. You need to walk out of the toilet to wash your hands and step out of the shower straight into the room. This is fine as long as you are on friendly enough terms with your room mate!! You need to ask at reception if you want a hairdryer and, I believe, pay a small deposit.
We left our bags at the hotel when we checked out and were charged £2 for two bags.
I didn't mind too much but wondered if we had had breakfast too we would have been charged a total of £52. If you could get bed and breakfast with free bags left for £52 at another hotel you might consider this.
All in all it was fine for the price but a proper bathroom and breakfast included for £50 may be a better deal if you can find it!!
I felt slightly nervous walking back to the hotel at night and didn't fancy using the subway to cross the road.

Room Tip: They are not joking when they call it budget. If you don't mind no ensuite a youth hostel might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
1,049 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
3,484 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Address: 1 Great Colmore Street, Birmingham B15 2AP, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget is a budget hotel, offering clean and comfortable accommodation, with guaranteed standards of service and a simple food option at really affordable prices. It is ideally located within the city centre, walking distance of "Bull Ring" shopping centre, Broad Street, Arcadian Centre and the main entertainment areas. The hotel offers 24-hour reception and the option to accommodate up to three people per room. 250 en-suite bedrooms including 12 accessible rooms - "Fraiche" offers a selection of sandwiches & snack 24 / 7 - "Eat as much as you like" continental buffet breakfast. FREE Wifi is now available in all public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham
Etap Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing