We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“such great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ranked #60 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“such great value”
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We have stayed here at least twice before as 2 of our family have been at Uni in the city and this time saw no reason to change our overnight choice-such great value on the summer offer with breakfast included. Asked for a quiet room at the back on our arrival which was quickly arranged. Great nights sleep and more than adequate choice of continental breakfast and cereal.Great shower too! Parked free on the street nearby. Well done, keep it up to all at this Etap!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 26 July 2010
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Etap Birmingham Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back at Etap. Kind regards, General Manager Magali Leveque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    746
    431
    185
    172
See reviews for
232
497
290
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2010

great place to stay if all you need is a bed, shower and toilet! There's a tv in the room also but i never used it and i never experienced any noise. The room felt quite spacious and the shower was clean. I have no complaints if all you need is a place to stay for £38 a night!

Also i might add i chose this hotel because its only TEN minutes walk if even a little less to new street station and pretty easy to get to. i wasn't sure though if i wanted to walk under a subway on my own being a girl as i've encountered problems before (in birmingham under a subway near broad st) but considering this is in the centre of Birmingham in broad daylight and surrounded by traffic and people it was fine.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone needing an affordable place to stay even at last minute

i should also add that there isn't much parking space and can get full at night, we had to park outside of the hotel as we went out to star city around ten o clock for some food.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Etap Hotel in Birmingham and I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Magali Leveque General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Not a lot shocks me, but the fact that I was expected to pay £40+ to stay in what was effectively a prison cell did. I do not say this lightly but it genuinelly is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in with no exception. If considering booking please give some serious consideration - there must be another solution. I would rather sleep in my car than stay here again. This is one of thoe places where I can't imagine what the senior management team have said to each other after their first visit - they should be ashamed of themselves.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB78_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2010
Dear Sir,

As you already answered in our company questionnaire, I am really sorry to hear that your stay at etap Hotel in Birmingham Centre wasn’t up to expectations. If you would like to discuss the matter with me you can contact me on h5678-gm@accor.com. Kind regards, Magali Leveque General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

uk
Level Contributor
417 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

This is part of the same French chain that do Ibis and Novotels. I've stayed in those two before but this was the first Etap I've been to. For £38 a night for a double room it is exactly what you would expect - there are no frills, so no tea or coffee (you can rent a kettle and tea bags for £2!) The rooms are small but something of a masterpiece of design so they don't actually feel cramped. The bed is perfectly ok and everything is extremely clean. The buffet breakfast doesn't have a lot of choice, but it's all perfectly ok.

Location wise it would take 15-20 minutes to walk to New Street station, so it's on the fringes of the city centre but not miles out. You have to go through a rather unpleasant subway to get there, though. There always seem to be minicabs outside. One thing I did notice was that the road noise is quite bad so some people might want to ask for a room away from the main road.

People can criticise this place for being basic - well it is, but that's because it's very cheap. You get what you pay for. I would recommend it for anyone who doesn't plan to spend ages in their room but just needs an economical place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfuhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Etap Hotel in Birmingham Centre. Kind regards, Magali Leveque General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athy, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2010

when we walked into our room we were shocked at what was on offer, nothing! no kettle no phone 3 coat hangers, you had to back into bathroom air con not working could not sleep with the heat as room so small. items left on top bunk from last guests.
HORRIBLE!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeyboy2k10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 9 June 2010
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience of the hotel. We reported to the Maintenance department regarding the problem you had with your Air con.
Feel free to email me on h5678-gm@accor.com if you wish to discuss it further.
King Regards
Magali Leveque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

I stayed one night at the Etap as I couldn't get in anywhere else in Birmingham. I was a little nervous as it sounded very basic. In fact it IS basic but if you need a clean and simple place to stay it is absolutely fine. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, it is spotlessly clean, the room is totally plain and there are no frills whatsoever, not even a kettle. However, the downstairs area is open all night and there is food and drink on offer, internet access is good, the shower was great and the breakfast was cheap and extremely plentiful, all the food you could possibly want and good machine coffee. This isn't my usual type of hotel but I was left feeling that this is a very well run operation which does exactly what it says on the tin. The immediate area of the hotel is slighly lairy, but security is clearly taken very seriously here and I felt very safe. The hotel was full that night, but I heard no noise, except from the very noisy road right outside the window. Actually I would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shughes1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Etap Birmingham Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back at Etap. Kind regards, Magali Leveque General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

The hotel rooms are clean and tidy, basic and the 3 bedroom ones are a king sized bed with a bunk bed on top. Be warned: it is a BASIC hotel but for £40 for 3 people what do you expect? It was clean and tidy and a place to stay above all else. I'd stay there again.

You only get a single bar of soap, so take extra stuff if you feel you need to. Breakfast is continental but at less than £4 I couldn't complain.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaVillaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 20 July 2010
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Etap Birmingham Centre. Kind regards,Magali Leveque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#63 of 117 in Birmingham
1,069 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#31 of 117 in Birmingham
1,177 reviews
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
222 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Address: 1 Great Colmore Street, Birmingham B15 2AP, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget is a budget hotel, offering clean and comfortable accommodation, with guaranteed standards of service and a simple food option at really affordable prices. It is ideally located within the city centre, walking distance of "Bull Ring" shopping centre, Broad Street, Arcadian Centre and the main entertainment areas. The hotel offers 24-hour reception and the option to accommodate up to three people per room. 250 en-suite bedrooms including 12 accessible rooms - "Fraiche" offers a selection of sandwiches & snack 24 / 7 - "Eat as much as you like" continental buffet breakfast. FREE Wifi is now available in all public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham
Etap Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing