We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, but functional, friendly & clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ranked #58 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Basic, but functional, friendly & clean”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Rather basic, but all the facilities are functional and the staff are friendly and helpful. Despite all the basicness: the bed was better and I slept better than in any other hotel, and the shower was just perfect - well, it was all very functional and pleasant, and that is more than can be said about many 5 star hotels or romantic b&b's. And you can't complain about the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jduester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Etap Birmingham Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Magali Leveque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    742
    427
    184
    170
See reviews for
228
494
288
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Great location only a 5min walk to the gay village, 10mins to the bullring shopping centre, rooms were cleanish, 3rd bunk bed wasnt made up, when we asked house keeping to make it we was told to do it ourselves, okay if your having a dirty weekend away, if your staying with family you should know the shower is in the bedroom, no privacy, you have to undress in the room then back into the shower, however the shower was powerful, there was a bag of rubbish left in the corridor for a wkend, half an eaten croissante in the lift... I recommend the Ibis for only £15 more a night and its closer to the town.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbied86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I love this etap hotel. Stay here all the time when in Birmingham. Service is great from reception staff. Rooms are very nice and clean. Can hire a kettle for room and you get the money back. Breakfast nice and for £38 a night it's great value too!!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrrsffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 27 September 2010
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Etap Hotel in Birmingham Centre and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Magali Leveque General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We just wanted somewhere cheap to stay in Birmingham that was close to town and decided to stay at Etap and try it out. For a functional place to sleep its fine and I would stay again - the only gripe I have with the rooms is the cupboard like toilet and the perspex toilet door with a hole in it - make sure you are close to the people you decide to stay with or it could be a bit awkward!!!

Most people staying in the hotel seemed to be groups of fairly young people in large groups obviously out on the town in Birmingham!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wannabetraveller786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 16 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Etap hotel in Birmingham. We really value your feedback.
I look forward to welcoming you back at Etap hotel.

Kind regards,
Magali Leveque
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

I have stayed in this hotel several times and, whilst I don't love it, I really like it a lot !! It is fantastic value for money and I have to say that I always have the best night's sleep I ever have in a hotel (and I stay in a lot of hotels of varying qualities). The staff are very efficient, friendly and welcoming, the car park is good and only £3 for 24 hours and the rooms are basic, but quirky and comfortable. The shower is fantastic aswell. The location isn't the best part of town but I've walked around the area, often quite late, and had no problems. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spoyzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 16 August 2010
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Etap Hotel in Birmingham city centre and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Magali Leveque
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2010

28 pounds only ( triple room) in Mid July. including Breakfast!
the service quite good .. rooms are quite!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Etap Birmingham Centre and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Magali Leveque General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

I stayed at the etap birmingham a few times and shared room with 2 others. is very basic but does the job - get there very early for car parking.

Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DaveStorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 31 July 2010
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Etap Hotel in Birmingham Centre. Kind regards, Magali Leveque General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#63 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Address: 1 Great Colmore Street, Birmingham B15 2AP, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget is a budget hotel, offering clean and comfortable accommodation, with guaranteed standards of service and a simple food option at really affordable prices. It is ideally located within the city centre, walking distance of "Bull Ring" shopping centre, Broad Street, Arcadian Centre and the main entertainment areas. The hotel offers 24-hour reception and the option to accommodate up to three people per room. 250 en-suite bedrooms including 12 accessible rooms - "Fraiche" offers a selection of sandwiches & snack 24 / 7 - "Eat as much as you like" continental buffet breakfast. FREE Wifi is now available in all public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham
Etap Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing