We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a novelty stay but poor value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nitenite Birmingham
Ranked #72 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a quick last minute night away with my boyfriend. Booked on the basis that it would be something novelty (pod type rooms that are similar to what you experience at the bottom deck on a cruise ship).

On a positive note the room was very clean and tidy with a small selection of shower gels/shampoos. Great location, right in the middle of city centre at the back of the mailbox/cube. Huge tv which covered half of the bedroom wall (that gives you an idea of how small the rooms are though!) The room was tiny....I mean tiny! No space for a wardrobe and you could have almost one foot in bed and the other in the bathroom. Walls were thin and we had a disturbed nights sleep through people in the corridors.

Was around £50 per night per room and I feel in future I could pay the same amount of money for a more spacious room in other rival budget hotels (premier inn etc)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicjobro88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I'm going to start saying what this hotel is not:

- This is not a place where you can spend your time in your room

- You can't have a friend or other person hanging out in your room

- This is not the right place for you if you are claustrophobic

This hotel is ok for sleeping and having a shower. The rooms are extremely small and they have no windows, but it is ok if you just need a confortable bed and a clean bathroom.

I would recommend Nitenite to anyone who has not problem with tiny spaces

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Duarte_RV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Central, tiny, inexpensive and great for a nights stop over. Please know that you are booking a Japanese style pod room and you will enjoy your time. This makes a change to your usual hotel and is located at the Mailbox, so great for all your tastes of restaurant .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

What a great idea! I tried this place because I had to book on a budget (for business). I was not expecting very much - and was pleasantly surprised. The venue is central, clean and relatively well managed. (I say this only because the staff member on the desk in the morning did not know Birmingham - which I feel is a per-requisite for any staff member of a hotel - they should know about the location they are situated in). But this did not detract from the stay.

I got a really great deal with an on-line comparison site. A bed was all I needed - and in fact a bed was just about all I got - except for a more than adequate en suite. There is no floor space - so leave your cat at home. But it is clean, remarkably quiet and there is a TV, free wi-fi and an ironing room (all the things I look for in a hotel I stay at).

I didn't try the food - I was in a hurry. Check in and check out was quick and efficient. I would stay there again - but maybe not with someone special!

Room Tip: All rooms are teh same - except the inside rooms do not have windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven_wilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Having been pleased to use the similarly configured Yotel at Heathrow to freshen up after a transatlantic flight, I was not put off by the idea that Nitenite's rooms are small and windowless. The raw basics are provided, including tea/coffee and free Wi-Fi, but I was disappointed to find that my entire room (including the shower area) was smaller than my walk-in closet at home. I like the idea of eliminating superfluous facilities for the sake of economy, but space for your stuff (including proper coat hangers) and a decent-sized bed are part of the basics for me. I can't imagine anything more than a single occupant for an overnight stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rowley32256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamGM, General Manager at Nitenite Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for writing a review of the hotel, I am sorry to hear you felt the rooms were a little on the small side. The concept is based on a Japanese idea to maximise space whilst providing the essentials.

I have taken your comments on board about the hangers and will bear this in mind when planning future hotels and redevelopments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This hotel was extremely pleasant, greeted by lovely staff who were friendly and made the visit very welcoming. The bedrooms were nice and clean, and the beds very cosy. The food in the restaurant was tasty too, and enjoyed the leisure facilities. A great and relaxing experience, will definitely be back there again, one of the best hotels in Birmingham!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamGM, General Manager at Nitenite Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you Amany1234 , I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we really look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Me and mrs needed a nice but cheap hotel to stay in for a couple of hours whilst we waited for a gig on broad street , found the rooms very clean the staff were polite and asked numerous times to make sure we were ok! Hospitality was good :) would definitely stay here again you get what you pay for :) people moaning about it for 40 odd pound are out of their minds !

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amany1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamGM, General Manager at Nitenite Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for taking out time to write a review on nitenite cityhotels Birmingham. I will pass your kind compliments to the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
1,018 reviews
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#43 of 118 in Birmingham
1,280 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nitenite Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nitenite Birmingham

Address: Centenary Plaza 18 Holliday Street | Centenary Plaza, Birmingham B1 1TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £33 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nitenite Birmingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nitenite Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nitenite Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Nitenite Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Nitenite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing