We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one person, one night ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nitenite Birmingham
Ranked #66 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Ok for one person, one night ”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Positives -
Good central location
Clean
Comfy bed
Modern
Car park just across the road (£13 for 24hrs)
Shower powerful
Able to cool room with 'air con' type cooling
Cheap as chips (£35 for a Fri night)

Negatives
Not sure I could have tolerated staying with another person, really would have been pushing it space wise.
Staff did not explain control panel on wall, difficult to work out.
Light very dim in bathroom.
Shower wet the full bathroom floor, had to use towel to dry floor else would have been paddling in it overnight when using loo etc.
Only 2 towels provided, no mat.
Corridors a maze.
Sleep disturbed by late night revellers shouting at stupid o clock. I asked for a quiet room but don't suppose you can avoid these things...
Slightly disorientating when there's no window, was glad to get out in the morning for some fresh air.

All in all it was ok I guess, can't really complain for £35. Would I stay again?? Maybe....

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pippa_Cra_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamGM, General Manager at Nitenite Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at nitenite Birmingham. I thank you for your comments and take them on board. There should have been a direction card given to you on check in that explained the control panel in the room, so i do apologise this was not given to you. I also apologise for our noisy neighbours and hope you re join us for a stay again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    407
    212
    87
    70
See reviews for
31
403
192
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Have stayed here a few times, only for one night. The design and use of the space is very imaginative, a bit like a ships' cosy inside cabin. This is great if you have travelled light and are only using the place as a sleeping base, it would be claustrophobic to spend too long in your room. Bargain price but very clean throughout, everything works and staff very helpful. Convenient location for Central Birmingham include shopping and concert venues, with a pay car park almost opposite. The only thing that might improve it is slightly better lighting in the wet room so it's easier to shave!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same, so no need to pick anything specific
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamGM, General Manager at Nitenite Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking time out to write your review of nitenite Birmingham. I am really glad to hear you found the use of space imaginative and have summed up the design very well as the original concept was based on a luxury Yacht Cabin! I take your comments onboard regarding the lighting in the wet rooms and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Well located off the busy Broad Street. Walking distance to most good bits. Room is tiny but fine for one, a couple woild not manage. Seems secure but nowhere to put valuables. Reminds me of my student digs but smaller! -

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank kalupukka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamGM, General Manager at Nitenite Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for writing your review and we're pleased to hear our superb location met your requirements. I take on board your comments about secure storage in the rooms and will work on a way of letting all our guest know we actually have a safety deposit box room in reception, sorry you wasn't made aware of this and look forward to welcoming you back for a night at nitenite in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my friend. Had a pleasant stay here. Friendly staff. They explained the control button inside the room clearly. Small, Clean and cozy room. The bad part is there is no window. You'll not know when is day and night. Haha.. Will recommend it to other friends of mine :)!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Siao Rainie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamGM, General Manager at Nitenite Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thanks for writing the review of your recent stay, sound like you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for recommending us you your friends! We think the no window is the quirkiest part of nitenite and can have it's benefits... we look forward to welcoming you and your friend back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed here after a night out in Birmingham. The rooms are "pods" without windows - but you do get a massive TV at the end of the double bed which shows real time footage of outside.
Great for a one night stay. Bed was comfy, bathroom was great and water hot.
The rooms are small, but I didn't find this a problem.
If you want a quiet room, make sure you ask on booking. I did, and I had a great nights sleep and wasn't disturbed once.
I would recommend this hotel. There is a car park right across the road from the hotel which is fair in its price for overnight. I recommend doing this than park on the street as the wardens come out early and your likely to get a ticket! Parking in Birmingham is a nightmare!
I recommend this hotel. I loved the novelty of the pod and the staff were nice and helpful and the lobby is beautifully designed.

Room Tip: All rooms have double beds - so good for couples or solo. If you want a quiet room, ask for this at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PepzMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamGM, General Manager at Nitenite Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, it's great to hear you enjoyed it and experienced the rooms to their full potential as well as enjoying some of the facilities on offer.
We will look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night as I was going out for a work night out in the city, the reason I chose this hotel was location, price and the 12pm check out time.

The hotel is approximately 10 min walk from New Street, not far from the Mail box. I did end up walking a long random route on the way there, but that was due to the GPS on my phone taking me via Board Street. I gave up on that and then found the hotel easily. Situated on Holliday Street, near the Axis Building and at the bottom of Bridge Street. There is parking near by, but it is not free.

The hotel itself looks very modern on the outside, next door to an apartment block. The entrance and reception is nicely decorated, very modern and inviting. The staff member on check in was friendly, explaining a bit about the hotel and checking me in quickly.

My room itself was clean and tidy and small. But the size was to be expected as the hotel promotes itself on the in room information as basing its concept on the capsule hotels in Japan.

The rooms are windowless and a room key card activated panel near the bed controls everything, lights, powering the kettle, room temp etc. Its quite a useful tool, you have many lighting options and it really adds to the cabin theme of the room.

The bathroom is a wet room, very basic but clean and did the job. The shower had an issue with losing pressure occasionally but it wasn't too annoying for 1 night.

The bed was a super comfortable double bed with a memory foam mattress and a lovely warm duvet. It was much appreciated to after a night out.

The only strange thing was waking up to a pitch black room at 8am due to the lack of windows but I can't complain too much as having no windows means no outside noises of the city so its a very quiet room other than the occasional loud passer by in the corridor outside.

The check out in the morning was simple and easy, staff member wasn't as polite as the night before but that's how it goes sometimes and it didn't ruin my experience.

Overall this is great hotel with comfortable, clean rooms and in a brilliant location for staying in Birmingham City Centre. The small cabin theme rooms are a great idea and reasonable priced. The only thing I would say is if you're staying for more than one or two nights the rooms may become a little claustrophobic, especially if two are sharing one room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrackedTeapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamGM, General Manager at Nitenite Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
It's sounds like you had a great stay and found the location to be great for what you were doing whilst you were here. I take on board your comments about the GPS on your phone and will look at including a more direct route in our new smartphone app thats due for delivery in the next month or so. Were really quiet proud of our efficiencies when it comes to checking in and out and glad you found these along with the service to be good. We look forward to welcoming you back to nitenite Birmingham again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lovely hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are very small, and not having a window is very strange to me. It don't like the sensation of waking up and not knowing what time of day or night it is, but I think for only one or two nights this is ok. Shower is amazing, very refreshing. The bed was comfortable and the sheets smelt very fresh and clean. I will definitely be using this hotel again if I come back to Birmingham.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamGM, General Manager at Nitenite Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it's great to hear you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed the shower experience - a key component to a good start in the morning! The design of nitenite doesn't allow for windows I'm afraid, but we do have an outside skyline view in lieu of this on the TV to try and give you a good idea of the outside world and what the weather maybe like.
The team and I hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#26 of 117 in Birmingham
967 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,835 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nitenite Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nitenite Birmingham

Property: Nitenite Birmingham
Address: Centenary Plaza 18 Holliday Street | Centenary Plaza, Birmingham B1 1TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nitenite Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nitenite Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nitenite Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Nitenite Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Nitenite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing