We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms Really are Small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nitenite Birmingham
Ranked #63 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Rooms Really are Small”
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Rooms are small - in fact everthing is small. I guess the intention is that small wash basin, small bed etc makes you think there is space in the room. The room I was in was clean (which is why this review has two stars)

As well as the size, the rooms are not very well insulated against sound. And the breakfast is clearly produced down to a (small) budget.

I undersand other reviewers who say "it is only a room to sleep in" but I would rather sleep in the back of my car for free and eat a good breakfast at Weatherspoons on that basis.

Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ianmLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    399
    203
    85
    69
See reviews for
30
397
189
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Stayed here many times - last in June 2009. Reception is very friendly, and great location for my work in central Birmingham. Rooms are TINY but clean. TV is huge. Somehow it doesn't seem claustrophobic as so well designed. Prefer to stay here for work at UKP40-50 per night than to pay twice that, just for a bigger room.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank standoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2010

so what if the rooms are tiny and have no window..when i go away 4 the weekend i dont be wanting to look out a window or infact i dont be in the room much..its only 4 resting in!!..everything was super...clean and tidy rooms...comfy bed,,,massive tv..clean shower room..everythings real trendy...deffo wud stay again

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky_sxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We got a £35 rate by prebooking. Perfect place to stay when eating and drinking and clubbing and staying out late in Birmingham city centre. Rooms are TINY, but contemporary design and modern, with excellent shower and huge Plasma. No windows, but TV can give you views of the city, as well as blockbuster movies, although I found the TV picture quality a little poor. Good air conditioning, never felt too enclosed. Would stay again for similar reason - when all you are going to do is sleep in the room. We got a room at the end of a very long corridor and had no noise problems, but I can imagine there can be issues in some rooms.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Nitenite is something of a revelation in terms of city centre hotels - who needs a table and chair in the corner of your room? When I'm in a city, I want value, comfort and location, and NiteNite delivers on all three.

You can pick up a pretty good bargain on their website in advance, usually around £30-50 per night. The rooms themselves are obviously quite small with no windows, but the bed is really comfy, the TV is massive (!) and the shower-room is great. The door is a bit see-through as others have said, so you better know your travelling buddy well!

Location is excellent, close to Mailbox, Bullring, pubs, clubs and transport links.

Another place you wouldn't want to be in for a week say, as there is little room for storage, but perfect for short trips.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayepod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

During the week this is probably an ok place to stay, but on a Saturday night it was pretty poor to say the least. Firstly reception were average at best, not overly friendly or accomodating, with no chance of a early check in. Secondly the rooms were clean but I did find the size of the TV a bit overwhelming. I am glad we booked a disabled room because it was tiny but still about 50% bigger than a standard room! The room temperature was impossible to control. I was frozen all though the night and I asked for an extra duvet which the staff were unable to provide and we were offered the most noisy fan heater in the world! Not great. The light from the control panel during the night, which sat right next to my face. was annoying as it was impossible to turn off. The only solution was to hang my hubbies boxers over the panel!
Finally, the noise was awful. We arrived back at the hotel at 2am, but most revellers rolled in between 2 and 5. There is no soundproofing and the corridors seemed to act as a running track. Shouting, running, screaming, laughing certainly meant I had no sleep that night, with no attempts from hotel staff to stop the racket. It was truly an appauling experience.
I wish I had stayed at the Premier Inn over the road for the extra few quid.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

OK, I read the reviews (after booking!) and was expecting to be kept awake by clubbers coming back.
The hotel from the outside looks like a new apartment block, inside it is a masterpiece of architecture with respect to how they squeezed so many rooms in, rows upon rows of rabbit hutch size rooms on floor after floor. Build is obviously cheap but looks good. Floors are noisy when you walk on them, rooms have thin walls. This therefore is the problem with noise - the hotel is really well located just behind Broad Street so will attract nightlife types, the density of rooms and build quality lets noise travel far.
Luckily I went on a night out and had more than my share of a good Fleurie (or two) so didn't hear a thing.
The rooms are really small, I mean really small, but have a good width bed (length not good, I'm 6ft 1" and you couldn't be much taller in this bed). Also most rooms have no windows - they are inside the building. Having said that the room has everything you need, is clean and well designed - not a milimetre of wasted space.
I couldn't stay here for more than one night - lack of window and space would send you stir crazy fast, but for a one night crash - particularly if you are going out it is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jings999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
948 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
222 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#31 of 117 in Birmingham
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nitenite Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nitenite Birmingham

Property: Nitenite Birmingham
Address: Centenary Plaza 18 Holliday Street | Centenary Plaza, Birmingham B1 1TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nitenite Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nitenite Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nitenite Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Nitenite Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Nitenite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing