We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfortable - but a bit like the Marie Celeste”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Rose and Crown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 52 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very clean and comfortable - but a bit like the Marie Celeste”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights whilst attending a course nearby, having booked online a week or so before on the strength of the good reviews and excellent rate for single occupancy. Entering the hotel was like going on board the Marie Celeste - it was spookily empty, then suddenly a lady appeared to book me in. Initially I was almost turned away as I was told that there was no booking for me! It took nearly 15 minutes before the lady realised that she hadn't recognised the booking because the e-mail address was not my name - even though the guest name stated on the form was mine. To top it all, instead of receiving an apoIogy, I was made to feel it was my fault!
In spite of the bad start, the room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. I had room 6, which overlooked the yard at the back and had an excellent night's sleep on all 3 nights, even with the window open, no doubt helped by the thick, heavy curtains. I suspect that the rooms at the front would suffer more from road noise as it is quite busy. The bathroom was small but perfectly adequate and the shower was very good. What impressed me was that the room was fully serviced everyday, with clean towels etc. - not just a "quick flick" round.
Breakfast was a little odd. The lady hadn't said where the breakfast room was and no one was around so I had to hunt for the right room. I had helped myself to cereal and long since finished before anyone appeared to take my order, and even then the service was polite but cold. The food was put in front of me, the girl disappeared and that was that. By morning 3, I knew the ropes and just got on with it, and it must be said that the cooked breakfast was lovely.
All in all, you can't fault the quality of this hotel and perhaps the minimal staffing levels are how it maintains its competitive prices, especially for single occupancy. However, I would have thought that most people choosing this kind of small hotel over an impersonal chain would expect/appreciate a cheery "good morning, the cereals and juices are over there, help yourself etc.".

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FirstMateKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    50
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
91
47
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Having lived in Longbridge for 24 years and recently moved to Lincolnshire, I wanted to come and visit friends and family. Well I couldn't have picked a more beautiful place. I am physically disabled (needed help with my cases and breakfast in my room) and the staff were so helpful and did everything to make my stay comfortable. Room 2 is indeed a beautiful room and the views are stunning across the Lickey Golf course and gardens. I will definately be using The Old Rose and Crown when ever i need a trip down memory lane. Thank you to all the staff who made my stay possible and stress free.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Simply wonderful night. My mothers 70th Birthday combined with Fish and chip supper. Staff were great, food remarkable and the service was brilliant. What more can I say except try it...you'll like it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_ky_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stopped for one night for a 40th anniversary party, they have weddings on a Saturday so they had to have it on a Friday evening/night. We had room 2, very plush and quiet, breakfast nice and pleasant location.

Room Tip: Room 2, nice, clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kickabuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I can't believe they call them self a hotel! More or less just creapy hotel! When you are to sleep in rooms from the 50ies and shower/toilet are on the hallway.... I was just waiting to see some shadows from another world when I was there....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OptiCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Old Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
This review is not about the Old Rose and |Crown Hotel; all 11 bedrooms are fully refurbished and ensuite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Our daughter held her wedding at this venue on 3 March 2012 and we were more than happy with everything, from the sit down meal, to the helpful and friendly staff, to the clean and well equipped rooms. We all had a lovely day and it was made special by having the use of the hotel for just our family and guests only for the whole day and evening. We would recommend using the hotel for a civil ceremony anyday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We absolutely loved this place. Good value for money, staff very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Bedroom was nice and clean, a very good nights rest. Will definately return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Swanlake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Westmead Hotel
#46 of 117 in Birmingham
639 reviews
Hillscourt
#1 of 1 in Rednal
91 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Bromsgrove
1,226 reviews
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#4 of 117 in Birmingham
395 reviews
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Rose and Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Rose and Crown Hotel

Property: Old Rose and Crown Hotel
Address: Rose Hill | Lickey, Birmingham B45 8RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Rose and Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Rose & Crown Hotel is set in 400 acres of beautiful Lickey Hills Country Park and yet only 5 minutes drive from M42 J1 and M5 J4. With free parking and free Wifi and 11 ensuite bedrooms including double twin and family rooms the hotel is perfect for any kind of acassion including weddings, christenings and parties ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Old Rose and Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing