We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome apartment for a great price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Spires Serviced Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2007

My girlfriend and I just returned from a last minute break in Birmingham. After reading some really bad reviews on the hotels under £50/night, we decided to splash out and paid £89 to stay a night in the Spires serviced apartments. This was half the normal price as we booked through Laterooms.com.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a friendly receptionist and were quickly shown to our suite. Having seen the photos on their website, we knew that it would be something special, but we were amazed at the standard of all the rooms. The bedroom was very comfortable, and the bathroom very clean. The living area/kitchen was furnished to a very high standard. The suite was clearly designed to accomodate guests for longer periods of time (it had a fully equiped kitchen, for example), and I imagine anyone doing so would feel at home here.

The apartment building has only recently been built (work was still being done, but we were not disturbed at all) and is ideally situated in the heart of Birmingham, right behind the Mailbox (a brand new complex of shops restaurants, and bars) and a 5 minute walk from New Street station. The location could not be more perfect, as it was not on a busy main road. The only downside is that the apartment was directly opposite a busy office block- the view left a lot to be desired, and would not be suited to someone wanting to get away from the work environment!

Overall, we would highly recommend this apartment. For the price of one mediocre hotel room in the city centre, or a slightly better one on the outskirts, you can have a fantastic suite in this apartment block, right in the centre of Birmingham. It would also suit families or larger groups perfectly, as there are 2 bedroom apartments available.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank berksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 180 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2007

I've used practically all the hotels in Birmingham after a few months working here on a contract - and the pleasure of getting a whole apartment to stay in is fantastic. The room got cleaned each day - so its just like staying in a hotel except you have a full kitchen, huge sofa and big TV with DVD player. Plus a bedroom with more than enough wardrobe space - compare that to the City Inn with the tiniest wardrobes ever made.

The lack of restaurant means no breakfast but I just bought cereal and milk from the Tesco's 2 minutes away. In fact, rather spend yet another night in a bland Brum restaurant (sorry, Brummies - but really, there are only chain restaurants in your building site city) I bought food in and cooked for myself. A real pleasure and change from the normal confinements of a hotel room.

The only disadvantage was the room was only on the second floor above a street that did occasionally become noisy. But the overall level of comfort and facilties more than made up for it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank altheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NonoetCie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, General Manager at The Spires Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Aron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpiresManagement, Manager at The Spires Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanvanFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zob0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
995 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,301 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#2 of 118 in Birmingham
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,554 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#71 of 118 in Birmingham
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spires Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spires Serviced Apartments

Address: Viva 10 Commercial Street, Birmingham B1 1RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Birmingham
Price Range: £85 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spires Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Spires Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spires Serviced Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing