We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful HOtel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Day Spring Hotel

Day Spring Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Birmingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Day Spring Hotel
Ranked #109 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Lowestoft
1 review
“Delightful HOtel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2008

It was a nice hotel and very comfortable, lovely big room with plenty of space, nice and clean.

Nice big car park at the back (which could be sign posted a bit better) but good that your car is left safe and you dont have to worry about it.

  • Liked — Nice looking room and comfortable
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelsLowestoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    0
    3
    3
    10
See reviews for
2
5
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2008

Worst hotel we ever stayed in and unfortunately we were there for three nights. Very small room, double bed pushed up against the wall. Barely room to walk around. It was accessed from the back yard so it looked like it was a converted fuel shed. It should not have been a double room.
The towels were like sandpaper. No soap or tumblers in the ensuite. Toilet roll, shower gel or the little milk sachets were not replaced the next day. I rang the bell at reception for assistance, I wanted to get shower gel and milk. It took nearly ten minutes and the only reason is didn't take longer is because my husband came to see what was taking so long and he rang the hotel and then someone answered the phone and came downstairs.
Breakfast was cereal and/or bread. Butter had to be asked for. The milk ran out one morning and had to be asked for. The tea was a long way from being hot.
We arrived back around 1 p.m. one day and had to wait almost 15 minutes before we were let in - we spent the time ringing the bell, knocking on the door and again using the mobile to ring. When the phone was answered we asked to be let in.
The room we had appeared to be new. The dust from the new tiles in the ensuite was not cleaned. I couldn't put anything on the shelf of the wardrobe because it was so dusty. There was hardly any space for luggage.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maigheocolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2007

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. Again, no instructions of how to get to the carpark, or where it was.

Had a single room, and asked the manager if a friend could visit me for an hour or so (I was in the area for an exam resit + knew someone in the area, was obviously revising so meeting at the hotel for an hour was more convenient than going elsewhere). Manager said this was fine.

The second night, asked again, again it was fine. When my friend left he was informed that I would be charged for a double room (£22 more, £54 in total) because I allowed him to stay in my room for a couple of hours.

Manager got VERY aggressive, and this made my stay in the hotel alone that night very uncomfortable.

The notice in the room is not to allow 'guests to STAY', which is open to interpretation and I took that to mean stay the night, or at least for than a few hours. Manage claimed no guests were allowed past 7pm AT ALL. So why did he allow it and not tell me I would get charged? Notice DID NOT state this.

I made it clear that I was unable to pay extra due to being a student and going through a home move at the time, but was still charged.

Very unreasonable- aggressive, and charging without prior notice.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank person01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyoles
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2007

very shabby and amateuristic hotel. Heating problems. Best about the hotel is the big car park. However, if service and quality of the rooms are not improved, the car park will remain largely empty.

Will not stay there again. If all of Birmingham hotels are full and you just need to stay somewhere, it will probably do the job.

  • Liked — car park
  • Disliked — general feel of shabbyness and non-professionalism
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Iceberg678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
2.0 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#95 of 117 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Central East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Conference Aston Hotel
Conference Aston Hotel
#61 of 117 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.9 mi away
Campanile Birmingham
Campanile Birmingham
#99 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel La Tour
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Day Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Day Spring Hotel

Property: Day Spring Hotel
Address: 128-130 Gravelly Hill | Erdington, Birmingham B23 7PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Hotel Class:3 star — Day Spring Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing