We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grubby”
Review of Day Spring Hotel

Day Spring Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Day Spring Hotel
Ranked #110 of 119 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 7 March 2009

Stayed for two nights. The room was grubby - on arrival the toilet was dirty - brown faecal stains. The furniture was like something from a junk shop. The TV did not work. There was a cot in the room which had broken rails and disintegrated when touched. All i could stomach for breakfast was a cup of coffee, everything was dirty - the coffee flasks, the decorative bottles on the tables were encrusted in grime and old food stains. We had to stand on the doorstep and ring with a mobile phone to gain admittance on every occasion. When issues were raised with the proprietor, she giggled.

By far the worst and dirtiest place i have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2008

It was a nice hotel and very comfortable, lovely big room with plenty of space, nice and clean.

Nice big car park at the back (which could be sign posted a bit better) but good that your car is left safe and you dont have to worry about it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelsLowestoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2008

Worst hotel we ever stayed in and unfortunately we were there for three nights. Very small room, double bed pushed up against the wall. Barely room to walk around. It was accessed from the back yard so it looked like it was a converted fuel shed. It should not have been a double room.
The towels were like sandpaper. No soap or tumblers in the ensuite. Toilet roll, shower gel or the little milk sachets were not replaced the next day. I rang the bell at reception for assistance, I wanted to get shower gel and milk. It took nearly ten minutes and the only reason is didn't take longer is because my husband came to see what was taking so long and he rang the hotel and then someone answered the phone and came downstairs.
Breakfast was cereal and/or bread. Butter had to be asked for. The milk ran out one morning and had to be asked for. The tea was a long way from being hot.
We arrived back around 1 p.m. one day and had to wait almost 15 minutes before we were let in - we spent the time ringing the bell, knocking on the door and again using the mobile to ring. When the phone was answered we asked to be let in.
The room we had appeared to be new. The dust from the new tiles in the ensuite was not cleaned. I couldn't put anything on the shelf of the wardrobe because it was so dusty. There was hardly any space for luggage.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank maigheocolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2007

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. Again, no instructions of how to get to the carpark, or where it was.

Had a single room, and asked the manager if a friend could visit me for an hour or so (I was in the area for an exam resit + knew someone in the area, was obviously revising so meeting at the hotel for an hour was more convenient than going elsewhere). Manager said this was fine.

The second night, asked again, again it was fine. When my friend left he was informed that I would be charged for a double room (£22 more, £54 in total) because I allowed him to stay in my room for a couple of hours.

Manager got VERY aggressive, and this made my stay in the hotel alone that night very uncomfortable.

The notice in the room is not to allow 'guests to STAY', which is open to interpretation and I took that to mean stay the night, or at least for than a few hours. Manage claimed no guests were allowed past 7pm AT ALL. So why did he allow it and not tell me I would get charged? Notice DID NOT state this.

I made it clear that I was unable to pay extra due to being a student and going through a home move at the time, but was still charged.

Very unreasonable- aggressive, and charging without prior notice.

Stayed: August 2007
4  Thank person01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2007

very shabby and amateuristic hotel. Heating problems. Best about the hotel is the big car park. However, if service and quality of the rooms are not improved, the car park will remain largely empty.

Will not stay there again. If all of Birmingham hotels are full and you just need to stay somewhere, it will probably do the job.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Iceberg678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam_do_brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Traveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 119 in Birmingham
3,335 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 119 in Birmingham
1,004 reviews
Genting Hotel
#6 of 119 in Birmingham
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 119 in Birmingham
4,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Day Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Day Spring Hotel

Address: 128-130 Gravelly Hill | Erdington, Birmingham B23 7PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 119 Hotels in Birmingham
Hotel Class:3 star — Day Spring Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Day Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing