We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelodges - only for the desparate until company policy changes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel
Ranked #68 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Travelodges - only for the desparate until company policy changes”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Had the misfortune to be booked in here by someone else here for a reunion. We fell victim of the company policies. Arrived too early, rooms not available. Told to come back later only to be told the rooms had been re-let.
My friend was dispatched to another Travelodge miles away (this all late at night). I refused and wrote off the prepaid money and took a taxi to a decent hotel. Can't blame the staff, it is the company policies that just seem nonsensical and not deserving of your custom unless you are very very desparate. As an individual no point in complaining they won't change.
Note: this is a repost. My original appears to have been removed? Or at least disappeared fom my profile.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear SomersetReporter,

Thank you for your post. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

We would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us, please visit our main Travelodge website and use the ‘Contact Us’ form to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number. We can then investigate, and provide a resolution for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    138
    49
    35
    38
See reviews for
85
106
22
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

First of if your still looking to book a hotel do not book this 1 for a start if you book it and even pay for it does not mean its yours we traveled here with a group of us and they gave some of the rooms away to other people because they over booked which mistakes happen but the women on reception said it happens every Saturday night they offered us rooms at the bulring but as we was here 4 a night on broad street it was miles out and would of cost a bomb in a taxis i cant understand how they can take your money of you for the room but then give the room to someone else its like robbery taking your money of you but you not getting anything spoiled the wkend away their was also a lot of other angry guest in the reception who they had done this to.
please plaese DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL

Room Tip: don't book this hotel for a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Keeley T,

Thank you for your post. We aim to provide a high level of service at all times, and I am sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

Your feedback is important to us, and we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form, to provide us with full details of your issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Great as a place to crash. Clean rooms and cheap. My room was a good size with a comfortable bed and was clean. Great location too. Comes with tea and coffee making facilities. Has a casino and a subway (sandwiches) opposite

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

As a group of 7 we had 4 rooms booked, on arrival at around 6pm (not late) we was told that they had gave away 2 of our rooms! There was already a reception full of angry guests with the same problem! Our rooms had been booked two month previous and been pre paid! we was offered two rooms at the Bullring but since we was in Birmingham for a birthday we needed to be closer to Broad street and a taxi would cost alot! The only other alternative that was offered was a family room which had a double bed and a small sofa bed.
we took the family room but since there was two females and one male this was hardly ideal!
we did get a refund on the other room and a complimentary breakfast which wasn't great but since it was free i shouldn't complain.
I know that Travelodge always overbook their rooms but if I had been travelling with a young child or and elderly couple was due to check in and turned up to find their room had been given away im sure this would cause unnecessary stress.
I could safely bet that this hotel does not have any regular guests!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Shelly Roberts,

Thank you for your post. We aim to provide a high level of service at all times, and I am sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

Your feedback is important to us, and we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form, to provide us with full details of your issues.

We can confirm relocations are not common, and if it does occur we will find alternative accommodation and cover the cost of any additional travel expenses. We are pleased to hear that you were offered complimentary breakfasts on this occasion.

We would still like to investigate your comments, so please do contact us and we can provide a resolution for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Nice clean hotel, In the center of Birmingham so everything you need close by. Right next to a Odeon Cinema, Bowlplex, and Frankie and Bennys. The room we stayed in had just been refurbished and was very clean. All that you need in the room. Staff were friendly and helpful and a great breakfast. Would stay agian if ever in the area

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mansfieldfamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Travelodge Birmingham Central
#50 of 117 in Birmingham
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Travelodge Birmingham Central Moor Street
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel

Property: Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel
Address: Broadway Plaza 220 Ladywood | Middleway, Birmingham B16 8LP, England (Formerly Travelodge Birmingham Five Ways)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#42 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham
Travel Lodge Birmingham
Birmingham Travel Lodge
Birmingham Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing