We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“daughters birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel
Ranked #71 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 12 November 2013

this is the second time we have stayed here & i must say for a budget hotel it is far better than the other two hotels we have stayed in birmingham ( holiday inn city centre & the worst hotel i have ever stayed in the ramada encore ) the rooms are clean the staff very helpfull and allways polite ,one downside why is it that travelodge allways run out of draught beer this is the third time this has happend at other travelodges , as has said before carparking here can be expensive , one small tip if you can do without your car it can work out a lot cheaper by leaving it in the carpark during your stay , this is a good loction a short walk to broad street & hagley road & a short taxi trip to the city centre , if you are looking for a short stay in birmingham you wont do much better than this hotel,
cheers tony & sonia

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Clean, tidy, great shower, good size room and lovely nice people working there that want to do nothing but help. The refurb has made this great value and location is excellent for broad street and Brinkley place.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Just back from 2 nights at this place 28/29 Oct.
Booked this Travelodge due the 'decent reviews' on here.

Car parking; 24 hours is £12 run by a company called APCOA.
Thus £24 for 2 days....expensive, having paid £15 for 3 nights at Kew Bridge London (Travelodge) in Aug!

As Trevor556 stated; we were also confronted about the age of our kids on booking in, when there is no mention when making the reservation online.
It was the day of my daughters 16th birthday so we ended up paying extra for the breakfast. This was part of her birthday treat, no a good start.
Given the room key but on entry to the room, it was not ready, only the main double bed in place, no beds in place for the kids,& no towels. Staff advised, but why give us the room?
So left the bags and went into the city.
On our return the beds had been put into place.

Breakfast;
nothing like the 'glossy pictures' of 'all you can eat' that are on the website & posters....
It was like being on rations, bacon & sausage trays both empty, the beans & scrambled egg, of which there was less than a 1/4 of the tray left, a solid mess..... it did not look appealing or appetising at all, these had both possibly been in the tray since opening up?
The staff member had to bang the serving spoon to get them off of it.
We asked for them to be replenished which saw a around 6 bacon rashers & sausages brought out but no fresh eggs or beans just a quick stir of those left.

The café serving area is not big enough, and if the hotel was to be running at a higher capacity for clients having breakfast at the same time, then it simply wouldn't be able to cope with the numbers.
This place was not a patch on the Kew Bridge Travelodge, so disappointed, it spoiled our trip, so much that my daughter wanted to go home after the first night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captain2480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your review Captain2480. We are really sorry to learn about the poor experience you had at our hotel. As a Travelodge policy we do require all of our guests to be 16 or over to be able to stay in a room on their own; this does mean that the hotel may need to ask for identification on arrival. We expect our housekeeping staff to prepare all rooms with the correct amount of towels and linen and with the beds set up, so it is regrettable to learn this did not happen before your arrival. Our bar café staff are trained to prepare food to a great standard and to ensure all items are readily available for our guests, we are sorry to learn this service fell below the standards we expect. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution. In order for us to do this please could you visit our website and use the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

When arriving at the hotel with my family and friends the staff were smoking and chatting and then made me wait approxmetly 25 Mintutes. In addition when speaking to members off staff they then asked me to provide details to prove that my 15 year old daughter was her age but when booking the reservation online it didn't state to provide any identification for children. Also when speaking to members off staff it was very hard too understand them because they had such poor English then this then made the 2 members off the staff too get angry because we couldn't understand what they was saying. And they then were getting angry and then started to use bad language in front off my child. Also when the hotel showed use out rooms and we started un pack the rooms were not clean here are the following pictures to show you . When analysing the hotel overall I wouldn't advice my dog to stay thank for reading my review

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your review Trevor556. We are sorry to learn of the disappointing experience you had at our hotel. We do expect our staff to offer a warm and friendly welcome to all of our guests, we are quite concerned to learn of the issues you have raised. As a Travelodge policy we do state that in order to stay in a room unaccompanied by an adult our customers need to be 16 years or older so our staff may require to see identification. We do however expect our staff not to be rude but to provide high levels of service, we will ensure to pass this information on to our Hotel Management team so that they can be reminded of the importance of customer care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I have just returned to Norfolk after my third stay in this hotel. Although we were working ten miles away at the NEC we go back to this hotel because of the staff. Nothing is too much trouble, they know what customer service is. Even though they work very long hours they NEVER let it show. Always smiling and extremely helpful.
The food is nice and the room was spotless. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathanDack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

If you want to be on broad street close to all the action and not far from best shopping this place will cover all of that. It is often available at a great price and although very basic is clean and quiet and staff are pleasant

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Spider W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

i actualy have not stayed at this hotel yet but i was looking at a travel lodge and i wanted to know all about the carparking around the area..i phoned this hotel and a lovely member of staff was totaly helpful and she even went out her way to phone around and get prices for us and rang us back.she totaly went out her way for us..so i like to say a big thank you and i would defo look to stay here next time..only reason why i am not this time is because i found a travel lodge closer to where we want to go..but if the staff is so helpful like this im sure this hotel will be a great place to stay..i cant remember her name , i also dont think shes englishxxx thanks again emma xx

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bing0stalker82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Travelodge Birmingham Central
#51 of 118 in Birmingham
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Travelodge Birmingham Central Moor Street
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 118 in Birmingham
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel

Address: Broadway Plaza 220 Ladywood | Middleway, Birmingham B16 8LP, England (Formerly Travelodge Birmingham Five Ways)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#42 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £42 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Birmingham
Travelodge Birmingham
Birmingham Travel Lodge
Birmingham Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing