We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay - great value for money, fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel
Ranked #71 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 28 February 2014

So impressed by staff here. Gokhan, Vicky and crew could not be more helpful and considerate. (We arrived jet-lagged from Australia with 170kg of luggage, 2 young children and stayed for 8 nights.) Bed really comfortable, room big enough to allow each child a single bed too. Breakfast great to start the day - especially with young kids. Useful central location. Tesco and Morrison's across the road allow for easy shopping. Cost of parking is a downside but found could buy a week pass for 38 pounds. Only other downside is no laundry facilities but would still choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: There are rooms which look out onto an enclosed courtyard which is quiet. Rooms near the reception c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, a thursday and a friday. When we got to our room we found there was no bed for our little girl. Within minutes we were moved to a room with ready made for her. It was overlooking the main plaza and with it having a cinema, bowling and casino we were worried about nighttime noise, we shouldnt have as we hardly heard a thing both nights. We booked breakfast and evening meals and the food was hot and of a decent quality. The staff were amazing, so friendly and helpful. Be thanks to Vicky who served our evening meal and was great.

The only real drawback to our stay was the parking issue, and what an issue! Although the room was well priced this was let down by having to pay over £25 for 2 nights. We tried everything to book parking in advance but were told by plaza management this wasnt possible. If Travelodge could sort something with plaza management we would have no hesitation in returning, if not I would rathervpay a bit more for a room with free parking.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank sweller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Jeffery was a great help when I lost my phone. Will return just to see him! Only downsides were the very hard single bed, and the shower not being that powerful.
All the night staff were lovely and Deffently made up for it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Booked the Travelodge through work as I have stayed here before and it is only a 10 minute walk to Fiveways House. £36 crown rate for B&B. Cab from New St Station cost £5.
Room 158 was big and comfortable with one of the new Sleeper Beds which was really comfy, some one had put the heating on so the room was cosy.
Tea and Coffee in room, plenty of pillows, good TV and a easy to step into shower.
Efficient check in and the guy on reception/ breakfast the next morning was really nice, he even drew me a map of the way I needed to go to Fiveways House.
Breakfast was OK, lots more choice than other Travelodges, an ideal choice or any stay in Birmingham

Room Tip: rooms above the bowling alley are noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LK_MBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My mother and I recently stayed at this Travelodge while visiting a relative in hospital. The reception staff were exceptional and helped us with making arrangements to travel to hospital and did everything they could to make sure our stay was as pleasant as it could be under the circumstances. They also went out of their way to help us when we needed to change the rooms we had booked at short notice.

The hotel is located in a plaza containing a cinema, bowling alley and a few restaurants so there are some options for an evening out if you don't want to venture into the centre of Birmingham.

We found the noise levels to be acceptable during our stay but it was mid-week and I suspect the plaza gets very busy on weekends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank PebbleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Room smelled like chloride, so had to sleep with the window open in order not to get poisoned. In a very busy location with drunk kids everywhere, a lot of noise outside. Cold water didn't work in my room, so couldn't shower in the morning. Staff not helpful, reluctant to let me into the hotel when I arrived around midnight (because the other Travelodge I had originally booked was overbooked) and could not be bothered to apologise for the lack of running cold water ("that can't be, I checked it before") Stay far far away from here.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Bas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

We are sorry to learn of your recent dissatisfaction bas123. Our housekeeping staff are expected to notice any unpleasant smells and air out the room thoroughly; if necessary this room should not be given to a customer so we are sorry to learn this was not the case. It is regrettable to learn you were disturbed by noise outside of the hotel, in an attempt to reduce the noise outside of the hotel we do provide double glazing and insulated walls. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I had a 2 night's stay here and found the place to meet all my expectations. Please be mindful guys this is a Travelodge, you should not expect hair dryer or toiletries as standard. If you want a silent night's sleep and a hotel which is sound proof you should be spending triple and going somewhere else. However if you want to pay Travelodge prices buy some ear plugs and get on with it.

This is well located with food and drink outlets all within a few paces of the front door. The hotel does not have it's own car park, but is built over an underground one which is £13 for 24 hour and is a very well lit 24 manned one.

The staff at the hotel I found to be VERY attentive especially Jeff, who was on the night shift. He was extremely polite, genuine and helpful. A group of Ladies had left a scarf and instead of just putting it behind the desk, he ran to follow the Ladies to try and find the owner. He is one of the most genuine people I have every met, he would be a real asset for any company and if this was Preston I would certainly be interested in having him work for our team.

Room Tip: Ear plugs are a MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennieLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Travelodge Birmingham Central
#51 of 118 in Birmingham
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Travelodge Birmingham Central Moor Street
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 118 in Birmingham
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel

Address: Broadway Plaza 220 Ladywood | Middleway, Birmingham B16 8LP, England (Formerly Travelodge Birmingham Five Ways)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#42 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £42 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Central Broadway Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Birmingham
Travelodge Birmingham
Birmingham Travel Lodge
Birmingham Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing