We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please yourself”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2012

BarryM has said it all. We (two couples) had a top floor duplex, a quiet night and our own choice of breakfasts. We were not dependent on a hotel kitchen and the well equipped kitchen allowed us to enjoy a light supper of our own choosing. The best way to visit B'ham,

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank dsdvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Thank you for your review, we strive for feedback, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to SACO in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

I had not stayed at Livingbase for a while, so was glad to see that the standards were as high as ever. Despite being almost full, they gave me a top floor duplex apartment at no extra charge. These are lovely - very tall windows give excellent views, and contain a door onto a large patio area. Bathroom (with bath and shower) is on the ground floor, bedroom one floor up - bear in mind if you don't like using stairs during the night!

Despite being full, the building is usually very quiet - I did hear car horns from drunken revellers on Broad Street during the early hours and there were some idiots making noise for a few minutes in the corridor, but generally you can expect more peace and quiet than in a large hotel. A little food and drink is supplied free of chage - pint of milk, spring water, tea, coffee, cereals, biscuit. For anything else, there's a Sainsbury Local a few yards away and a big Tesco 5 minutes walk away, at Fiveways. Plenty of restaurants nearby - avoid busy Broad Street, but for something special,there's Edmunds Fine Dining just next door. Also, a nice Cafe Rouge 5 minutes walk - you don't need to book, there.

The staff are lovely. Check in took 2 seconds - they just hand you a key; no silly "show ID to prove who you are" nonsense and not even a credit card swipe. But then there are no extras - no phones in the apartments any more, so take your mobile. They will happily store your luggage for a while, when you check out.

I've tried most of the serviced apartments in Brum, and Livingbase is my favourite; more of a home from home than, say, the Rotunda, with all its unjustified hype, where people have raved about the views but they are not much better than from Livingbase. The Duplexes on the 12th floor are really something special, and they don't seem to charge extra for them;greta in warm weather when you can sit outside.

Livingbase is about 20 minutes walk rom the City rail stations, but there are plenty of buses from Broad Street which will take you most of the way.

Only one negative point - the aircon heating doesn't work in all apartments. I never did find out if that was intentional!

Room Tip: ask for a duplex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarryMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, feedback and reviews are really appreciated.and welcomed. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in SACO Birmingham. I am sorry that you heard the noise from the bars late at night, however if you let us know on booking that you would like a quieter apartment we would always aim to put you around the other side of the building which is much quieter.
Also phones are still available upon request, so if you speak to reception on arrival they would put the phone back in to the Apartment for you.
Apologies on the Air con not working, this is not standard and I will look in to why it was not working throughout your stay.
I am very pleased to read SACO Birmingham is your favourite Apartments in Birmingham and we look forward to welcoming you back to SACO Birmingham in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

From the moment we walked in reception, the experience was Great! The gentleman on reception was very helpful and couldn't do more for us. We had a two bedroom apartment. One bedroom, had a bathroom built in, then the second bedroom had the bathroom just on the outside! The kitchen, lounge area was very big. Great for inviting a few friends round before we went out for the evening. With Broad street/ Brindley place just a minute walk way, what more could we ask for. Best apartment ive stayed in for ages. Highly recomend to anyone. With the added value of great staff, what could be better!

Book your stay now!
Karen L.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen271078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of SACO Birmingham.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you had a briliant birthday weekend.

We look forward to welcoming you back to SACO on your next visit to Birmingham.

Kind Regards
Marie Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I came to stay at SACO@Livingbase for a girls weekend and we stayed in the duplex apartment which was amazing! It was a really hot weekend so we could enjoy sitting on the large balcony and relaxing before heading out for the evening. The apartments are extremely spacious, beautifully decorated and in a great location for retsuarants and bars.
The staff were really helpful and there is lots of information in the room to give guests ideas on where to go when visiting.
I would highly recommend staying here and it does feel like a home from home and gives a taste of city centre living.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you lovely review of SACO Derby.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you had a lovely girls weekend.

We look forward to welcoming you back to SACO on you next visit to Birmingham,

Kind regards,
Marie Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I stayed at SACO @ Livingbase for my birthday celebrations in Birmingham recently.

We arrived at SACO mid-afternoon and were greeted by friendly staff who showed us to our apartment. The apartment was LOVELY; bright, big, clean and airy. It was a lot bigger than we expected - 3 double bedrooms over 2 floors. There was everything we needed included at no extra cost - cooker, fridge, microwave, iron and every other appliance you could imagine.

Before going out in Birmingham for the evening we had more friends arrive for a couple of drinks - the apartment held 10 of us very comfortably indeed as there was an 8-seat dining table and a lovely big terrace to use. Our 'visitors' had a good nose around the apartment and were equally impressed! Once we decided to go out for the night, the staff were more than happy to arrange our taxi into the city centre.

After a night of dancing and drinking we arrived back at the apartments - the gentleman on duty was lovely (I don't think I'd have been so nice at 2am to a group of drunken women)! And you know when you get home after a night out and you just want to EAT??? Well, that was no problem as we could literally fall out of the apartment on to Birmingham's busy Broad Street and had our pick of places to eat!

The whole experience was great and myself and the others who stayed have vowed never to use a hotel if there is a SACO Apartment available...they just don't compare. The price when divided by the number of occupants is cheaper than some of the budget hotels but with a feeling of luxury!

I want to live in a SACO apartment...so much so that I have booked again for a night out in October 2012 and again for a birthday outing in November (bearing in mind I live about 12-15 miles from the apartments). I will definitely use SACO when I visit other cities too.

If you want a great experience with all the facilities you need and more, I would definitely recommend using SACO apartments to anybody. ;o)))))

Karla D.
Birmingham

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of SACO Birmingham.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at SACO and we helped to make your birthday even more memorable. We look forward to your future visits!

Kind regards,
Marie Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend away and I have to say this was one of the nicest places I have stayed in! We were given a two bedroom apartment and the size of it was amazing our apartment had a good size balcony with awesome views and ipod docking station , two bathrooms etc. will certainly be recommending to all my friends thank you for such a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clementine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of SACO Birmingham.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to SACO on your next visit to Birmingham.

Kind regards,
Marie Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Loved the duplex apartment here, we rented 2 unit of duplex apartments here. Great View! The full equipment kitchen is making my mom sooooo happy! She cooks every nights when we back from shopping... We bought food from Tesco that only takes less than 10 mins walk at Broad St. The River Walk Edge only few mins walk and there have some nice restaurants and pubs around the area. The ICC Hall just across the river!

Room Tip: Remember to ask for duplex apartment once you booked the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoNey_Yong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a lovely review of SACO Birmingham.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Birmingham.

Kind regards,
Marie Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
993 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,299 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#2 of 118 in Birmingham
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,326 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace

Address: 3 Brunswick Square | Brindleyplace, Birmingham B1 2HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Birmingham
Price Range: £78 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Livingbase is home to 35 luxury serviced apartments, all of the apartments have spectacular views over the city and are decorated to the highest standard. The style of accommodation ranges from studio through to double height duplex suites. Each apartment consist of fully fitted kitchen, living/dining areas, luxurious bedrooms with separate bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing