We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor cancellation policy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Poor cancellation policy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Very disappointed, have used various times and found to be fairly good, could do with cleaning up a bit, apartments becoming shabby.
This visit had a family emergency and needed to cancel, extremely unflexible and unhelpful cancellation policy will not be using again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am disappointed to hear you find our cancellation policy unsatisfactory. All SACO bookings are subject to a standard 7 day cancellation policy which is clearly stated in our terms and conditions which are agreed to at the time of booking our staff also do make reference to the policy again on taking payment. I am sorry if you feel our policy is unreasonable, we do recommend that guests take out relevant travel insurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    34
    5
    4
    8
See reviews for
42
33
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
203 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Serviced apartment location is good but can sometimes be noisy from bars in and around Broad Street.

Have stayed a few times for years. Generally no issues with cleanliness, but disappointing that apartments are a bit tired now and check out time is ridiculously early compared to hotels and other serviced apartments

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlazaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments. As a returning customer I was disappointed to read your comments that you feel the apartments are looking a little tired. We do continue to update our apartments on a regular basis and have a programme in place that we work through throughout the year. I will certainly check the Apartment that you stayed in to see what updates are required in there.

I do understand that our apartments can experience some noise from the neighbouring bars and restaurants mainly on a Friday or Saturday night however this is due to our very central location. The apartments are located on the 9-12th floors and offer double glazing and are sound proofed as much as possible, to help prevent as much noise as possible but I am afraid this is totally unavoidable in such a City location, subject to availability if guests are experiencing noise and speak to Reception we will always do what we can to move a guest where possible to avoid any further disturbances.

Our check out time is 11.00am which I believe is in line with most hotels and apartment providers however we do offer later check outs for a small fee.

Once again thank you for your comments and do hope that it does not deter you from booking with SACO again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I am becoming a fan of these apartments across the country. This was one perhaps on a par with a city centre hotel for costs but generally they are slightly cheaper. As always the apartment was clean and spacious and exceptionally well fitted out and the balcony overlooking Brindley Place was an added bonus. Am staying again next week and no doubt will be booking many more times before the year end. Keep up the good work SACO!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocknroller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 6 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for takign the time to leave a brilliant review of SACO Birmingham.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and i will pass on your lovely comments to the team.

We look forward to all your future visits!

Kind regards,
Marie Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

We have been staying at these apartments for years. When we first started staying here, it was fantastic. So much so we kept coming back.

Unfortunately, in recent years, the quality of the apartments has dropped quite significantly. In fact, I think the term 'serviced apartments' is a tad misgiving as all they do is take your bins - they don't even vacuum the room! (Neither are you provided with one to do it yourself.)

The staff however are lovely and so helpful. They do really try to make things better, but I think for what you pay it's just not worth it.

Location is great and you are in the heart of the convention district of Birmingham.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raynaonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you feel the standard of our apartments has dropped since your first stay with us. We do have a comprehensive refurbishment fund in which we update our apartments to ensure they are kept up to our 4* standard.

In regards to your apartment being cleaned; our standard policy is for any stays of 7 nights or more receive a weekly clean where the whole apartment is cleaned which includes all floors being vacuumed and mopped, stays under 7 nights however only have their bins emptied daily. Special requests for additional cleaning can be made at the time of booking for shorter stays.

Thank you for your positive comments on the staff as we do pride ourselves on our customer service. We also like to pride ourselves on the standard of our accommodation and do hope that you will come and stay with us again in the near future so you can see the on-going improvements to the apartments.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed with my dear hubby on our anniversary in a word I want to say excellent ....that was our lovely trip.excellent bed,bathroom ,decor etc......thanks to make our holiday memorable ....will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 6 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review of SACO Birmingham.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you had a brilliant anniversary at SACO.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Birmingham.

Kind regards,
Marie Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
225 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Have used Saco apartments twice this week for different purposes and on both occasions the service offered has been wonderful. The apartments are spacious and have every facility imaginable in a great location with plenty of eateries/places to visit/drink and easy access to the city.
Greeted with a smile, friendly approachable manner on both occasions and shown to the apartment with explanations of what's available. The apartment we used had a balcony/terrace from which we were able to enjoy the good weather with superb views of the city.
A great alternative to hotels and for those working away on a regular basis can think of no better place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 6 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review of SACO Birmingham.

We are delighted you have enjoyed your stays with us we look forward to welcoming you back at SACO in the future.

Kind regards,
Marie Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

The first time we booked here was great. The facilities were complete. However , when we booked for the second time for a 1 bedroom , there was no washer/dryer. The lady asked us to go to the other unit on another floor just to use other unit's washer/dryer but for 1 night only bec that room was booked already for the ff day. When i complained at the reception why they did not informed us when we booked that there was no washer/dryer and told her we will cancell the remaining days that we booked because of the inconvenienced and i felt they have been dishonest ,she said we cannot refund the amount we paid from thursday to monday because it should be a 7 day noticed. She said we should have requested for the dryer/washer when we booked. I said we presume that all their units is fully furnished. She said no, not all, some of the 1 bedroom apt has no washer/dryer and in fact the studio apartment has no washer/dryer. When i checked on the tripadvisor, they have a washer/dryer for a studio apartment. Very disappointing, i don't know who is telling a lie now and who is credible enough to be trusted...!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Gzelgo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your last stay with us due to not having a washer dryer in your apartment.

I can confirm our studio apartments and some of our 1 bedroom apartments do not have washer dryer facilities. I would be grateful if you could advise me on where you viewed the information as I have reviewed Trip advisor and I have been unable to find any details about our washer dryers and would like to ensure no further guests have incorrect information. It is standard for our reception team to offer the use of another apartment, where available, to ensure customer satisfaction is met at all times. We also aim to do our best to ensure any special requests from the time of booking are met again to ensure customer satisfaction.

Once again I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay and I hope it does not deter you from booking with Saco again in the future
Should you wish to discuss this with me please do not hesitate to contact me jbuckley@sacoapartments.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace

Property: SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace
Address: 3 Brunswick Square | Brindleyplace, Birmingham B1 2HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Livingbase is home to 35 luxury serviced apartments, all of the apartments have spectacular views over the city and are decorated to the highest standard. The style of accommodation ranges from studio through to double height duplex suites. Each apartment consist of fully fitted kitchen, living/dining areas, luxurious bedrooms with separate bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing