We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This place was great! In a really nice location in Birmingham, near the canal and lots of restaurants. The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. Our apartment was on the 12th floor at the top, with a very large balcony. The apartments are very modern, light and the view is quite impressive through the huge windows as you walk in. All the equipment in the kitchen looks brand new, almost like never been used. I would certainly recommend this to people who want something more than just a hotel. Would be great if you were going to be based in Birmingham several days. Was great for one night only too though. Would definitely use again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top flight - preferably an end apartment for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of SACO Birmingham.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Birmingham.

Kind regards,
Marie Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

location is in brindleyplace right next to broadstreet and in the area you have a variety of different cafe's and restaurants...a beautiful area in birmingham.

staff: i have never come across staff that were any genuinely friendly they were here! i really think that the company should consider awarding their staff fairly as they represent the place so proffessionally that me and my family were shocked the place was not 5 stars! I cam with my family and did not know what i was doing but the staff were willing to help at any time. And special thanks to the lovely manager as well.

Apartment for 6- you need to be taking the chance to book an apartment there the view on the top floor is absolutley breath taking! the apartment is spot on clean, with free complimintary biscuits, chocolate, tea, cereal, coffee, milk etc. i can't stress enough why the place is not 5* i think its a shame as there is nothing extra that needs doing for it to reach 5*.

I would recommend you take the chance to book this apartment. We came to have a good trip in birmingham but ended up wanting to stay and make the most out of the apartment. It was a surprise for my mum and i was really glad the staff were helpful and everything was perfect. Thank you very much again the lovely mananger and guy that works at reception!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of SACO Birmingham.

We are delighted you found every aspect of SACO Birmingham 5* and we cannot wait to welcome you back when you next visit Birmingham!

Kind regards
Marie Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I worked in Birmingham years ago and can't believe how much this city has improved, well worth a break there and Brindleyplace is a great and lively centre. We normally use our caravan and if not apartments, hotels are claustrophobic, it's the first time we've used SACO and it won't be the last, good size apartments, full facilities, great location, clean, peaceful (some noise does drift up if you're light sleeper but a good traveller always takes earplugs), fantastic views, lifts and a real feeling of being in your own place.
We'd have preferred a basement car park but it's only a couple of hundred yards and the discount ticket takes it down to £9 x 24 hrs and that's cheap for Birmingham. Also but it's a general problem with bathrooms everywhere, the shower is over the bath and there's no safety grip for the slippery bath.
You can leave your car and just wonder around or if you're not totally up for that, there's plenty of buses and taxis.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of SACO Birmingham.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location to be great.

You will be pleased to know that we have now introduced rubber bath mats to all apartments which in apartments with the shower over bath, the mat can be stuck to the floor of the bath to make sure there isnt a slip hazard.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Birmingham.

Kind regards,
Marie Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Would recommend this place to anyone, it ticks all the boxes. Location, price, quality and service.

I have had a 'studio' which was huge! And two, two bedroom apartments all for different reasons (the two bedroom apartments also have two bathrooms which is a bonus!) . Very spacey, clean, modern, has everything!!

I particularly liked the small touches, bottle of milk in the fridge, basket of breakfast cereals, bottled water, green and blacks chocolates and molten brown toiletries.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank sara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review for SACO Birmingham.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the welcome pack items which include fresh milk, cereals, biscuits, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and more!

We look forward to welcoming you when you next visit SACO Birmingham.

Kind regards,
Marie Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was the first time we have stayed at Saco. We were totally delighted with the apartment, its facilities and its location.
We were shown to the apartment on arrival and the card entry system explained. The instruction folder in the apartment was comprehensive.
We had a one bedroom apartment 9-7. This, like all apartments had a balcony with great views over the city. This is such a refreshing change from stuffy hotel rooms with windows that can't be opened more than a fraction. It was wonderful being able to step outside for some fresh air.
The apartment was spacious and light and airy with contemporary but comfortable furnishings. There is a full cooker, fridge, microwave, dishwasher and washing machine in a separate utility area.
There was a welcome pack including milk and water and washing up materials.
There was a radio and iPod Dock, flat screen TV in the lounge and adjustable lighting.
The bathroom was equipped with good quality toiletries, large fluffy hotel style towels and a decent shower.
The large double bed had a good firm mattress, there was plenty of storage space and sockets plus a TV in the bedroom and a hair dryer.
The apartment was very clean although there were a few signs of wear but this did not detract in any way.
We were very impressed with the apartment, its amenities and the friendliness of the staff. The location too is excellent with a variety of restaurants catering for all possible tastes, cocktail bars, pubs etc plus the NIA, Symphony Hall, Conference Centre and Birmingham Rep literally steps away.
The apartment more than met our needs and was certainly much better value than a hotel and really in this location, everything a hotel could provide in the way of food, drink and fitness facilities is at hand.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrudJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you fro your lovely review of SACO Birmingham.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and cannot wait to welcome you back in the future when you visit Birmingham.

Kind regards,
Marie Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here over the Easter bank holiday weekend. We find that with the 3 children, with whom we don't really want to share a room and have to go to bed at 7pm, this type of apartment is the best option as it's cheaper and easier to come by than interconnecting hotel rooms or family suites.

The apartments are ideally located just off Brindleyplace, reception is manned during the day til about 11pm and staff are pleasant and helpful. Booking is easy via the website, where you make an enquiry and then they call or email you back with availability.

Our apartment was a two bed with one room set up as a double with cot for the baby and a twin for the older boys. We had an ensuite, with bath, in the master bedroom and the boys had a bathroom, with shower, just outside their room. Kitchens are well equipped with oven, hob, microwave and all the crockery, cutlery etc you could ever need. I know this because we lived in one of these places for 3 months once after our proper apartment was flooded!

In general, the apartments are very clean and in good order. I do think however, that they are reaching the point of needing a good old refurb just to freshen them up, but this is a picky point and shouldn't put anyone off staying.

The price is reasonable, much better value than for an equivalent hotel set up which would have suited us.

We had room 11-4 which has no great views, other than over the general Birmingham sky line, but is quieter than apartments which face out onto broad street (had one of these before and the difference is marked, especially at weekends).

The one downside of the apartment is really the lack of parking, but Brindleyplace does have a good, secure multi-storey which usually has spaces but can be expensive for long periods.

So, overall, a great option for staying in central brum, especially if you value your space and location.

Room Tip: For a restful night, ask for a room not facing onto broad street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review of SACO Birmingham.
We are dellighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we lookf orward to welcoming you back when you next visit Birmingham.

Kind regards,
Marie Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I chose SACO apartments for something a little bit different to a hotel. What a lovely surprise !!! These apartments are a lot different !! We stayed in room 12-5 which had a lovely balcony with views right across Birmingham. The apartment itself was very spacious, on 2 floors with 2 bathrooms. There were nice welcoming touches like chocolate on the table and a goody basket with plenty of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, cereal and biscuits. Milk and water in the fridge. The staff were very friendly and helpful. 4 minutes walk from restaurants and the NIA. We will be back, Thankyou.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonbootsOxford_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of SACO Birmingham.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Birmingham.

Kind regards,
Marie Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,256 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace

Address: 3 Brunswick Square | Brindleyplace, Birmingham B1 2HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Birmingham
Price Range: £89 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Livingbase is home to 35 luxury serviced apartments, all of the apartments have spectacular views over the city and are decorated to the highest standard. The style of accommodation ranges from studio through to double height duplex suites. Each apartment consist of fully fitted kitchen, living/dining areas, luxurious bedrooms with separate bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing