We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, handy for Star City, good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Ranked #88 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I have stayed here many many times. For an average of £80 per night, there are cheaper hotels, but the standard here is always reasonably high and if there is something wrong, the staff seem only to happy to help.

Having read a previous comment about the staff being stuck up, I can hoestly say that in probably over 20 visits the staff are anything but arrogant. They are down to earth, helpful and if they don't know how to do something, they will be honest and say so.

Another review mentioned sirens due to the area, don't let that put you off, the hotel is next to a busy dual carriageway, that carries traffic in and out of Birmingham to the M6, of course there are going to be sirens!

Basically it isn't the Ritz or a Country house hotel, it is clean and handy for Star City and the motorway. Its fine and does a job.

Room Tip: King bed rooms are much bigger than queen rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lipschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2011

Pros: New, Clean, Functional, Ergonomic, Esthetic, Parking & Internet & Breakfast Included; Good beds.
Cons: A bit expensive at £76 a night in industrial area I stayed full Hilton in Manchester Airport for same price, sink wasnt draining so I had to change roooms, breakfast average quality, Diesel engines from garbage trucks revviing-up to load the bins under your window at 7am; ironing board dated.

Room Tip: book directly on hotel site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uncledaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

The staff are all stuck up, the manager with the bold head is very arrogant, the hotel was clean but the staff need to wake up and put customers first. Not recommend it, stay else were......

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Fantastic hotel. Just a shame where it's located.
Constant police sirens during the night due to the area it's located.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrumpLasVegasNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

I moved to the US from Birmingham 13 years ago and stay in Hilton group hotels all over the place (been around the world already in April alone).
I was really proud of this operation and the friendly and helpful staff when I brought my family to Birmingham from the US for the first time.
The rooms we got (on reward points) were large, spacious and modern, the staff were amazing and we all felt really welcome.

I wish that Hampton Inns were all like this in the US, they could learn something here - I even like the little dispensers in the bathrooms.
We got 2 rooms on two separate stays. I preferred the back (canal side) of the property as birds arriving at the gas works can get a little loud, as can the boy racers on the road.

My only hope is that I can get a room next time I'm back, in-case it becomes too popular.

Also, beware of people in the parking lot - we had a shady character asking us if he could borrow our mobile phone (we didn't have one) who then walked away (wasn't a guest).

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCLimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for the Gadget Show weekend on the 15th and 16th of this month. We checked into our hotel on Friday night at about 6pm. We were greeted by a nice staff member who was very helpful and explained about the free Wi-Fi and the breakfast times for the following 2 days. The room was very very very nicely decorated for being ''the budget end of Hilton'' and the bathroom was very clean. The bed was comfy and we had a peaceful nights rest both nights. The shower had excellent pressure and the housekeeping ensured the room was cleaned perfectly both days. The breakfast was fresh and staff were more than happy to help. One member of staff who was particularly nice and very helpful was Leanne who in our opinion went the extra mile to make our stay more enjoyable. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Birmingham and we intend to book up here every Easter for the gadget show going forward!!! The price was right and it was much better than we had anticipated!!!

Room Tip: Dont need Iron or Hairdryer as already supplied
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank queen_b_786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 1 night as we went to the Gadget Show Live 2011. This hotel is situated 20 mins away from the NEC, which was perfect as it was on the way back up to Scotland. Some of the reviews on here said that the rooms were unclean, staff was unpleasant and the food was awful.

WELL... The room we were given was very spacious, clean and had all the amenties you ned for an overnight stay, the staff at reception were very pleasant and helpful and the breakgfast in the morning wasnt too bad, hot food including; sausages, bacon, scrambled egg, beans and mini hash browns. There was also choices of cereal, yogarts and fresh fruit. Fruit juice, tea and coffee were also avaliable.

Would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StirlingshireRockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#42 of 118 in Birmingham
1,312 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,432 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#31 of 118 in Birmingham
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Address: Cuckoo Road, Heartlands Parkway Nechells, Birmingham B7 5SB, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Star City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £49 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Birmingham Star City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Blueberry Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing