We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff who made the stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Ranked #82 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Checked out of the hotel today with my husband and 2 older kids.
After the wonderful receptionist let is check in early we was able to get ready steadily for the party we was attending and go down to the reasonable priced bar for a drink. She then got us a taxi for there and even sorted one to pick us up on the night. The following morning we had a lovely breakfast even though the hotel was busy breakfast was constantly replenished. The lovely receptionist then let us check out slightly later as my hubby still had a sore head. On check out she asked about our stay and introduced to the Hilton honours ready for our next stay. For a budget hotel I really couldn't as for more. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamaknowsbestest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stay here a few times a year as it is convienient being by the casino, staff are always helpful especially the girls Sophia and the blonde one. Always helpful especially sorting out the WIFI for me and arranging taxis for me to get into the city centre and back, breakfast is great considering its free and the beds are the best. Will continue staying here for the foreseeble future as i love it here.

Room Tip: Execs are the best!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ferrisjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed here one night in early June after attending family funeral in nearby Nechells - had large spacious room with all the usual facilities - the en suite had a shower with a built in seat which was useful for my Mum - there was a fitness room on the ground floor which looked well kitted out - parking was fine and the buffet style breakfast more than adequate - the reception staff were very attentive at all times - the hotel looked very busy - mainly business people - but it was quiet and we slept well - for the money excellent value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

When we arrived we were a bit concerned as the outside looks very 80's motel (think crossroads!!). Once inside though it was modern and clean, the lady on reception was very friendly and check in was easy. We had a room on the ground floor which was comfortable, clean and a good size. We went to Shere Khans restaurant in star city which was excellent (be warned they are not licensed to sell alcohol) and tried our luck in the casino.
Good night's sleep, great breakfast though i would recommend going early. We had breakfast at 8.45 (i just happen to wake up early) and the breakfast area was quiet leading to a very relaxed breakfast with the usual buffet of hot and cold breakfast items. When we checked out at 9.45 the room was heaving with people nursing hangovers and did not look pleasant!!!! All in all if we were to return to star city we would use this hotel again. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honey43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed just for the one night while visiting on business. It’s a great location and the City centre is around 10-15 minutes drive away. Star City is literally across the roundabout and if you fancy eating out you are spoilt for choice albeit the standard restaurant chains but they are good value.
I was pleasantly surprised that the room was bright, fairly large and the bathroom had a kind of small wet room with a seat inside the shower cubicle. WIFI was a good speed which was an advantage picking up my email and doing a bit of work so overall a good stay.
The staff I spoke with where very nice and friendly. Breakfast was a buffet style in a small area next to the bar but again it hit the spot with a mix of hot and cold food and while I was sat reading the paper they refreshed things regularly so no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smudge43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Booked through booking.com and booked an accessible room and asked for connecting room. Got exactly what we asked for, and unusually a "wet room". Very accessible. Greeting at reception was very friendly and very helpful.
Beds comfortable. Breakfast quite pleasant, help yourself, some hot and cold foods, not the full range of hot foods for a "full english". Smallish dining area, would imagine could get very busy if the hotel was full.
Would stay again if in the area, and would recommend it for an overnight stay.
Entrance to the hotel can be quite confusing as there is only one entrance, but protected by security barriers later at night (found this out as we returned late from an evening out)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Overall great stay. Large clean room, great shower. Nice big bed.
Was a bit disappointed with breakfast, booked as this had a hot breakfast but only eggs for veggies – no tomatoes, mushrooms or anything like that, which was disappointing and the fruit selection was also disappointing. My meat eating boyfriend enjoyed his, but not much for me.
Other little gripe was a group of people with their own alcohol openly drinking at 9am at breakfast, for a hotel with families I was surprised this was allowed to happen.
Also disappointing amount of TV channels – only 4! Free wifi is great, but the connection was really slow at times.
No little extras like shower caps, even when we asked, which was annoying. But the staff were really really friendly and helpful which was great.
Location was good for what we wanted and free parking a bonus. We drank in the bar in the evening and had a really nice bottle of wine.
I’d happily stay here again for the right price, a few small touches and it could be perfect.

Room Tip: we were on the third floor - all rooms probably the same though!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah6969pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#67 of 118 in Birmingham
1,102 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Address: Cuckoo Road, Heartlands Parkway Nechells, Birmingham B7 5SB, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Star City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £49 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Birmingham Star City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Blueberry Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing