We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Ranked #81 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I have stayed here before and had a great experience. I have recently been working North of Birmingham and had a dreadful experience at another hotel, so when I needed somewhere I could trust, I thought I would try the Hampton again. I wasn't disappointed.

Very nice and helpful staff. Fantastically quick dinner service. Well proportioned rooms, with comfortable Hilton beds.

Good bathrooms with a very nice shower / wet room.

Best of all the rates are very reasonable, and you can pick up Hilton honours points here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19Cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    162
    83
    42
    28
See reviews for
70
128
24
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

3 rd year running that we have stayed here and we will be staying again in the future.Some people must be very unlucky because as always the hotel and staff were excellent.All the staff we came across were very pleasant and helpful always smiling and nothing too much trouble.Nothing more to add from my last stay here except great price and great location for Star City,NEC and Birmingham city centre.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keokeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Checked out of the hotel today with my husband and 2 older kids.
After the wonderful receptionist let is check in early we was able to get ready steadily for the party we was attending and go down to the reasonable priced bar for a drink. She then got us a taxi for there and even sorted one to pick us up on the night. The following morning we had a lovely breakfast even though the hotel was busy breakfast was constantly replenished. The lovely receptionist then let us check out slightly later as my hubby still had a sore head. On check out she asked about our stay and introduced to the Hilton honours ready for our next stay. For a budget hotel I really couldn't as for more. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamaknowsbestest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stay here a few times a year as it is convienient being by the casino, staff are always helpful especially the girls Sophia and the blonde one. Always helpful especially sorting out the WIFI for me and arranging taxis for me to get into the city centre and back, breakfast is great considering its free and the beds are the best. Will continue staying here for the foreseeble future as i love it here.

Room Tip: Execs are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferrisjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed here one night in early June after attending family funeral in nearby Nechells - had large spacious room with all the usual facilities - the en suite had a shower with a built in seat which was useful for my Mum - there was a fitness room on the ground floor which looked well kitted out - parking was fine and the buffet style breakfast more than adequate - the reception staff were very attentive at all times - the hotel looked very busy - mainly business people - but it was quiet and we slept well - for the money excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
English
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

When we arrived we were a bit concerned as the outside looks very 80's motel (think crossroads!!). Once inside though it was modern and clean, the lady on reception was very friendly and check in was easy. We had a room on the ground floor which was comfortable, clean and a good size. We went to Shere Khans restaurant in star city which was excellent (be warned they are not licensed to sell alcohol) and tried our luck in the casino.
Good night's sleep, great breakfast though i would recommend going early. We had breakfast at 8.45 (i just happen to wake up early) and the breakfast area was quiet leading to a very relaxed breakfast with the usual buffet of hot and cold breakfast items. When we checked out at 9.45 the room was heaving with people nursing hangovers and did not look pleasant!!!! All in all if we were to return to star city we would use this hotel again. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honey43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed just for the one night while visiting on business. It’s a great location and the City centre is around 10-15 minutes drive away. Star City is literally across the roundabout and if you fancy eating out you are spoilt for choice albeit the standard restaurant chains but they are good value.
I was pleasantly surprised that the room was bright, fairly large and the bathroom had a kind of small wet room with a seat inside the shower cubicle. WIFI was a good speed which was an advantage picking up my email and doing a bit of work so overall a good stay.
The staff I spoke with where very nice and friendly. Breakfast was a buffet style in a small area next to the bar but again it hit the spot with a mix of hot and cold food and while I was sat reading the paper they refreshed things regularly so no complaints at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smudge43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanile Birmingham
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Address: Cuckoo Road, Heartlands Parkway Nechells, Birmingham B7 5SB, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Star City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Birmingham Star City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Blueberry Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing