We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good services, great price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Ranked #78 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good services, great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Nice hotel. Didn't know much about it and booked 12 hours before the stay - got the idea that it was the cheaper version of the "Hilton". Matched and even surpassed all requirements - breakfast was VERY good.

Room layout was good. Spacious and comfy. We were on the second floor, next to the road - however no disturbance.

Staff all friendly and willing to help.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    161
    81
    41
    27
See reviews for
68
125
24
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We wanted somewhere close to the centre of Birmingham for a shopping trip and this worked out to be fine. Check in was quick enough, the check in staff very pleasant and chatty without being false and nosey. The rate we paid was £44 and pre paid comes with free internet and free breakfast and yes free parking. Room was chilly and had to turn the A/C off in order to correct the problem, but when i tried to turn the heating on via the control panel, nothing happened. Room is pretty big, bigger than we expected, a flat screen tv with only 6 or 7 channels not even freeview but with free internet we could use the laptop for tv, an alarm clock, a table and arm chair in the room makes life easier for anyone who has work to do . The bed is large enough and very comfortable and comes with great pillows. Tea/coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, so much more than expected. The room and bathroom very very clean so house keeping did a great job. Taxi down town is approx £8 no easy access to public transport so expect to have to use taxi's. In the morning breakfast was help yourself, and okay. Cereal or yoghurt available, brown or white toast, a selection of coffee's free from a vending machine okay, but not really brilliant, and they had orange juice which came from a small vending machine which tasted like weak coloured water. The cooked breakfast was a let down too, beans okay but cold, scrambled egg cool and tasteless, sausages awful, but the bacon was okay and a good quality. So bacon on toast all round. Check out was effortless and really nice staff who also pointed out the Hilton Honours point scheme. All in all, a really nice clean tidy hotel with good staff who are trying hard to be helpful and nice and yes we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wigwag007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
femster
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

I have been working in Birmingham for a while and stumbled on this hotel after my usual hotels were fully booked.
I stayed in both the Queen room and the King room and enjoyed both my stays, the price is decent and you get free wifi and a decent but not special breakfast at the bar. On top of that you still get your HHounours points and airmiles.
Across the road is the Star City center which has a whole host of restaurants which is so handy when you just want to go out quickly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank femster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Hampton Hotel in Birmingham portrays it high standard from staff to room quality and braekfast quality.The reception area is on 3rd floor,no proper parking area and no ramp in front of hotel.So I have to carry luggages to ground floor and lift.In the good day.no rain,I can walk to shopping area about 10-20 minute walk.But it is too far to drag luggages to train station.

Room Tip: Excellent city hotel in Birmingham.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suraya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We had an awful night at a different hotel the night before and booked this one for our second night in Birmingham on the same day as checking in.

Its also been a long time since I have dealt with such friendly hotel staff who seem to be pleased to help you. I am sure they would rather have a cup of tea and chat to each other like in all other hotels, but they did not come across that way to us at all. Down to earth and friendly.

The room was clean, fresh, a good size, VERY quiet considering how close to the motor way it was and it had air conditioning. Not a romantic getaway destination, but for business or somewhere to rest your head. The breakfast was self service and got and there was plenty of choice.

Restaurants and a cinema within 200 yards. So there was alot to do in the evening.

It took us 20 min's to get to the NEC, so it was perfect for us. We will be back.

My only slight negative was that i found the bed to be a little springy and could of done with a bit more padding on the top of the spring, but having said that, we both slept perfectly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevdard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Very good value hotel. Room was large, clean and quiet. Good breakfast was included and unlike many central hotels in Birmingham, parking was free. Location was very handy for getting onto M6.
Missed the turning for it first time but there are plenty of round-abouts nearby so not too difficult to get back. Would certainly stay in another "Hampton by Hilton" hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vegetarianchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Myself and a friend stayed here for two nights over a bank holiday weekend. It's in a good location - just far enough away from the town center and star city to not be really noisy or dirty but close enough taxis and buses weren't inconvenient or really expensive. It is however, very difficult to find if you aren't getting a taxi.

Our room was clean and average. Bathroom was nice, though complimentary toiletries were scarce and there was only enough shampoo for one of us to use.The bed was very comfortable and clean and the rooms facilities were standard.

The "fitness center and gym" is a tiny room, smaller than most average hotel rooms and comprises of two running machines, a couple of dumbbells and a bike. You also have to go to reception to get a key.

Breakfast is well cooked, tasted lovely and lots on offer, however the staff almost seemed to rush you out and wouldn't allow even existing, seated guests to stay seated or help themselves to any more food or even juice or coffee from the machines after the exact time of buffet ending. The buffet is also held in the hotel lobby? Right in front of the reception - this I felt was a bit bizarre.

One of the girls behind the reception desk was very friendly and helpful but otherwise they all looked miserable.

Overall it IS quite a nice hotel, and for the price we paid (I think it was £39.00 per night on a last minute deal) it is fairly good value for money. Definitely not a Hilton standard and would rather have stayed in a Premier Inn

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannegray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,416 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#28 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Address: Cuckoo Road, Heartlands Parkway Nechells, Birmingham B7 5SB, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Star City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Birmingham Star City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Blueberry Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing