We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convert to Hampton by Hilton hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Ranked #87 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Had a two night stay here in October whilst watching Horse of teh Year Show at the NEC. Great value for money - we were expecting basic but clean, much like a Premier Inn, but I have to say it exceeded expectations. The room was clean and modern and having free wifi was great. Was also suprised to haveair conditioning and windows you could open, as quite often you get stuck with one or the other. Okay, so the location isn't the prettiest in the world, right next to Star City and with a view of the gas towers from teh room window, but for convenience when driving to teh NEC and having the restaurants of Star City on the doorstep it was just what we wanted as a base. Good variety of food on the breakfast buffet in the morning and free 'i' newspapers. Would stay at other hotels in this chain.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewis_the_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed for 1 night to see a away game at Birmingham football club. The club was only a short taxi drive away for any footy fans looking for a cheap, clean and decent hotel not too far away.
The room was spacious and fresh. We had a nice greeting on arrival and the bar staff were very welcoming and helpful as it was our first time in Birmingham.
The breakfast was included in the price which is always handy and tasted ok for a hot English breakfast.
Went to star city which is a short walk away, which has a cinema, restaurants and crazy golf.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Palace85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Excellent stay at this hotel with friendly staff and comfortable rooms at excellent rates.

I was a little apprehensive upon arriving as the hotel basically appears out of the way and very near two busy roads. My fears were allayed after checking out the room as it was quiet and comfortable. Just across the road (under 5 minutes walk, albeit crossing a very busy road), there was an array of lovely places to eat including Harvester, Nandos, Bella Italia and a couple of other restaurants and bar including a lovely buffet chinese.

The bar in the hotel was great with regular priced drinks. The breakfast was brilliant - hot, quality food which was included in the price.

Well worth a stay!

Room Tip: Any room was excellent - very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My son and I stayed here for 1 night when going to Top Gear Live at the NEC. Although right next to Star City it was a bit hard to find due to the trees obscuring the hotel sign. Not sure the Receptionist was expecting us as he had to confirm my name a few times and we were given a room in a part of hotel being decorated. The room and the bathroom (shower only) were large, generally clean (needed a hoover) and well equipped. The self-service breakfast, which was included in our £41 room rate, was very good. Decorators started outside our room at around 8am, hotel is changing to a Holiday Inn Express, but given the price this, the receptionist/room and the hotel sign are all minor complaints. Would stay again if similar price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inverclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here from 13th to 15th October. We were both travelling from different ends of the country (as my boyfriend works in Cumbia), me from Wales and him from Cumbria and both found the hotel really easy to get too.
We had a king room (room 202) which was massive!!! There was a king sized bed, chair in corner of room, desk with tv and radio, tea and coffee making facilities and storage space. The bathroom was also huge with a toilet, basin, bath and over bath shower. We could not fault it one bit.
Breakfast was included in the stay. There was a wedding party staying at the hotel on the Saturday and so breakfast on the Sunday morning was very busy. There was plenty to chose from (toast, cereal, eggs, bacon, sausages, beans, croissants, muffins, yougurts, as well as tea, coffee and fruit juice) and plenty available. The staff were in and out of the kitchen making sure there was enough there and restocking bread and milk etc when needed.
The hotel is just a short distance away from the Star City complex. There is plenty to do here, with lots of places to eat to suit all. There is also a cinema, casino, mini golf and 10 pin bowling alley here. Enough to keep everyone amused! It is also just a short drive (about 10 mins or so) to the Bull Ring shopping centre.
We would recommend this hotel to everyone and will be returning. We paid a bargain price and had parking (for two cars) and breakfast included. Service was fab and is close enough to everything that we needed for our short stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welsh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

Excellent all round. Recommend the euro car park about 3mins walk away. Central location. Brilliant all round. Good breakfast. Don't let the outside look put u off. The inside is modern and good decir

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabertoothtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We have just arrived back from a visit in Birmingham for the caravan show, we stayed at the hotel for 2 nights arriving on the Friday we were welcomed by a lovely lady on reception she was busy but still managed to book everyone in.
The room was fab very comfy bed, lovely shower, tea and coffee, perfect.
Had good breakfast lots of selection.
Our room was cleaned for our return, and was warm and welcoming.
We had a meal at the star city plenty of different restaurants we went to Bella Pasta brilliant staff again very friendly.
All in all fab weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehousekeeper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#42 of 118 in Birmingham
1,298 reviews
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,327 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Address: Cuckoo Road, Heartlands Parkway Nechells, Birmingham B7 5SB, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Star City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £42 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Birmingham Star City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Blueberry Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing