We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bloc Hotel Birmingham(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveller rating
139
176
94
49
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
176
94
49
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsentertainment complexaston villafree wifigood sizeshort driveair conditioningcity centreiron and ironing boardlarge roomhot breakfastthe ground floorbreakfast was includedyogurtgood nights sleepfantastic staywould stay againcar park
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 498 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Having been sold by Hilton to holiday inn, nothing much other than some paintwork or signs has changed. Desk staff are the same friendly bunch, the rooms are still decent, the beds still comfortable enough.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
Thank lipschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Firstly want to say a BIG thank you to Leanne on reception for making my girlfriends birthday better by upgrading our room and making us feel welcome. She also sorted out somewhere for us to eat after the snow had ruined my gf actual birthday I'm glad I brought her here for the weekend. Hotel is great being opposite Star City rooms are nice and clean and we LOVED the showers. Breakfast is good considering its free. We will def be returning soon. Thank you again Leanne you really made our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannyboy1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Spent a few days here in Jan 2013. Friendly and efficient staff. Good size room all absolutely spotless. Modern and fresh without being over-trendy, pictures are fair representation of what you get. Very comfortable bed (with choice of pillow!). Wifi free and working. Room very warm and cosy despite snow outside. Free parking in secure car park - important as the area is set up for car access and the city centre is some way off. *The* hotel for Star City if that matters to you. Breakfast a pretty decent cold buffet and good coffee with tokenistic mass-produced scrambled egg, sausage and beans (no bacon...!). Bar/lounge soulless in the evening - I guess you go over to Star City for dinner in preference to trying to eat here. I booked late and maybe there are better deals available, but at £79 a night B&B it felt a bit overpriced for a hotel in a slightly odd location.

Room Tip: No rooms have a view! You might want to avoid the road-side but I was not disturbed by traffic noise
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

drove down with two friends for some work related training on fourteenth and fifteenth of this month,easy to find check in quick all staff appeared helpful and pleasant especially sophia on the front desk got to the rooms and apart from the heat for some reason it was 30 degrees way too hot the rest looked very good tidy neat and clean good shower and plenty of towels good start to the afternoon.however it was downhill from there to say the meal was poor was an understatement tried the so called battered fish it must have taken a terrible beating it was a sorry excuse for food clearly reheated the fish was like a rubber toy you throw for the dog,the peas could have killed you if fired from a pellet gun and the chips looked so anemic i nearly called a nurse,don,t ask me why i didn,t send it back because i don,t know probably the english mentality.the beer was so so but even later on one of us wanted a whisky no bells or teachers the other two asked for a g and t but they also didn,t have any tonic not good.breakfast was better with more choices fry up wise the only thing on offer was beans sausage and scrambled egg though why no bacon mushroom hashbrowns tomatoes etc?? for sixty odd quid thought there would have been a little more on offer someone really needs to get a grip of the food side of the operation or like us you just go somewhere else to eat which will only lose the hotel important revinue

Room Tip: nice and quiet the higher you go
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChesterBluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexHMNEXP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear customer,

I am pleased to learn that there were some aspects of your stay that were very positive and I will ensure that your comments regarding Sophie are passed on to her.

We are currently reviewing our food and beverage offering in order that it serves our customers better. As a Holiday Inn Express we generally offer a smaller menu that offers customers a convenient choice when wanting to eat in the hotel. I will discuss your comments regarding the product quality with our suppliers in the hope that we can take steps to improve this.

Holiday Inn Express do not offer a full cooked breakfast but instead provide a continental breakfast with selected hot favorites. I would add that breakfast is free for all customers. We will be making changes in the near future to provide a better breakfast service and improve our product offering.

I hope that you would choose to stay with us again and would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Hotel in Cukoo Road Hartland Parkway Vey nice and clean excellent Break feast Night staff where very Helpful ,Sorry to say nothing to eat in the evening.
We arrived there at 15.00hrs and had to look somewhere to eat which was a shame. But other wise the Hotel was excellent.I can recommend it to any one that wants to stay in a Holiday Inn.
We where placed there by New Market Holidays .Had a very comfortable Night and slept well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexHMNEXP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear Walter R,

Thank you for your positive review of the Holiday Inn Express Star City.

I am glad to learn that the hotel provided you with everything that you need and allowed you to relax and be yourself.

We are constantly reviewing our food and beverage offering to ensure that it meets with customer requirements and will take note of the comments you have made.

I will share your comments with the hotel team in order that they can share in your experience.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews