We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Ranked #81 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed here whilst visiting family because of the location close to our relative's house.

The hotel is generally good, the rooms are large and clean and it's not too expensive.

The only downside is that the breakfast is pretty basic, but I think that's what you get with it being a 'Holiday Inn Express' rather than a 'Holiday Inn.'

I would recommend it, but if you have a bit more money - go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheeseontaoist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    163
    84
    42
    29
See reviews for
70
129
24
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I want to start by saying that the staff here are lovely, they are so bubbly and welcoming, the service is really very good.
The hotel itself has recently been converted from a Hampton by Hilton to a Holiday Inn express. Some of the good elements have remained: The hotel still has better bedding than a normal HI express, and it still offers free WiFi.

I was disappointed to see that the hotel has removed the fitness suite, it was one of the reasons that I chose this hotel over others.
The other changes which might seem minor: Chairs in the room have been replaced, not as comfortable, desk lamps replaced with something that looks like it has come from a prison.
Ameneties in the bathroom have been replaced. The handwash is some nasty neon pink gloop. There is no conditioner any more and the separate shampoo and body wash have both been filled with the same thing.
At the breakfast menu Bacon has been removed.

Although the points I have raised are minor, it seems crazy that what was such a good hotel has taken a backwards step and downgraded itself. It was such a good Hampton Inn, now it is just an average budget hotel.

I would stay again if in the area, but it wouldn't be my first choice. It is better than most HI Express', but not as good as a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear 19Cam,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for the staff. I am sorry for any confusion and the absence of the fitness center. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

after booking this hotel through a booking agency on arrival there were unaware of my booking the staff were very helpful and rectified this problem. the rooms are a very good size and clean with a fantastic bathroom with a large shower was great to have an iron and ironing board available in the room also. the hotel is location is a 5 minute walk to star city and 20 minutes drive to the nec. the staff in the hotel were all friendly and approachable. the breakfast was one of the best continental/ help yourself with a great choice. will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Room:
The room was clean enough and well presented. Only gripe was that the television screen is on the small side.

Bathroom:
A modern all in one shower pod fitted, which is extremely roomy. It also had a seat inside which is extremely handy for elderly and disabled people. On a negative note it looked like corners were cut during the last renovation. There was loose and missing grout from the floor tiles and it was a grubby in the corners. Other than that quite impressive.

Breakfast:
Breakfast was fair but, (and this is my biggest gripe with hotels), the sausages were like warm rubber bullets and the scrambled eggs had a dry skin. However the cereals, yoghurt, toast and pastries were OK and the waitress was very attentive filling up regularly.

Hotel:
The hotel is well situated for Star city and shuttle bus to Birmingham town centre and is good value for money. On the whole we had a good experience and will return and recommended it. (Just give the scrambled eggs and sausages a miss!)

Room Tip: There is a shuttle bus to Birmingham city accross the road at the entrance to Star City. An all day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear RoyandSue,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry you were not satisfied with the food options in the breakfast bar. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the breakfast bar you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
341 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Having been sold by Hilton to holiday inn, nothing much other than some paintwork or signs has changed. Desk staff are the same friendly bunch, the rooms are still decent, the beds still comfortable enough.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lipschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Firstly want to say a BIG thank you to Leanne on reception for making my girlfriends birthday better by upgrading our room and making us feel welcome. She also sorted out somewhere for us to eat after the snow had ruined my gf actual birthday I'm glad I brought her here for the weekend. Hotel is great being opposite Star City rooms are nice and clean and we LOVED the showers. Breakfast is good considering its free. We will def be returning soon. Thank you again Leanne you really made our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannyboy1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Spent a few days here in Jan 2013. Friendly and efficient staff. Good size room all absolutely spotless. Modern and fresh without being over-trendy, pictures are fair representation of what you get. Very comfortable bed (with choice of pillow!). Wifi free and working. Room very warm and cosy despite snow outside. Free parking in secure car park - important as the area is set up for car access and the city centre is some way off. *The* hotel for Star City if that matters to you. Breakfast a pretty decent cold buffet and good coffee with tokenistic mass-produced scrambled egg, sausage and beans (no bacon...!). Bar/lounge soulless in the evening - I guess you go over to Star City for dinner in preference to trying to eat here. I booked late and maybe there are better deals available, but at £79 a night B&B it felt a bit overpriced for a hotel in a slightly odd location.

Room Tip: No rooms have a view! You might want to avoid the road-side but I was not disturbed by traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Address: Cuckoo Road, Heartlands Parkway Nechells, Birmingham B7 5SB, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Star City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Birmingham Star City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Blueberry Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing