We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was like going back 20 years and NOT for good reasons!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Ranked #77 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It was like going back 20 years and NOT for good reasons!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

A really poor experience. Stayed there this week and was very disappointed. It all started with a struggle to find the entrance - not well signposted. It then went down hill from there. The rooms were tired and felt a little grubby. The TV could not show programmes in proper format and we're not tuned.

The staff tried hard but some of the hotel policies do not help them. To start with priority member's free drinks are half the size offered by any other HI hotels. Secondly a hotel guest (resident) you cannot get a drink after midnight!

When we returned from the city in a Taxi it took over 5 minutes to get through the barrier into the hotel as the intercom system was not working properly. Overall just disappointing so many little things are just wrong!

Room Tip: Another hotel springs to mind!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 929ScottB929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear 929ScottB929,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

I sincerely apologize for you did not find your room condition to your liking and for the inconvenience you had with our service level. We deeply regret that we were not able to exceed or at least meet your expectations.

Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a comfortable environment. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    161
    81
    40
    27
See reviews for
68
125
24
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

4 of us stayed in 1 room and we were surprised how big the room was (especially comparing to other HIEXes). Breakfast was nice, nothing special. Star city is very close if you choose to go there...we didnt. I would recommend to stay here because of the rooms!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Istvan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed for just one night at the end of November. The double room we stayed in was very good, large bed, couple of chairs, desk/dresser (although mirror to high to see yourself in once your seated), ironing, tea & coffee etc. Good size bathroom with an excellent shower and even a seat! Not glamorous in anyway, but that's not what a Holiday Inn is supposed to be, Overall very pleased.
However, the booking website we used, Alpha, had this hotel called Hampton by Hilton, it was lucky that our taxi driver knew that it had changed name, as we weren't told this by the booking agent, and never would have found it had we been on foot or driving ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

An okay hotel for an overnight stay. Reception staff were friendly enough. However the bar area seemed like a makeshift lobby area which made us have our free drinks and leave. Normally we would have taken our time and maybe eaten a snack before leaving for the evening. The room was adequate. All in all it does its job but I wouldn't come back due to the plethora of hotels in Birmingham within a 5 or 10 min taxi to city center. Unless you have business or are visiting star city and have literally no spare time then I would take the extra few minutes and book somewhere more centrally located.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulyAid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear JulyAid,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you liked the room accommodations and hotel staff service However, I am sorry to read that you did not find our hotel in a convenient location for your needs. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed for 1 night on 30 nov to visit the german market. Wasnt able to stay in the city centre hotels as they were booked up. This hotel is only 10 mins away from city centre £7 taxi fare. Opposite is a cinema complex with lots of eateries to choose from. We had 2 rooms booked and check in was quick although only one room was ready. Rooms spacious with a kingsize and sofa bed. Tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and iron and ironing board in the room. Bathroom just has a shower cubicle no bath with a seat in it.which was handy.Big bath sheet provided with shower gel, handwash etc. Rooms were clean and staff very friendly. Breakfast was very good a nice selection and very hot and plenty of it. İt was an ideal base to stay while visiting birmingham and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timelessbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked for two nights as we were going to the Good Food Show at the NEC about 15 minutes drive away. Our room was huge (110) and the double bed was comfy. The room was clean and in the bathroom, there was a big shower which was quite powerful - just as I like it. The reception staff were very polite and friendly and recommended places to eat outside of the hotel. Breakfast was very good, well stocked with 4 different cereals, yoghurts, cheese, grapefruit, croissants, chocolate croissants, pastries, toast, jams, etc, sausages, scrambled eggs, beans, fruit juices and tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc. The first morning we went for breakfast around 7.30am and Sunday we went about 9.15 both times, the food was well stocked and was replenished as soon as the staff noticed it was starting to go down. again the staff were friendly - couldn't fault the stay at all. If we were to go to that area again we would definitely stay there.

Room Tip: It was room 110 and it was a large corner room. I don't know what other room sizes are, so cant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night while attending a two day course being held there.
Staff were extremely polite and helpful. Room was huge with a very comfortable bed, loads of space, nice and clean and great shower. I can't fault the room or the staff during the day.
The evening was a different matter. The two girls on the bar looked like they'd rather be somewhere else and were quite abrupt. The menu choices for evening meal were limited and appeared to be microwaved meals (i watched a few being brought out). Because of this I drove to Star City and ate in Pizza Hut which was very nice. 2 minute drive or a 5 minute walk, it was dark and wet so I drove.
I'd definitely recommend the hotel but find somewhere else to eat in the evening!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth_E_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Address: Cuckoo Road, Heartlands Parkway Nechells, Birmingham B7 5SB, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Star City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Birmingham Star City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Blueberry Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing