We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Day Spring Hotel(Birmingham)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prime Lodge(Birmingham)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
138
174
94
48
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
174
94
48
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsentertainment complexaston villafree wifigood sizeshort driveair conditioningcity centreiron and ironing boardlarge roomhot breakfastthe ground floorbreakfast was includedyogurtgood nights sleepfantastic staywould stay againcar park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 494 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Without enough notice managed to book a room just a day before without extra price for a night when visiting Birmingham. With parking space (only limited space!!), excellent service, morning breakfast and reasonable price its a good option for ppl to stay if you are visiting Birmingham..

Room Tip: Book online!!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This property was in the regular 'Points Break' list of IHG hotels which cost only 5000 points per night. At this rate, it was a bargain! It's a typical Holiday Inn Express which recently converted from a Hampton by Hilton. The rooms are in good condition and do vary in size - get those with a sofa(bed) for more room. The worst part of the room is the small, old 15" TV with old connectors (S-Video and DVI, no HDMI here for your laptop). However, it's comfy and the place is well-run. Well-located for access to Star City with its restaurants, cinema, bowling etc, but it's quite a hike to the nearest train station (Aston - 15 minutes' walk). The breakfast is so-so, a few cooked options but not the best HIX spread I have seen. So 3 stars for the hotel, 5 stars for the value for money -> 4 stars overall!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank octagonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

A really poor experience. Stayed there this week and was very disappointed. It all started with a struggle to find the entrance - not well signposted. It then went down hill from there. The rooms were tired and felt a little grubby. The TV could not show programmes in proper format and we're not tuned.

The staff tried hard but some of the hotel policies do not help them. To start with priority member's free drinks are half the size offered by any other HI hotels. Secondly a hotel guest (resident) you cannot get a drink after midnight!

When we returned from the city in a Taxi it took over 5 minutes to get through the barrier into the hotel as the intercom system was not working properly. Overall just disappointing so many little things are just wrong!

Room Tip: Another hotel springs to mind!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 929ScottB929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear 929ScottB929,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

I sincerely apologize for you did not find your room condition to your liking and for the inconvenience you had with our service level. We deeply regret that we were not able to exceed or at least meet your expectations.

Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a comfortable environment. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

4 of us stayed in 1 room and we were surprised how big the room was (especially comparing to other HIEXes). Breakfast was nice, nothing special. Star city is very close if you choose to go there...we didnt. I would recommend to stay here because of the rooms!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Istvan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed for just one night at the end of November. The double room we stayed in was very good, large bed, couple of chairs, desk/dresser (although mirror to high to see yourself in once your seated), ironing, tea & coffee etc. Good size bathroom with an excellent shower and even a seat! Not glamorous in anyway, but that's not what a Holiday Inn is supposed to be, Overall very pleased.
However, the booking website we used, Alpha, had this hotel called Hampton by Hilton, it was lucky that our taxi driver knew that it had changed name, as we weren't told this by the booking agent, and never would have found it had we been on foot or driving ourselves.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews