We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Ranked #81 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Booked this hotel really cheap - £33.00 for a double which included breakfast! We arrived at hotel which is a bit tricky to find if you don't know the area - you kind of have to come back on yourself. However, plenty of on site parking which is free. Swift check in, reception staff nice enough. Was given a room on 2nd floor originally however, the room had 2 single beds pushed together and it was an adjoining room which I don't really like. Called down to reception to say I'd booked a double & that I was not a fan of rooms which had adjoining doors - the staff advised that the adjoining door was locked at all times which is fair enough but still preferred a room which did not have one. I also wanted a double bed. Receptionist checked to see if there was a double room available which there was and we were told to go and get new room key. We were given a room on 3rd floor at the front of the building this time with slight noise from the road but this was not a major problem. Room was just as large and nicely decorated as the last. Clean linen & fluffy big towels. Everything in the room, tea & coffee facilities, ironing board & iron - plenty of wardrobe space and hangers. Only slight couple of problems were the tv - had very few channels but I saw the sign on reception desk when checking in advising they currently had issues with this & that they were in the process of rectifying and there was no long mirror next to the dressing table. But these were minor issues. Bathroom was modern and clean and the shower is of a large size with a seat inside - more for disabled I guess but I loved sitting down to shave my legs and I now want in my house :o) I had a REALLY good nights sleep considering being at the front of the hotel as I didn't get up till gone 11am - i never sleep till that time!!! This meant I missed my breakfast, so can not comment on how good/bad this was. When checking out, there was no receptionist on the desk - however I could see a girl seated in a car at the back door my reception. There was a cleaner who asked if we were checking out to which I replied I was, she then called to the girl in the car that there was someone to checkout - I then realised this was the receptionist. She finished checking her makeup in her mirror and then came to the desk. She wasn't rude in any way - however it was not the same friendliness that we were greeted with when we checked in. All in all a nice place to stay, would def stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0nnaD0nna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    163
    84
    42
    29
See reviews for
70
129
24
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
127 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

....how to describe this place. It obviously was another hotel before it was a HI Express. what seems to have been done to make it an express is new and good but is sort of mixed with older room parts which aren't as good. Room cleaning isn't great there are large amounts of hair about the place.
It's sort of a mix of old and new, like the cream on a cocktail. Reception isn't impressive as you walk in, but other than the hairy room it isn't that bad and would probably stay here again.
the attention to detail is totally missing like the curtains not being secured at one end, or the sealant round the windows should have been refreshed, In all it feels like a compromise to become a holiday in express

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durham_Bloke_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Durham_Bloke_UK,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. We would like to express our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced with the room conditions and for the inconvenience this has invariably caused you.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. We will follow up with the executive housekeeper to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again.

We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and may use some of the feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Without enough notice managed to book a room just a day before without extra price for a night when visiting Birmingham. With parking space (only limited space!!), excellent service, morning breakfast and reasonable price its a good option for ppl to stay if you are visiting Birmingham..

Room Tip: Book online!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This property was in the regular 'Points Break' list of IHG hotels which cost only 5000 points per night. At this rate, it was a bargain! It's a typical Holiday Inn Express which recently converted from a Hampton by Hilton. The rooms are in good condition and do vary in size - get those with a sofa(bed) for more room. The worst part of the room is the small, old 15" TV with old connectors (S-Video and DVI, no HDMI here for your laptop). However, it's comfy and the place is well-run. Well-located for access to Star City with its restaurants, cinema, bowling etc, but it's quite a hike to the nearest train station (Aston - 15 minutes' walk). The breakfast is so-so, a few cooked options but not the best HIX spread I have seen. So 3 stars for the hotel, 5 stars for the value for money -> 4 stars overall!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank octagonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

A really poor experience. Stayed there this week and was very disappointed. It all started with a struggle to find the entrance - not well signposted. It then went down hill from there. The rooms were tired and felt a little grubby. The TV could not show programmes in proper format and we're not tuned.

The staff tried hard but some of the hotel policies do not help them. To start with priority member's free drinks are half the size offered by any other HI hotels. Secondly a hotel guest (resident) you cannot get a drink after midnight!

When we returned from the city in a Taxi it took over 5 minutes to get through the barrier into the hotel as the intercom system was not working properly. Overall just disappointing so many little things are just wrong!

Room Tip: Another hotel springs to mind!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 929ScottB929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear 929ScottB929,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

I sincerely apologize for you did not find your room condition to your liking and for the inconvenience you had with our service level. We deeply regret that we were not able to exceed or at least meet your expectations.

Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a comfortable environment. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

4 of us stayed in 1 room and we were surprised how big the room was (especially comparing to other HIEXes). Breakfast was nice, nothing special. Star city is very close if you choose to go there...we didnt. I would recommend to stay here because of the rooms!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Istvan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed for just one night at the end of November. The double room we stayed in was very good, large bed, couple of chairs, desk/dresser (although mirror to high to see yourself in once your seated), ironing, tea & coffee etc. Good size bathroom with an excellent shower and even a seat! Not glamorous in anyway, but that's not what a Holiday Inn is supposed to be, Overall very pleased.
However, the booking website we used, Alpha, had this hotel called Hampton by Hilton, it was lucky that our taxi driver knew that it had changed name, as we weren't told this by the booking agent, and never would have found it had we been on foot or driving ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Address: Cuckoo Road, Heartlands Parkway Nechells, Birmingham B7 5SB, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Star City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Birmingham Star City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Blueberry Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing