We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DONT BOTHER” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Ranked #77 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DONT BOTHER”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Attitude on the receptionist i would expect more at a vets disgusting put me of the whole stay! Never again and wouldn't recommend!! Breakfast was disgusting however rooms was ok cleaned
daily! If receptionist learned customer value whole experience would be better

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cparry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear cparry23,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the unsatisfactory service you received from the staff. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. Despite your disappointment I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    161
    81
    40
    27
See reviews for
68
125
24
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We needed cheap and cheerful accommodation since we were going to a concert. Located a short drive from Birmingham city center it was perfect, clean, efficient and a free breakie to boot. Plenty of parking and friendly staff made it all that we needed. I'd stay again for the same purpose. The only thing worthy of noting is to check out the road layout to reach it, otherwise you may land up chasing your tail!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Booozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here last month over Valentines weekend as we were going to Cadbury world. At check in the lady was very friendly but not very informative, only told us the breakfast times, nothing about the wifi etc. Very good touch that they take the payment straight away and no pre-authorising.

The rooms were nice and a lot bigger than I thought. The TV has rubbish signal and was always blurry. You could'nt see what channel you was watching as there seemed to be no guide and our back of the tv remote had no back so the batteries kept popping out! Also, I found the old key card from the previous guest so the housekeeping obviously didn't check the room very well. Bathroom was nice.

Breakfast wasn't great, even for an Express. Food was very limitied and nobody was checking to see if items were running low. They only seemed to be re-stocked if you asked a member of staff. Also, the tables were all very dirty most of the time.

Location is good but only if you come by car which we did. Took about 20 minutes to get to Cadbury World and drove over to Star City one night which was very nice. Would stay again if we come by car.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REB93PH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Well its been a while since I stayed in a Holiday Inn. This Hotel is one of the best budget hotels I have ever stayed in. Checking in was a breeze, the lady on the front desk, Nadine I think was her name, was really helpful and efficient.

Plenty of free secure parking, which is great.

We stayed in room 11 on the ground floor, which was great. It was at the end of the corridor so we didn't hear any noise at all.

The room was large and extremely tasteful and spotlessly clean. Loads of different lights and lamps, gave this room a great ambience.
There was every thing you needed, tea, coffee, iron, hair dryer, desk plenty of draws and hanging space.

Everything was just spot on and clean, so congratulations to the house keeping staff on the that one.
The bathroom was a good size, with a shower to die for. Very powerful and hot, and I especially liked the design of the shower. Bathroom had dispenser for shower gel, shampoo, moisturiser and soap. Again the bathroom was spotless.
We were staying at the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City to attend an Elvis night at Star City, which is just a short walk from the Hotel, just a few minutes.
Had a great nights sleep, room temperature was just right, and it has air-con which you can control for your comfort.
Breakfast was included, and consisted of a continental and a basic cooked breakfast. There was plenty of everything, and its a 'help yourself' affair.
I think this may of been mentioned by others, but the sausages, which looked great, didn't quite look up to there appearance. Please note, to make an already good breakfast, brilliant, change the supplier of sausages.
All areas of the hotel I visited were clean and tidy and staff were friendly and attentive.
All in all for the price we paid £60.00, you can not go wrong.
For a few pounds more, give the Travel Lodge at Fort Dunlop a miss, its a dump, and go here, and you get the breakfast. SHIMPLES !!!!!!
Thank you Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City for a great nights stay, and "Hasta la vista, baby" I'll be back.....

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11, ground floor, end of corridor. Great room, but no sea view unfortunately....lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilko99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Hotel is a good location just 10 mins by taxi into Birmingham centre. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Downside was the t.v only seemed to have about 4 channels on and the door was chipped which resulted in me getting a splinter. Room was spacious and clean but we couldn't seem to get the heating working.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Roberta M,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and for your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the television reception. We will look into this concern. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Holiday Inn country wide have to do something about the sausages at breakfast. This is my only complaint about the chain at the moment.
This particular hotel is clean, quiet and had a good nights sleep.
Plenty other places to eat within walking distance. Definitely be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulRowe2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Unfortunately I booked when Crufts was on and a lot of rooms had dogs in. Was woken both mornings of my stay at 5.30 by dogs barking. Room was clean, bathroom had an overbearing smell of bleach but was very clean too.

Food didnt look great, so had a walk to Star City both nights, which is a 10 minute walk away.

Breakfast, pastries and toast where fine. As wrote in other reviews the sausages in my opinion where not cooked, but the check-out guy disagreed and said hey were but in cooked. In all my years they are the most tasteless, undercooked and sorry sausages I've ever had the misfortune to taste.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daveannmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear daveannmarie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that you found our rooms clean and apologize for the inconvenience the sausages may have caused you. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Address: Cuckoo Road, Heartlands Parkway Nechells, Birmingham B7 5SB, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Star City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Birmingham Star City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Blueberry Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing