We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor pizza”

Filini Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #799 of 2,207 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: US$26 - US$52
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Filini Bar & Restaurant has established an enviable reputation in the Midlands for serving up contemporary, authentic Italian cuisine in chic surroundings. Situated on the first floor of the landmark Radisson Blu Hotel, this modern restaurant fulfils desires for a stylish ambience, with an affordable and outstanding culinary experience. The innovative Filini concept, designed by renowned restaurateur Roy Ackerman, is based on the trademark of authentic Italian cuisine. Filini is all about the taste and flavour of the best ingredients from Italy and its many regions. The crisp white napkins, the potted orange trees, the chic decor, great menu and exclusively Italian wine list all combine to make Filini a favourite choice for a relaxing meal in stylish surroundings. The service, design and mood give Filini a sense of style that complements the exquisite and simple food, making Filini a truly contemporary Italian experience.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Poor pizza”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Sorry to say but this was probably one of the poorest pizza's I ever had, no taste, virtually no existing toppings etc.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CEDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    41
    22
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“High quality hotel restaurant”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I'm usually disappointed with hotel restaurants but this one was the exception. I had the lamb which was cooked to perfection, I really should have ordered some sides of vegetables but I have to say that I always feel a bit ripped off by having to pay extra for a few "greens". There was enough to fill me up without the extras....just.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Craig Bignall: a top chef & amazing customer service! You MUST stay here!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have stayed in many Radisson hotels but this one sticks out to me.

Had a business meeting one morning and we wanted breakfast 3 minutes after breakfast had been closed.

The staff at the restaurant where polite and told us breakfast was no longer available.

Craig (the chef) came out and insisted he would make us whatever we wanted. What we wanted was not on the breakfast menu but he said it was fine.

A girl called Katie served us in the morning, she was so friendly and funny as well!

So far so good, we where now just waiting on the food. The eggs benedict arrived in good time and was made to perfection.

To summarise: food is great, classy atmosphere, great staff (chefs and waiters) and awesome customer service too!

Will be coming back here for sure and would advise anybody to stay/eat here.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jameel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good Pre-Theatre Venue”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have eaten at Filini previously and had a good experience then. We chose the restaurant because of its close proximity to the Alexandra Theatre for a pre-show meal. The restaurant was quite busy given ot was early evening, but we found the service was friendly and prompt which is what we look for when we are going to the theatre. The food was excellent in particular the mushroom starter and Sea Bass main were fresh and perfectly cooked. The atmosphere was a bit subdued and the other diners seemed to be mainly hotel guests, maybe it was because we were in the early part of the evening. The restaurant met our expectations and we will happily go back next time we are at the theatre.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mom's Birthday”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We popped into this gem just before going to the Theatre and it was lovely.

We didn't know what to expect and were greeted by friendly staff, the chef seemed lovely.

The food was amazingly fresh and tasty.

Unfortunately the restaurant was not the busiest and I personally feel the atmosphere would have been better if there had been more people. However this may have been because of the time we went.

The food took a little longer than we had expected to come out so despite ordering desserts we had to leave before they arrived. The staff happily refunded us the cost of the dessert to our card.

Very pleased with the food and we will most certainly return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Filini Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Filini Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing