We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge by the photos”

Shanahans Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shanahans Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 52 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Grimsby
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Don't judge by the photos”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I only stayed here as nearly all hotels in Birmingham was full.... As I'm so pleased this was the case, nice Irish sports bar, staff ultra friendly, I had twin room £20 pp breakfast and evening meal included. Breakfast is a help your self to toast cereal in a mini kitchen near the bedrooms, evening meal was home cooked and very nice and large! Rooms old but very comphy tv on wall bed lovely and soft. I'd will go back thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cksweet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    3
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

i steyd at this bed&breakfast last month as i was away on business for 2 nights i had a nice stay my room was sastifactory and up to my standerd of cleaness&friendly-ness for 25 pounds a night i couldnt complain it was cheep&cleaan friendley staff and a nice bar to have a nice drink at after a hard day after work thanks to the staff at shannahans!

Room Tip: standerd sized room for one persons
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grace n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

WORST HOSTEL EVER! I had booked 2 rooms to stay at this Hostel and arrived to find that the Hostel had given my rooms away. When the land lady greeted me she laughed when I said I had made a reservation. We were not the only party to be scammed by this terrble hostel as two other parties also were turned away after making reservations and paying deposits weeks in advance. As there was 2 concerts on in Birmingham the night we were supposed to be staying all budget accomodation was booked and we had to stay in Coventry - 30 miles away instead. I'm still waiting for the depoist I paid to be returned.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Were a group that worked on the railway and we stayed here for 3 weeks. The area looked dodgy at first i.e scrapyards etc around but its a totally different experience when in the pub. We had 3 twin rooms for £25 a night, it was continental breakfast to help yourselves to & the evening meal was beautiful. The land lady Marie made us very welcome and used to get us a drink every night. We had a very pleasant stay there & its a pub with a great atmosphere in the bar. We would deffinatley stay again as its only a mile & a half to New Street Street Station & close to the M6 just off junction 6 for Birmingham Central.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2010

I stayed at Shanahans B&B while visiting a concert at the NIA Birmingham. I had a great night and on my return to the pub we partied the night away, it had a great atmosphere and the staff were really freindly and helpful. Then to put the icing on the cake we were given a complementry breakfast on departure, which was a really nice end to a really nice stay and break away.

I would definetly reccomend Shanahans B&B to any one and am hoping to return again in Feburary time when my next event in Birmingham is booked.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

stayed with friends here dingy hotel, rooms freezing cold no heating, dark and dismal bar area would not advise anyone to stay here very dodgy

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nicnoxNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel
#96 of 117 in Birmingham
26 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanahans Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanahans Bed and Breakfast

Property: Shanahans Bed and Breakfast
Address: 127-129 Rocky Lane, Birmingham B7 5EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Shanahans Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing