We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ranked #52 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“5 day stay”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Recently, to attend 5 day course in Birmingham Uni, I was at this hotel. It seems to be quite decent hotel with good free breakfast and gym etc.
The regular cleaning, maintenance and replacement of things like soap, towels, coffee and tea in the rooms are of high standard.
The only draw back I found is the rooms are bit congested. So to do course work was bit difficult.

The facilities for evening meal in it and in the surrounding area are good though the area it self seemed to be bit rough.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaiswa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    412
    251
    91
    62
See reviews for
110
360
96
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Only negative was the size of the room we had as it was an inside room if offered we would have upgraded to an executive room but never found this was possible until we were leaving,
although small the room was very clean we couldn't have wished for any more extras then we had been given.
the breakfast was very good and the evening meal couldn't be faulted all the staff from reception to cleaners to restaurant staff were very polite, helpful and attentive.
it was lovely having sky sports in our room never had it in any hotel before.
we will definatley stay here again but in a larger room.

Room Tip: if you have a basic room then it may be wise to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed here for four nights on a training course mid march. The food was very good and the hotel was kept spotlessly clean. Yes the rooms are on the small side but are priced accordingly, £56 per night with breakfast.

Lots of places to eat near to the hotel and a nice friendly local pub the Ivy house with cheap beer close by, turn left and 5 minutes walk from the hotel entrance.

I would use this hotel again next time i'm in Birmingham.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel does look dated from outside but the decor inside is contemporary. The rooms are a bit small but comfortable and well maintained. The staff were all very pleasant and obliging. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant but the breakfast choice was good and the food was tasty.
The hotel is very convenient for getting into the city as there is a bus stop right outside and the service is very frequent.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank experience2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed at the hotel with my husband the weekend before last. Would recommend getting an executive room as the standard rooms on the inside of the hotel are tiny - and I mean very tiny due to the circular shape of the hotel. (Some people describe this as pizza shaped).
Both breakfast and evening meals were good - as part of an inclusive deal with Menzies with meal on the first night. The service was spot on with everyone helping at breakfast so tables were cleared quickly and efficiently.
The location of the hotel is much further out than other chain hotels but if you don't mind gettting a bus (5 - 10 minutes) there's a stop right outside the hotel.
overall the hotel is okay but it really does need an upgrade to bring it up to the same standard as other Menzies hotels that we've stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

i stayed here for one night, the hotel looks a little horrible outside - very old and dated in style. the reception area is very nice and clean and modern. The corridors to the room was a bit in need of some tidying up and some room doors have seen better days. My room was very small, but ideal for one person. The decor is nice, the room was warm and tidy. It wasn't dirty but it wasn't that clean either - i found a few suspect hairs in the bed and on the pillow and when i got the spare pillow out of the wardrobe it had mould on it so I had to ask at reception for it to be replaced - which they did very quickly, but there was no apology for the state of the other pillow. The furniture is quite old and I didn't really want to hand my coat in the wardrobe - just because it looked "well" used and a bit sticky! The bathroom was ok, bath with shower, tiny sink and a toilet - the mirror above the sink was clean but the tiles between the mirror and sink weren't that clean - i could see drip marks of either water and soap or cleaning product. The bathroom door was a bit dirty too. As i was only staying for one night and it was cheap decided that it did the job it was meant to, but i wouldn't choose to stay there any longer than one or two nights maximum. My parents stayed a couple of floors up and their room did have an aroma of dampness and their shower had hardly any water pressure. They were on the inside of the hotel so faced the carpark, whereas I was on the outside and had a view of Birmingham (the hotel is round).
Staff were ok, only really encountered the reception staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annmarie3362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
599 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 117 in Birmingham
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#88 of 117 in Birmingham
747 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#28 of 117 in Birmingham
967 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan

Property: Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Address: 225 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9RY, England (Formerly Menzies Strathallan)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#43 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan is centrally located and easy to get to. The hotel is close to Birmingham city centre and offers plenty of free parking on site. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. The Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan has 135 bedrooms including 53 brand new City Double bedrooms. The hotel also has lots of great facilities including a brasserie, bar and lounge, a small gym for hotel guests, 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms for up to 170 delegate and function rooms for weddings up to 170 guests. BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Lastminute, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Menzies Strathallan Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing