We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings about this place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ranked #54 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We booked to stay at the Strathallan for 2 nights and upon arrival our room (Which was TINY) Was extremely hot. We mentioned this to reception who sent up a fan which we thought we would give a shot... but that night the heat was unbearable. We complained the following day and we just got sent up another fan.. which did not help in any way. Saying that though, the food was excellent had an amazing 3 course meal and the breakfast was superb, as were the staff in the bar/restaurant. Shame about the room.

Room Tip: Don't get a small room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

We booked a 2 night stay which included free dinner. There was no information to say that the standard room would be dark, small nad disappointing. It doesn't help that I do suffer from claustraphobia and felt very hemmed in. We asked nicely at reception if we could move to a different room. The only rooms that are bigger and give you more natural daylight are the executive rooms. If this had been explained at the time we booked we would have upgraded the room. If I was on a 1 night stay I would have tolerated the room but anymore than 1 night it would have driven me crazy.

The receptionist was not very helpful and after both myself and my husband asked what could be done we ended upo havingto email the manager. We were given a free upgrade to an executive room which was somuch better.

The free dinner on the 2 day stay was execptional food, it was delicious and if we had to pay the £21.95 per person it would have been well worth it. Breakfast was one of the best i have had my poached eggs were perfect. I would highly recommend this hotel to our family and friends. The executive rooms are worth the extra money.

Room Tip: If you want a good size room then upgrade to the executive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed 1 night in a outside room the views were great,the outside of this hotel looks a little dated but dont let that stop you staying here,the staff are all very friendly and the food in the restaurant was fantastic,the breakfast was very good too.

Room Tip: 604 has good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilkosteph28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

A good hotel a mile from the city centre but make sure you book an outside room. The inside ones are small

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxesforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I stayed 5 nights earlier this month whilst my husband was undergoing a 'Birmingham Hip Resurfacing' op at the Royal Orthopaedic Hospital and this hotel was ideally placed for a very straightforward return drive plus the Town centre by bus or car. Eight hours a day in/around a hospital was draining but the staff, from reception to the excellent women working in the restaurant never failed to ask for a report on his progress each day and were friendly but not familiar. I wish I had had the energy to use the small but well appointed gym. 20+years ago I travelled a lot on business;things change as one gets older but I was never allowed to feel alone there and, more importantly, very safe.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I took a party of 34 to stay for 4 nights at this great hotel. From the outside it looks disappointing but inside was great. The bedrooms were quirky, but then the hotel is round, the beds were the most comfortable that any of us have slept in at an hotel, even the single rooms had 4ft beds!. Good TV in every room. The hotel is very clean and well furnished. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful and always smiling - nothing appeared to be too much trouble. the food was excellent, even catering for one of us with Coeliac disease (intolerance to cereal). Our only critisism was the lack of drawer space (which the manager assured me they are trying to rectify). All of us would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Fifth floor room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aldersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed this Friday and Saturday on a weekend deal. The whole public area, reception, dining and bars is very nicely appointed in a modern style. The hotel is also very convenient for the town centre being only 5 minutes away by frequent buses. Very near the hotel (easy walking) there are a variety of restaurants, Indian, TGIF and others, and also a casino. In the hotel, the food in the brasserie was very nice, with good value and choice on the standard menu. Service too was above average in the restaurant - staff very attentive but not intrusive.

So all good then? Well, the double rooms on the inside of the tower are nicely appointed but somewhat cramped, barely big enough for a couple if you've brought baggage. As other reviewers have mentioned the view from those rooms of the inside well of a 70's tower block is pretty uninspiring. Finally the bedroom walls are a little thin so nocturnal noises can be an issue(!).

We would stay again but certainly would want an outside room

Room Tip: Outside room best, probably on the back away from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuntboys-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#73 of 118 in Birmingham
1,129 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#34 of 118 in Birmingham
1,015 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
The Eaton Hotel
The Eaton Hotel
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
627 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan

Address: 225 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9RY, England (Formerly Menzies Strathallan)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#43 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £36 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan is centrally located and easy to get to. The hotel is close to Birmingham city centre and offers plenty of free parking on site. Free, superfast WiFi is also available throughout the hotel available to all guests. Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan has 135 bedrooms including 17 bedrooms refurbished in 2017 and 53 new City Double bedrooms created in 2016. The hotel also has lots of great facilities including a Hallmark Grill, bar and lounge, a small gym for hotel guests, 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms for up to 170 delegates. BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area playing top sporting action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Menzies Strathallan Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing