We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent flyer to this place...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ranked #51 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I stay here a lot due to work and this place has lots of plus points. The staff are all pleasant and are really happy to help. Most of the rooms are good but some of them on the 6th floor are in desperate need of a facelift. Having said that the rooms are always clean and tidy and well stocked. Main draw back is the position on the Hagley Road which is always noisy and if you need fresh air to sleep you have to suffer the endless road noise.
Some of the rooms face into an internal well and these are pretty grim as there is little natural light and no view whatsoever. Try and avoid these and ask for something at the front of the hotel...
The lifts are a pain and one of them has been out of order for over a month now whilst they wait for a new part...it's getting a bit silly now...how special is this 'part'?
There is a small gym that is ok but good benefit from some new/decent equipment.
The food is good but quite pricey for what you get. There are some good Indian restaurants and others 5-10 mins walk from the hotel in either direction.

Room Tip: avoid the internal (well) rooms as small, cramped, no view, little natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IndianaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

985 - 991 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Whenever I visit Birmingham on business I try and stay at the Strathallan Hotel.
Parking is undercover and lifts take you direct to Reception and the bedroom floors, so you are protected even from the worst weather.
Reception staff are always pleasant, efficient and helpful.
The design of the hotel is unique - like a wheel - I have never come across circular corridors before.
Rooms are a good size, comfortable and well equiped.
Restaurant is reasonable and food is good for a hotel.
Hotels usually have some downsides, but I haven't encountered any here.

Room Tip: Try the upper floors, either on the inner ring of rooms or outside ring on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Rooms were tastefully decorated and well equipped. Staff were efficient but not as welcoming as they could be. Restaurant food was average and not worth the price - I only ate there as they had a 3 course special on, which made it worth while.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I was very surprised that the rooms in this hotel is not air-conditioned. I checked in on a mid summer afternoon and was perspiring as I unpack my luggage in the room. There was not even a fan, instead I saw a wall-mounted heater. Luckily, the windows could be opened and the night was quite cool. Not much to complain though when I paid £50 for a double room with both dinner (3 courses) and breakfast included. Not too sure about the convenience of its location as my local friend ferried me around for the sightseeing. This hotel is a good bargain if you visit Birmingham during cooler seasons.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
Thank wmloke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I stayed for one night on business.

The hotel is near our Birmingham office and recommended by colleagues as convenient.

Parking is extra (£3.50 per night) and there is plenty available. I arrived at around 5pm and check in was busy. My signle room was on the 5th floor and one of theh two lifts was out of order. The remaining lift was small (about 4 people at a squash) and slow.

My room was rather small but ok for 1 person for 1 night. It had no air conditioning and this was a very hot day.... the window opened only 6 inches (for security which is understandable) and the sun was shining right through the window. I was rather hot throughout the night and didn't sleep well.

The room was clean and had all the usual amenities and was fine for one night. It was also excellent value at under £60 including parking.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Booked a one-night stay at this hotel, as I was attending a wedding at the nearby Botanical Gardens. Phoned up on the day to request an early check-in, which they were more than happy to accomodate.

Check in was fast, friendly and efficient (receptionist was great), the hotel lobby area looks very smart and well appointed. I had booked a single room, which turned out to be tiny, with a comfy bed, and a tired looking but adequate bathroom. The shower took a while to build up some good water pressure, by which point I was almost done!

Breakfast service was good, I was relieved as there was a wedding party staying at the hotel, but there was still plenty to go around. Overall It was an enjoyable stay, I'd definitely recommend this hotel for a brief stay in Birmingham.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebenezer91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We booked to stay at the Strathallan for 2 nights and upon arrival our room (Which was TINY) Was extremely hot. We mentioned this to reception who sent up a fan which we thought we would give a shot... but that night the heat was unbearable. We complained the following day and we just got sent up another fan.. which did not help in any way. Saying that though, the food was excellent had an amazing 3 course meal and the breakfast was superb, as were the staff in the bar/restaurant. Shame about the room.

Room Tip: Don't get a small room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 118 in Birmingham
1,112 reviews
Edgbaston
The Eaton Hotel
The Eaton Hotel
#11 of 118 in Birmingham
615 reviews
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#29 of 118 in Birmingham
987 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan

Address: 225 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9RY, England (Formerly Menzies Strathallan)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#43 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £41 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan is centrally located and easy to get to. The hotel is close to Birmingham city centre and offers plenty of free parking on site. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. The Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan has 135 bedrooms including 53 brand new City Double bedrooms. The hotel also has lots of great facilities including a brasserie, bar and lounge, a small gym for hotel guests, 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms for up to 170 delegate and function rooms for weddings up to 170 guests. BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Menzies Strathallan Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing