We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ranked #62 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is an old 60's hotel that is currently under renovation.....some rooms have been done and the resaurant/foyer has been recently completed.
The hotel is value for money and when renovations are complete it will be very good.
Breakfast was well cooked if a little chaotic due to a new menu just having been implemented.
Staff very pleasant and very aware that they have to work hard to keep customers happy during renovation work.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room as the hotel rooms are in a circular shape and the inside rooms are obviousl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    383
    235
    84
    60
See reviews for
98
335
87
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

First impressions of the hotel are quite disappointing but I later discovered that it is undergoing radical renovations. Obviously this is reflected in the price but the rooms and bathrooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable.

Problems with rooms can arise even in the best of hotels but it's how the management deal with the problems that distinguishes them and sets them apart from other hotels.

An incident occured which meant I had to change rooms. The management immediately allocated an alternative and offered me every assistance they could muster.

Well located close to the city centre and very convenient for public transport makes this a good choice especially for the reasonably priced rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms that front onto Hagley Road are very noisy at night so ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pogson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

I stay here a lot due to work and this place has lots of plus points. The staff are all pleasant and are really happy to help. Most of the rooms are good but some of them on the 6th floor are in desperate need of a facelift. Having said that the rooms are always clean and tidy and well stocked. Main draw back is the position on the Hagley Road which is always noisy and if you need fresh air to sleep you have to suffer the endless road noise.
Some of the rooms face into an internal well and these are pretty grim as there is little natural light and no view whatsoever. Try and avoid these and ask for something at the front of the hotel...
The lifts are a pain and one of them has been out of order for over a month now whilst they wait for a new part...it's getting a bit silly now...how special is this 'part'?
There is a small gym that is ok but good benefit from some new/decent equipment.
The food is good but quite pricey for what you get. There are some good Indian restaurants and others 5-10 mins walk from the hotel in either direction.

Room Tip: avoid the internal (well) rooms as small, cramped, no view, little natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndianaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Whenever I visit Birmingham on business I try and stay at the Strathallan Hotel.
Parking is undercover and lifts take you direct to Reception and the bedroom floors, so you are protected even from the worst weather.
Reception staff are always pleasant, efficient and helpful.
The design of the hotel is unique - like a wheel - I have never come across circular corridors before.
Rooms are a good size, comfortable and well equiped.
Restaurant is reasonable and food is good for a hotel.
Hotels usually have some downsides, but I haven't encountered any here.

Room Tip: Try the upper floors, either on the inner ring of rooms or outside ring on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Rooms were tastefully decorated and well equipped. Staff were efficient but not as welcoming as they could be. Restaurant food was average and not worth the price - I only ate there as they had a 3 course special on, which made it worth while.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
292 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

I was very surprised that the rooms in this hotel is not air-conditioned. I checked in on a mid summer afternoon and was perspiring as I unpack my luggage in the room. There was not even a fan, instead I saw a wall-mounted heater. Luckily, the windows could be opened and the night was quite cool. Not much to complain though when I paid £50 for a double room with both dinner (3 courses) and breakfast included. Not too sure about the convenience of its location as my local friend ferried me around for the sightseeing. This hotel is a good bargain if you visit Birmingham during cooler seasons.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank wmloke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I stayed for one night on business.

The hotel is near our Birmingham office and recommended by colleagues as convenient.

Parking is extra (£3.50 per night) and there is plenty available. I arrived at around 5pm and check in was busy. My signle room was on the 5th floor and one of theh two lifts was out of order. The remaining lift was small (about 4 people at a squash) and slow.

My room was rather small but ok for 1 person for 1 night. It had no air conditioning and this was a very hot day.... the window opened only 6 inches (for security which is understandable) and the sun was shining right through the window. I was rather hot throughout the night and didn't sleep well.

The room was clean and had all the usual amenities and was fine for one night. It was also excellent value at under £60 including parking.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#82 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan

Property: Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Address: 225 Hagley Rd, Birmingham B16 9RY, England (Formerly Menzies Strathallan)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#43 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan is centrally located and easy to get to. The hotel is close to Birmingham city centre and offers plenty of free parking on site. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. The Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan has 135 bedrooms including 53 brand new City Double bedrooms. The hotel also has lots of great facilities including a brasserie, bar and lounge, a small gym for hotel guests, 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms for up to 170 delegate and function rooms for weddings up to 170 guests. BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Menzies Strathallan Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing