We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ranked #54 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Horrendous!”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Was charged twice for one night's stay. They refused to refund one payment. Manager spoke to me like a piece of crap, that's when she wasn't talking over me as I tried to explain
Not only this, the room was like a box. It was extremely noisy. Cold and uncomfortable
I will not stay here again in a million years. Disgusting hotel and disgusting customer service
Next time I'm looking for a hotel, I'll check the deals as I had noticed clarion which is a fantastic hotel, advertised for only £10 extra

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yogi2016Yogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and l would just like to clarify why this comment has been left.

You made your booking through Laterooms on the 22nd Feb 2013 for the night of the 22nd Feb 2013, and you failed to arrive. You then arrived on Sunday 24th Feb and were raising your voice to the reception staff explaining that someone from Laterooms had messed your booking up.

You then called the Hotel and continued with a raised voice that you had not made this reservation and someone from Laterooms had changed your arrival date.

We explained that you would have received an email confirmation from Laterooms which would have listed the arrival date of your booking and if you had noticed and called the Hotel at the time then we would have happily changed the arrival date. But due to the fact that we held the room all night then a Non arrival charge would be made.

Laterooms also spoke to you and ourselves, explained that they cannot amend an arrival date and that the user makes the reservation direct themselves via a website and the terms and conditions are listed at the time of booking.

I do feel that telling the staff that if we charge you for the extra night that you will leave negative feedback on all the web sites unfair to the staff that were only carrying out their duties.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    413
    251
    91
    62
See reviews for
110
362
96
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

On the plus side the staff were all brilliant and the breakfast was above average. The indoor car park where you could pull up close to the lift either on the first or second floor and park for free was a huge bonus. I stayed for six nights and had three dinners at the hotel. These were a little disappointing as the menu didn't 'grab you' at all. My room was a single, cramped and in need of a makeover. Turning over in bed triggered a broken spring to make a noisy 'boing' but the bed was comfortable enough. So, if you simply want a good night's sleep and a very good breakfast this is the place for you - ignore the jaded condition and eat out in the evening would be my advice. As someone said earlier it's a good three star hotel, the award of four stars is pretty generous!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed one night on special Valentines Package and to be honest it was better than we had expected. The building looks sadly dated on the outside and its rotunda design with inner ‘doughnut’ courtyard compromises room shape and space for those allocated an ‘inner’ room (as indeed we were) and the view is simply drab and grey.
On the plus points the bed was comfy, the TV excellent and the free wifi signal strong. The bathroom was clean with a powerful over bath shower. The public areas are well appointed and we were suitably impressed with the four course special evening meal that came with our package. Plentiful free parking with a location just two miles from the city centre, served by numerous buses that will get you into the centre in around 10 to 15 minutes.
Ok for one or two nights, but do try for an ‘outer’ room, as the ‘inner’ ones are rather cramped.

Room Tip: Try for an ‘outer’ room, as the ‘inner’ ones are rather cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHMStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in February and booked the "2 night getaway package", which included full breakfast, free wifi and dinner on 1 night.

ROOMS - good size, with all the amenities you could need and good size bathroom with tub. The room was clean, and the bed was comfy.

HOTEL - the hotel itself is a nice building (dont judge it by the exterior). Lobby was warm and welcoming, staff were friendly and the restaurant was great. We had dinner one night and it was pretty good (equiped with antipasto buffet and carvery station), we were pretty full by the end of it. Breakfast was awesome, had everything (sausage, eggs, pastries, cereal bar, yogurt bar, beans, potatoes, the whole lot of it).

LOCATION - a bit away from the centre, but that's okay because the bus stop is directly in front of the hotel. Just hop on and off you go! There is no metro in Birmingham, so ask reception for a map. It would have been better if we had a car, because the hotel has ample parking but we were traveling by train. There is another restaurant across the street, and come convenience stores down the street (but I wouldnt really venture there alone at night time, there were some sketchy drunks hanging around).

If I were to ever return to Birmingham (which I wouldn't), I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittensFever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Booked into the hotel with my husband for just one night,saturday till sunday.Location good for us.Parking at hotel good and even better as we did't have to pay for it .W e had a double superior room.Room size good but very tired looking ,needs bringing upto date.The bed was comfortable and hair dryer good.
No hand cream in bathroom and only one bath robe.For the price paid i would have expected hand cream.
Staff pleasant enough although waiting staff not on the ball,took too long serving tea and coffee.The coffee only just warm. Food at breakfast acceptable.Don't think i would stay here again.

Room Tip: would advise to have high floor room as good view over bham
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoothyShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel as we needed a base for a hospital stay. The rate was the same wether one or two people stayed and included a meal on one of the nights. I can only review my experience for the first night as I had to check out in the morning but my sister stayed on. Checking in was very easy and quick, with our room on the 4th floor. The roomed narrowed towards the window because of the shape of the building. Lovely furniture, clean and tidy, Bathroom was large in comparrison to other hotels.
We had our meal on the first night. We had not booked but the staff found a table immediately. I found the service superb and would like to mention the "supervisor" Louise to be outstanding. We enjoyed a lovely meal in a very relaxed atmosphere with attentive staff.
Parking at the hotel was very easy and showed a charge, but this was included in our rate. I would definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I have just come back from a weekend in Birmingham, we only stayed one night at this hotel and we were impressed with the standard of the place. It is not much to look at from the outside, you would probably drive passed it we did. But it is very modern in side, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good although get up early and go as it was very busy around 9am! Very good value for the money!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudes07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
600 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#65 of 117 in Birmingham
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#88 of 117 in Birmingham
748 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#26 of 117 in Birmingham
968 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan

Property: Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Address: 225 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9RY, England (Formerly Menzies Strathallan)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#43 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan is centrally located and easy to get to. The hotel is close to Birmingham city centre and offers plenty of free parking on site. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. The Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan has 135 bedrooms including 53 brand new City Double bedrooms. The hotel also has lots of great facilities including a brasserie, bar and lounge, a small gym for hotel guests, 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms for up to 170 delegate and function rooms for weddings up to 170 guests. BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Odigeo, Lastminute, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Menzies Strathallan Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing