We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with bad cuisine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ranked #50 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed for a week.
Pros: Hotel with well decorated and clean room complemented with free wifi. Staff were all friendly and pleasant. I was upgraded to a small double having booked a single room which I believe was great. Hotel is also in a peaceful area of Birmingham.

Cons: Biggest drawback is the food being served. Food was very bland and sometimes overcooked. Some tasted like tesco ready meal and other were even worse. e.g I ordered chicken tikka masala and it was the worst i ever had in my life. I mean it had lots of chicken but the sauce was horrible and tasted nothing like a tikka masala and for approx. £10 a ripoff . I was also served a glass of coke which tasted as if it was mixed with water ,however they gladly changed it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tushan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

950 - 956 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed here on business a couple of times. Staff friendly and efficient, lounge and breakfast are decent. Single rooms are small and wedge shaped (the building is circular). Real issues with poor soundproofing. Biggest problem is with the plumbing though, sinks seem to all need a water pump which is noisy and you can hear it all night from surrounding rooms. Despite the pumps the shower flow/pressure is pathetic, no more than a trickle.

Only stay here if you don't want to sleep or shower !

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

When we first pulled up we were worried as the outside looked dated, but don't let that put you off as once your inside it is clean and just nice.
The staff were really helpful and the room was large clean and nice

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen44krissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Spent i night here,11 Nov,a good clean hotel,very quite at night so a good rest was easy,room clean and tidy,and a good size bed,easy access to the city center.Paid 81 pounds all in for 2, so at that price if you can get it you will not go wrong,very pleased and would use again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ostrogoths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed here for one night, rooms ok, nothing special, location great for the city, however the service from the staff I received especially on the main reception was very poor indeed, I felt very rushed even though I was the only person at the reception, I felt I was spoken to like I was a 5 year old child, very rude lady on reception, who is certainly in the wrong job ! Will Not be stopping again !

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiggy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Good location, 10 minutes drive from Bullring. Room had been refurbished and of a good standard. Yes, some of the hotel surrounding is dated but this should not put you off at all. Staffs are friendly, food not bad. Free car park. The only bad thing about this hotel is the thin wall. Meaning that you can hear the conversation next door. This is alright until people decide to chat loudly after midnight and you won't be able to sleep at all. I changed my room a couple of times but same issue. Anyway, if you don't have issue with the noise, I would recommend you to give it a go.

Room Tip: Don't go for the top floor as the pressure of the shower is non existence. Recommend no higher t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fei_lo_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here with colleagues.Room well equipped and spacious,though funny shape.I have never stayed in a round room before.Had evening meal and breakfast and no complaint about both.
Situated on the main road so i was expecting a lot of noise,but found it very quiet and slept very well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road)
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#72 of 118 in Birmingham
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#31 of 118 in Birmingham
1,036 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Edgbaston
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
#107 of 118 in Birmingham
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan

Address: 225 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9RY, England (Formerly Menzies Strathallan)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#43 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £43 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan is centrally located and easy to get to. The hotel is close to Birmingham city centre and offers plenty of free parking on site. Free, superfast WiFi is also available throughout the hotel available to all guests. Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan has 135 bedrooms including 17 bedrooms refurbished in 2017 and 53 new City Double bedrooms created in 2016. The hotel also has lots of great facilities including a Hallmark Grill, bar and lounge, a small gym for hotel guests, 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms for up to 170 delegates. BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area playing top sporting action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Menzies Strathallan Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing