We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getting The Details Right Gets 5 Stars From Me” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ranked #61 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
UK
Level Contributor
520 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Getting The Details Right Gets 5 Stars From Me”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at the Strathallan Birmingham City (bit of stretch,that description!) hotel on a Friday night, after a day in the city and prior to visiting the NEC the next day. It was convenient for both - 10 minutes out of the city, 20 minutes off the heavy traffic route to the NEC.
Having stayed in 5-star hotels aound the world who haven't a clue, the following list gets them 5 stars from me:
Everything clean and not worn down in a decently-sized room; comfortable bed good linens, with additional pillows, etc.; large flat screen TV; table and chairs; plenty of hot water in a nice bathroom; plenty of hangers in a wardrobe with a light!; plenty of storage; quiet (7th floor) room, despite overlooking the road; opening windows; adjustable radiators; reasonable cooked breakfast in a nice lobby area restaurant; free, good-quality and easily accessible wi-fi (hang your heads in shame, Hilton, Starwood; IHG, etc. etc.); free and easy car parking. Get the picture?
Add to that pleasant, efficient and attentive staff and our ridiculously reasonable packaged deal that included a Murder Mystery Dinner (fun but overlong), we had no hesitation in joining their loyalty scheme and will seek them out when we want to stay somewhere they have a place. Well done, Menzies!

Room Tip: Upper floors probably best. Do the murder mystery dinner if you like that sort of thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retyree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    376
    233
    81
    58
See reviews for
95
332
84
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

For a short 1 or 2 night stay, this hotel is ideal. Don't be put off by the exterior, it is much better inside! We were on the 7th floor and although we were in a standard double room, it was a little bit small, but it was cosy. The rooms are nicely furnished and warm, and they are modern and comfortable. If you wanted to be critical, there were a few scuff marks on the wall, but personally stuff like that doesnt bother me! Cant comment on breakfast as I didnt have it.
Location is good, there is parking at the hotel. If you want to get into the city centre it is a straight walk which takes about 30 mins, or there are very frequent buses at £2 for a single trip into the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haychcee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed for a week.
Pros: Hotel with well decorated and clean room complemented with free wifi. Staff were all friendly and pleasant. I was upgraded to a small double having booked a single room which I believe was great. Hotel is also in a peaceful area of Birmingham.

Cons: Biggest drawback is the food being served. Food was very bland and sometimes overcooked. Some tasted like tesco ready meal and other were even worse. e.g I ordered chicken tikka masala and it was the worst i ever had in my life. I mean it had lots of chicken but the sauce was horrible and tasted nothing like a tikka masala and for approx. £10 a ripoff . I was also served a glass of coke which tasted as if it was mixed with water ,however they gladly changed it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tushan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business a couple of times. Staff friendly and efficient, lounge and breakfast are decent. Single rooms are small and wedge shaped (the building is circular). Real issues with poor soundproofing. Biggest problem is with the plumbing though, sinks seem to all need a water pump which is noisy and you can hear it all night from surrounding rooms. Despite the pumps the shower flow/pressure is pathetic, no more than a trickle.

Only stay here if you don't want to sleep or shower !

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

oakham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

When we first pulled up we were worried as the outside looked dated, but don't let that put you off as once your inside it is clean and just nice.
The staff were really helpful and the room was large clean and nice

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen44krissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keynsham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Spent i night here,11 Nov,a good clean hotel,very quite at night so a good rest was easy,room clean and tidy,and a good size bed,easy access to the city center.Paid 81 pounds all in for 2, so at that price if you can get it you will not go wrong,very pleased and would use again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ostrogoths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed here for one night, rooms ok, nothing special, location great for the city, however the service from the staff I received especially on the main reception was very poor indeed, I felt very rushed even though I was the only person at the reception, I felt I was spoken to like I was a 5 year old child, very rude lady on reception, who is certainly in the wrong job ! Will Not be stopping again !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiggy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#58 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#34 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#84 of 117 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan

Property: Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Address: 225 Hagley Rd, Birmingham B16 9RY, England (Formerly Menzies Strathallan)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#42 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan is centrally located and easy to get to. The hotel is close to Birmingham city centre and offers plenty of free parking on site. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. The Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan has 135 bedrooms including 53 brand new City Double bedrooms. The hotel also has lots of great facilities including a brasserie, bar and lounge, a small gym for hotel guests, 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms for up to 170 delegate and function rooms for weddings up to 170 guests. BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Menzies Strathallan Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing