We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange looking hotel from the outside, great hotel on the inside!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ranked #53 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, on 6th floor, comfy beds, clean and modern furniture, tv and seating area, fee wi-fi, modern bathroom, free car parking.
I had 2 great nights sleep, with no problems at all. The hotel does have a bar and nice large seating area, I only ate one evening meal and ordered room service, but what I had was quick to arrive, hot, and really tasty!
Staff were friendly and attentive, I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a decent stop over.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

874 - 880 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed her with friends for. Murder mystery night. I was anticipating a slightly shoddy basic hotel but was pleasantly surprised. We had a room on the outer ring which was really quite big certainly bigger than our friends on the inner ring. Out was comfortable and well equipped and the bathroom was modern and well laid out. All of the staff were excellent! Best I've experienced in a long time. The miser mystery was really good and well laid out but we did have trouble hearing at times. The food was nice enough and the bar prices very reasonable.
The breakfast was excellent! Was constantly being replenished and again the staff were excellent. The only feedback I would offer is the toaster should be moved from the middle of the breakfast counter as it causes massive congestion. The end or a different table entirely would be much better!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank noodle1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is a largely business style hotel in a convenient location near to the centre of Birmingham.
The food in the Restaurant is good and reasonably priced, the buffet breakfast is excellent with good hot food replaced regularly.
The down side is that the rooms are rather like prison cells, drab decorations in an unremarkable shade of beige with dark curtains and furnishings. Our room had a view in to an internal light well,with the opposite wall not very far away, you needed to be a contortionist to be able to see the sky.
It was comfortable enough for a one night stay, but would drive you crazy if you had to stay there any longer.
The Staff were attentive and friendly, but they could not make up for the fact that the Hotel in general is well overdue a facelift.

Room Tip: Try to get one with an outside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveChislehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

If there was a good score rather than very good I would award it at that level. This is a reliable place to stay, secure, clean and comfortable. The food is pretty mediocre but there are lots of places to eat nearby. Rooms are fine and reasonably well equipped, they have updated the bathrooms in the superior doubles rather well. Great access to central Birmingham with great parking.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My wife and I stayed over for for the first time during the first weekend in December. Whilst being a regular visitor to Birmingham, this was the first time my wife had been and the first time, we as a couple had a night away in over 18 years. I wanted to avoid the normal type and style of a weekend break hotel so opted for The Menzies. I was not disappointed. The guys at reception, the overall look inside, the rooms and the room service (we had Christmas shopped the whole day) were faultless. Yes the rooms can be a little warm but was most welcome from the walk back from the city centre. The room was very, very clean and well laid out. The food was very reasonably priced and then room service choices was more than reasonable. Would stay again without a second thought

Room Tip: Outside rooms on a higher floor level would be a good suggestion, wonderful view of the city first t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Hotel was good - not outstanding though.

Good Points:

Free WIFI in room
Clean
Free Carparking
Food OK - Not Gourmet though
Free meal on one of the two nights I stayed (an offer)

Minor Points

Gym is small - but ok for a jog
Room was small and odd shaped (but completely comfy and kitted out in Modern furniture)

Staff

All were helpful and attentive - no gripes here

OVERALL

Yes, I would stay here again - Good for business trips -wifi, etc. Close to town centre, parking ideal. I would recommend the place :-)

Room Tip: If with a family I would select a larger room. I havent seen them but I would imagine quality is goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phendrixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We were keen to see the German Market so we booked 2 nights (Friday & Saturday) on line wiith Olotels which was offering a great Bed and Full Breakfast deal . The Market ,which turned out to be a collection of stalls selling ludicrously overpriced food, drink, and nondescript trinkets, was a waste of time. £2.50 for a small iced doughnut ???. The Hotel was a totally different ball game. Parking the car was easy. Our check in was smooth, our room '708' spotlessly clean and well appointed, with an impressive view. and the beds were extremely comfortable.The staff were all pleasant, obliging, well informed and appeared to have been trained to a very high standard. Despite the fact that several large functions were held until late during our stay, we heard nothing. A very wide choice was offered for breakfasts. The food was fresh,well cooked and appetising. Buses run into the city from a stop directly outside the hotel. A single ticket costs £2 per adult but the £3.90 rover gives unlimited travel on the day of issue. Bargain. The only MINUS point is that the hotel has a MAJOR issue with it's hot water pressure. The basin tap flow was ok but THE OVERBATH MIXER TAP FED SHOWER produced little better than a a weak dribble. A total rethink is indicated. Overall A great hotel . Thanks for an excellent stay. Will definitely be booking it again.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quietest Ask for an outward facing one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t0wbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#71 of 118 in Birmingham
1,131 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#35 of 118 in Birmingham
1,018 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
The Eaton Hotel
The Eaton Hotel
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
628 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan

Address: 225 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9RY, England (Formerly Menzies Strathallan)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#43 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £34 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan is centrally located and easy to get to. The hotel is close to Birmingham city centre and offers plenty of free parking on site. Free, superfast WiFi is also available throughout the hotel available to all guests. Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan has 135 bedrooms including 17 bedrooms refurbished in 2017 and 53 new City Double bedrooms created in 2016. The hotel also has lots of great facilities including a Hallmark Grill, bar and lounge, a small gym for hotel guests, 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms for up to 170 delegates. BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area playing top sporting action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Menzies Strathallan Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing