We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ranked #54 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a recent business trip to Birmingham,good location close to city centre.free parking is a bonus,the receptionist was extremely pleasant on checkin.The reception area was very modern and well decorated,my bedroom was on the fifth floor and was well presented,I was quite surprised how good it was, after reading some other reviews,it was a single room with a large single bed.The breakfast I had was first class,I wouldn't hesitate to come back to this hotel.staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollypip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    413
    251
    91
    62
See reviews for
110
362
96
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Five of us stayed here for the murder mystery evening when we arrived staff very helpful and friendly first impressions were very good. Our rooms were executive rooms and were very spacious, comfortable and clean. The evening entertainment was wonderful and the meal was lovely definitely been doing it again.

Breakfast the next morning was the best hotel breakfast I've ever tasted.

Excellent value for money can`t wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brotton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We managed a good price including a decent breakfast because we booked in advance, on the day it had gone up by £30. Yes, the room was small as other reviewers seemed to complain about but its only to sleep in - clean and comfortable - quaint really. No view whatsoever as it was looking in - room 723. The reception guys were friendly enough but the bar man was miserable and really didn't look as if he wanted to be there at all. Not good. Good location with plenty of places to eat. We ate virtually next door at 'Fiesta del Asado' - pricey but good. There was also a Beefeater, TGI's (which was packed) an Italian and a few others which I can't remember. Breakfast was all you could want really, staff and service good.

Room Tip: 723 faces inwards so there is no view, needed the air con on all night which burred but not overly n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

we have just came back from having two nights stay in this hotel , and we had a fantastic time , the food was great and the staff was more than friendly , I highly recommend this hotel its located near to town , , we would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a conference group. Downstairs conference meeting rooms were lovely. Food was good and service was friendly Nd professional. Rooms were very small, tired and well worn - although spotlessly clean. Walls were paper thin - could hear next door on the loo! Door lock did not work - no chain on the door.

Was definitely not worth £118 per night - if I had paid £50 for it I would have thought that was fair.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank holgate79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for you for taking the time to put your feedback on the web site and was sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your room, and I would just like to also offer a response.
We do have a variety of rooms and as it was a large conference all room types were used, and we do have 18 rooms that are due for a refurbishment although all others have had a refurbishment over the last five years and are constantly maintained and do not feel that these are in a tired condition and while we do not have chains on the doors we do have a dead bolt on the door and to date we are not aware of a lock that is not working.
You have mentioned that you paid a rate of £118, this I believe was for a 24hr conference rate which included accommodation, breakfast, lunch, morning and afternoon tea and meeting room hire and do not feel that you would get this anywhere at £50.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from staying at the strathallan and was very impressed. We stayed over, for one of their murder mystery events, and had a great time. Its in a Perfect location for heading into the city, with plenty of taxis and bus stops near by. We were given a sixth floor room with a lovely view of the city. I would defiantly recommend this hotel.

Positives: location, free parking, comfortable, gym, friendly receptionist, good access to transport, good meals and breakfast, nice rooms.

Negatives: drinks slightly expensive.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sparrowlegs17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night for a night out and to visit a local restaurant. Location is great, easy to find with free parking. Hotel itself is well past it's best by date, looks old now and could do with a complete overhaul. We had a standard room on the inside of the hotel. First room we were given was on the 4th floor and was so dark as there were walls outside the window, the floor was also covered with peanuts so obviously hadn't been cleaned properly. We asked for another room and were given one on the top floor. It was a bit lighter, but not much! Air con worked and room was quiet. Water pressure non existent, just dripped out if the taps and there was a hole in wall by toilet flush. If we'd been staying longer I would have upgraded to a superior outside room - they looked big and bright. We paid a bargain price so at the end of the day you get what you pay for. I would only come back here again if we got the same good rate, it's not a 4 star but fine for a night!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karensolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
600 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#65 of 117 in Birmingham
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#88 of 117 in Birmingham
748 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#26 of 117 in Birmingham
968 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan

Property: Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Address: 225 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9RY, England (Formerly Menzies Strathallan)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#43 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan is centrally located and easy to get to. The hotel is close to Birmingham city centre and offers plenty of free parking on site. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. The Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan has 135 bedrooms including 53 brand new City Double bedrooms. The hotel also has lots of great facilities including a brasserie, bar and lounge, a small gym for hotel guests, 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms for up to 170 delegate and function rooms for weddings up to 170 guests. BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Menzies Strathallan Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing