We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ranked #52 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Visited friends in Birmingham sat 24th-mon 26th may and stayed at the strathallan on a offer.The hotel is very well situated I think on the main road easy to park in the hotels car park..foc..or for the use of public transport to and from city centre or walking..The hotel is pretty good inside..clean not exceptionally big rooms, but what do you need to do there get changed and sleep.!The staff are very professional and welcoming.The food however is fab..The evening meals are marvellous. well worth the money but they really are very good.The outside of the hotel though looking a bit tired.Beds are comfortable ISH..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and for the excellent comment throughout, I will certainly pass these on to all the staff concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you back perhaps on your next visit to Birmingham.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

869 - 875 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a murder mystery package. One night stay with a set three course menu. Hotel was simple but adequate had all mod coms and good value for money. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a gym on site but we didn't use it. The restaurant/ lounge area was very welcomming

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5faten5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your very positive comments and pleased that you enjoyed the Murder Mystery evening and will certainly pass this on to both our staff and the event actors.

We do regular murder mystery events throughout the year, the themes changing on a monthly basis, they are generally on a Friday night but there are two or three two night events.

We hope you join us again in the future.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

In town for the BodyPower expo, arrived at the hotel, couldn't believe what abomination lead before us, a classic 1970s concrete mess. We arrived however and we're pleasantly surprised with the interior. We payed extra for a double room, and when we got to our room it was two singles, we phoned reception and the lady sorted us out quickly. The bed was very very very comfortable! the bathroom was lovely also. We had a comfortable stay and at breakfast there was a good variety and it was all very tasty :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cyd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for giving your time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor and for the very positive comments left and I will certainly pass these on to all the staff.

I know the exterior of our building is a little different to that of others and yes from the seventies, but with tongue in cheek we like to think of it being Iconic.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Got a space here for cheaper than usual through Hotwire.
+rooms are clean and practical
+good selection of room service
+convenient location
+bed comfortable and clean
-slightly rude receptionist upon entry
-maids attempted to clean our room at 7.30am while we were asleep

Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spatulaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments and for your time in doing this.
I apologies for the way the receptionist came over and we have reminded them on how important it is to offer good customer service, also housekeeping have been reminded about not being to eager to get into rooms.
We hope that when in Birmingham again that you will decide to stay with us again.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Really enjoyed our stay, staff were lovely as well as helpful. Food was of a good standard and the room was comfortable and clean. The bed was very comfy and the shower was refreshing with a towelling robe for comfort.
The only reason for not picking the top rating was that our visit was during hot weather and our room was very warm, saying that we were given a fan which helped.
Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor out facing twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your very positive feedback and taking the time to put this on this site.
We hope that you will take the opportunity to visit us again in the future,

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed in hotel for 1 night whilst attending a conference. Food fine for dinner but breakfast but that is were it ended!! The room was very small and incredibly warm, the windows didn't open and the atmosphere was stifling! No air con! The walls are paper thin from 5am - 7am I was subjected to a one way telephone conversation from the room next door, in spite of banging the wall it continued getting louder and louder! The gym was interesting, no air con, good for the football team going to Brazil! 4 cardio machines 2 were broken! No one at reception asked me about my stay before I left? Probably just as well! So unless you like sleeping in a sauna for 8 hours, give the Strathallan a miss!

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and that your room was too warm for you, we do not have air conditioning in our single rooms but do offer fans for those guests who feel it to warm.
I am also sorry that the guest next door was rather loud when on his phone, he did apologise when leaving as he let the banging on the wall get the better of him.
I have had maintenance check all rooms and can not find a window that does not open and the gym only has one piece of equipment out of order which has a sign on it as we are waiting for a replacement part, I would also mention that there is air conditioning in working order in the gym.
I do hope you will take the opportunity of trying us again when next in the Birmingham area and maybe booking one of our rooms with air conditioning.

kind regards
Kevin Williams
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had booked this hotel for a Friday 'Murder Mystery Evening' and had decided to stay for another night on the Saturday. The staff were helpful and polite on check-in, and the hotel offers secure parking. Our 'Murder Mystery Evening' was great fun, and although the food was a 'set menu' it was tasty and efficiently served. We had an excellent breakfast on both mornings of our stay as we opted for the 'freshly cooked' smoked haddock and omelette options which were excellent. The only criticism I could make of the good variety at breakfast was that the cheese and ham on the buffet did look a little stale. We had opted for, and paid a little extra for, an outside room, and having stayed at the hotel previously we thought that the extra space was a good investment. We had a very good stay with enjoyable food and pleasant staff, very convenient for getting into Birmingham, and with a variety of local buses stopping outside the door the parking was much appreciated and avoided the need to drive into Birmingham.

Room Tip: It is worthwhile to upgrade to an outside room unless you are travelling alone - the extra space is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FourteenBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed our Murder Mystery event and you took advantage of one of our upgrades.
I am sorry to hear the cheese and ham looked a bit stale, it is always freshly prepared before going into the refrigerated unit and maybe its this cold air blowing across it that maybe causing the problem, I will have this looked into so that we can solve this quality issue.
I do hope you take the opportunity to coming again to another Murder Mystery event or even just for a weekend break.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road)
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
1,037 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#71 of 118 in Birmingham
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan

Address: 225 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9RY, England (Formerly Menzies Strathallan)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#43 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £42 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan is centrally located and easy to get to. The hotel is close to Birmingham city centre and offers plenty of free parking on site. Free, superfast WiFi is also available throughout the hotel available to all guests. Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan has 135 bedrooms including 17 bedrooms refurbished in 2017 and 53 new City Double bedrooms created in 2016. The hotel also has lots of great facilities including a Hallmark Grill, bar and lounge, a small gym for hotel guests, 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms for up to 170 delegates. BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area playing top sporting action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Menzies Strathallan Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing