We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 nights B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ranked #62 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
swansea
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“3 nights B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed at Menzies Strathallan for 3 nights B&B with my wife 29/5 to 01/6 attending the Eagles concert at the NEC on 29/5 and a couple of days sightseeing.
Our room was a double on the 6th floor (604) it was a equipped with a large double bed, telephone a bath with shower above taps and dual control for either a towel heater. good size TV with sky sports, 2 comfortable chairs a desk ironing board and iron, tea coffee etc and a kettle.
The room was spacious and ideal for our needs and we both slept well.
The room didn't have a fridge but that was not an issue for us as we only tend to use them abroad anyway.
Breakfast was self service served until 930 mon - fri and 1030 at the weekend. There was a choice of cereals, fruit, fresh bread with a toaster ( as usual with this type you had to brown the bread twice unless you like it white) a good cooked selection fried or scrambled eggs bacon sausage mushrooms fried bread tomatoes potatoes. A wide variety of fruit drinks were available along with 2 vending machines with a very good selection of hot drinks. We had no complaints with the food or drinks which we enjoyed everyday.
There was a gym available but we did not use it.
The location was ideal close to the city with a bus stop outside if you didn't want the hassle of driving and parking.
Would we stay again absolutely great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for all your very positive comments about the hotel and will certainly pass these on to the staff.
Also thank you for your comments on the two drinks machines in the restaurant at breakfast, this is a new addition and we started to use these as it gives good quality fresh bean to cup coffee with fresh milk along with a good selection also including hot chocolate and available throughout breakfast as and when you would like your drink.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    383
    235
    84
    60
See reviews for
98
335
87
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

stayed in the hotel the room was quite small but adequate howevwhat disappointed me the most was being told on check in that breakfast was included and getting up the following morning not getting any breakfast because the staff member gave wrong information and a manager who just brushed me off. I left the hotel very annoyed about the whole experience and i wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time to leave your feedback on tripadvisor and was sorry to hear of your disappointment.
I am sorry you were given the incorrect information on your arrival at the hotel when you asked about if breakfast was included.
When this was checked it was discovered that your breakfast was not included as per your booking confirmation you will have received through your booking agent and I believe the manager on duty was apologetic to you about the information given on arrival and is very sorry you feel he brushed you off, although breakfast was available if you had wished to take it.

Once again please accept my apologies for your disappointment.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Visited friends in Birmingham sat 24th-mon 26th may and stayed at the strathallan on a offer.The hotel is very well situated I think on the main road easy to park in the hotels car park..foc..or for the use of public transport to and from city centre or walking..The hotel is pretty good inside..clean not exceptionally big rooms, but what do you need to do there get changed and sleep.!The staff are very professional and welcoming.The food however is fab..The evening meals are marvellous. well worth the money but they really are very good.The outside of the hotel though looking a bit tired.Beds are comfortable ISH..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and for the excellent comment throughout, I will certainly pass these on to all the staff concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you back perhaps on your next visit to Birmingham.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a murder mystery package. One night stay with a set three course menu. Hotel was simple but adequate had all mod coms and good value for money. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a gym on site but we didn't use it. The restaurant/ lounge area was very welcomming

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5faten5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very positive comments and pleased that you enjoyed the Murder Mystery evening and will certainly pass this on to both our staff and the event actors.

We do regular murder mystery events throughout the year, the themes changing on a monthly basis, they are generally on a Friday night but there are two or three two night events.

We hope you join us again in the future.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

In town for the BodyPower expo, arrived at the hotel, couldn't believe what abomination lead before us, a classic 1970s concrete mess. We arrived however and we're pleasantly surprised with the interior. We payed extra for a double room, and when we got to our room it was two singles, we phoned reception and the lady sorted us out quickly. The bed was very very very comfortable! the bathroom was lovely also. We had a comfortable stay and at breakfast there was a good variety and it was all very tasty :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for giving your time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor and for the very positive comments left and I will certainly pass these on to all the staff.

I know the exterior of our building is a little different to that of others and yes from the seventies, but with tongue in cheek we like to think of it being Iconic.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Got a space here for cheaper than usual through Hotwire.
+rooms are clean and practical
+good selection of room service
+convenient location
+bed comfortable and clean
-slightly rude receptionist upon entry
-maids attempted to clean our room at 7.30am while we were asleep

Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spatulaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments and for your time in doing this.
I apologies for the way the receptionist came over and we have reminded them on how important it is to offer good customer service, also housekeeping have been reminded about not being to eager to get into rooms.
We hope that when in Birmingham again that you will decide to stay with us again.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Really enjoyed our stay, staff were lovely as well as helpful. Food was of a good standard and the room was comfortable and clean. The bed was very comfy and the shower was refreshing with a towelling robe for comfort.
The only reason for not picking the top rating was that our visit was during hot weather and our room was very warm, saying that we were given a fan which helped.
Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor out facing twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very positive feedback and taking the time to put this on this site.
We hope that you will take the opportunity to visit us again in the future,

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#82 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan

Property: Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Address: 225 Hagley Rd, Birmingham B16 9RY, England (Formerly Menzies Strathallan)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#43 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan is centrally located and easy to get to. The hotel is close to Birmingham city centre and offers plenty of free parking on site. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. The Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan has 135 bedrooms including 53 brand new City Double bedrooms. The hotel also has lots of great facilities including a brasserie, bar and lounge, a small gym for hotel guests, 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms for up to 170 delegate and function rooms for weddings up to 170 guests. BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Menzies Strathallan Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing