We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“its murder”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ranked #62 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“its murder”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

stayed here with my best friend in april for a murder mystery weekend. EVERYONE needs to do one of these!! best fun. hotel basic really, but very clean large room, good buffet breakfast, everything tasted good. all meals were included, all fab value, even more so as my friend paid, staff were helpful, bit of a trek in to town, bustop right out side the hotel, again fab value as the bus driver let us on for free as the ticket machine had broken...next trek we went in to town by taxi and the couple we shared with insisted on paying so yet another free ride. town was lovely, i would certainly visit birmingham again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaz N Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    382
    235
    83
    60
See reviews for
98
334
87
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Recently booked tickets for the George Benson gig at Birmingham Symphony Hall and, at the same time, decided that rather than drive all the way back home to Gloucester we'd stay overnight in Birmingham after the show. We wanted somewhere convenient and as there's quite a wide choice of hotels on the Hagley Road we chose Menzies Strathallan completely on spec.
Happily it turned out to be a good choice; although the room was a little smaller than we had anticipated (a mini double) it was clean, well appointed with a desk, TV, wardrobe plus a decent sized and very comfortable bed and bathroom with bath and overhead shower - everything we needed for just a one night stay. The hotel also has plenty of parking.
Didn't have dinner but the buffet breakfast was really good with plenty of choice, tasty hot food
and courteous efficient service.
If you need to be in this part of Birmingham overnight then Menzies Strathallan is good value for money and very comfortable - it's especially convenient for the Symphony Hall being about 30 minutes walk straight down Hagley Road and on to Broad Street or catch a bus right outside.
And George Benson? Brilliant!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pontypridd
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here in a mini double for a business trip and booked last minute. The room was very small - just enough for the 3/4 bed, desk, tv and a small wardrobe. The bathroom was a nice size with both a bath and shower. It was fine for what i needed but there wasn't a lot of space. I had room service one night which was fine and had the summer special set menu the next night which was lovely. Breakfast had a choice of cereals and toast as well as cooked breakfast.

All in all no complaints really. Wouldn't recommend this room just because of the lack of space but was fine for a few nights away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBorringdocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Strathallan on our wedding night 15 years ago so, as a surprise, I booked the same Suite to celebrate our anniversary. Lovely Suite with a separate living area, very clean with an immaculately clean bathroom. Breakfast was delicious, buffet style, with fresh food being constantly bought through from the kitchen. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth12061510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
299 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Room was the main issue. It's an odd hotel, bit of a concrete carbuncle on the edge of town. Check in staff were uninterested and real lack of manners. Room was "mini" double, and was just that, and various parts falling off in the room. Dinner was ok in the bar, breakfast was ok, and wifi worked fine throughout. A lot if others around it, will try one of them next time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank andhewittscores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a strangely shaped hotel about 1.5 miles outside the City Centre. Being circular if you are unfortunate enough to have a room on the inside of the hotel facing the centre then they are not particularly large. I am not sure what the outward facing ones are like but would definitely opt for one of those if you stay here.

I could hear all that was said in the room next door as well as the ablutions that occurred in the morning. Very thin walls.

The staff were nice enough and helpful on arrival. Breakfast was typical for a buffet style hotel but adequate.

The hotel is about 20-25 minutes’ walk to the city centre but does benefit from private car park which again is circular but does have a metal door that comes down when not in use so is quite secure.

I stayed here for a business meeting and booked the boardroom which was very good. The buffet food was also good and plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits. Recommended for a meeting venue for about 10 people.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

From the outside it looks very dated and throw back to the 70's but was pleasantly surprised when entered reception. Bright open space and modern. Rooms were of a very good size, clean and again modern. The murder mystery itself was new to me but was good fun, it could of done with a disco at the end as finished as 10pm and had to stay in the bar. Comfortable bed but hard pillows (for me). Quiet room. Lovely breakfast next day. Overall a nice place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kikid99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your customer feedback and I am really pleased you enjoyed your first Murder Mystery and hope you will try another with us in the future as the theme changes on a monthly basis.
I can understand what you mean about the disco afterwards, although the reason why we do not do this is to that it would put the price up and that we are less than a mile from Broad street and Birmingham city centre where there is a hive of activity and discos to go to for all and this is what we find a lot of our murder mystery diners doing afterwards.

We hope to see you again whether it be for another Murder Mystery or just a weekend break.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
565 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
921 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#81 of 118 in Birmingham
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan

Property: Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Address: 225 Hagley Rd, Birmingham B16 9RY, England (Formerly Menzies Strathallan)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#43 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan is centrally located and easy to get to. The hotel is close to Birmingham city centre and offers plenty of free parking on site. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. The Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan has 135 bedrooms including 53 brand new City Double bedrooms. The hotel also has lots of great facilities including a brasserie, bar and lounge, a small gym for hotel guests, 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms for up to 170 delegate and function rooms for weddings up to 170 guests. BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Menzies Strathallan Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing