We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend away with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ranked #62 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Weekend away with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel from reviews on trip advisor and bookings.com. When we arrived I thought we'd made a big mistake!
Positioned just off a dual carriage way it's concrete facade is so un inviting and run down.
We parked in the circular multi story car park and entered the hotel via a series of stairwell in the the reception.
This is where we let out a sigh of relief! The hotel was modern, clean and welcoming.
We got a free upgrade to an executive room, I asked and they delivered!
Room great size, bed was massive and really comfortable. Bathroom was clean, modern but the shower a bit weak, but all new fixtures.

There is a bus stop located directly outside the entrance and the 126 takes you to the Bullring for £2.10 single but you must have the exact change.
We walked to Broad street for food, it took about 20 mins, we caught a taxi back and it cost us £9.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NCCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments about our staff and for taking the time to leave them on the web site.
I will ensure these are passed on to all the staff and we hope to see you again here at the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    383
    235
    84
    60
See reviews for
98
335
87
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deeside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have been there several times with friends to celebrate special occasions and can recommend it highly. A few have been in one of their function rooms which were good size rooms with pleasant decoration and looked good, the buffet was superb on every occasion with a good chioce and plenty of it.The rest have been in their carvery restaurant which, again, was top quality. A good selection of starters all fresh and well presented and good main courses with excellent roast meats and good selection/ quality of veg.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DaveJ666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Customer

Thank you for your feedback and we are all pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your dining experiences when visiting our restaurant.
I will ensure I pass your comments on to all the staff.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Had an event at the Birmingham Botanical Gardens which this hotel was perfectly located for. Could have walked but because of the weather got a taxi which the hotel helpfully booked for us it was only a £5 trip. The room was spacious and I was pleased to see a hairdryer included. Got a good deal online so upgraded to the double rather than mini which I was glad of after reading reviews on the mini. Breakfast was included and excellent choices even as a vegetarian they had a lot of choice, also good coffee and juice. Would definitely stay again. Especially as parking was free and plenty of spaces which is a big bonus in Birmingham.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppy_Mccrale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments and for taking the time to leave them on the web site.
I will ensure these are passed on to all the staff and we hope to see you again here at the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked this hotel at a hefty discount online, paying £36 for a standard double. I'm not sure that it would have been worth it at full price, but this was a nice hotel nonetheless. Free parking was a definite plus.

We had a room on the inside on the 6th floor. Since we were only staying one night, it was not a massive disappointment to miss out on the view. We had the window open all night and were not disturbed by any noise from outside. It was nice to have the air conditioning machine as well as the room was very warm. It did not make much noise and sleeping was no issue. The bed was comfortable too. The room was quite small but adequate.

The room was well presented and equipped with hot drinks making facilities, tv, hairdryer and iron. Reception was able to provide us with fresh milk for tea at no extra cost, and it arrived at our door within 10 minutes of requesting it. The bathroom was very clean and we had no problem at all with water pressure as reported by some guests.

Overall we enjoyed our stay, but if we were to stay for several nights it might be good to get a larger room.

Room Tip: Inside rooms not as bad as some people make out, but for longer stays might be worth upgrading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and for your very positive comments and I will be sure to pass these on to all the staff.

I hope that you will have the time to visit Birmingham again in the future and book with us again.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you don't wish to leave the hotel or go very far, this hotel is perfect for the overnighter business trip or meeting. We booked a meeting room for the afternoon and this was very reasonably priced with a good quality and good selection finger buffet working lunch. We had everything we needed for the meeting and the room was air conditioned.

There is not a lot in the immediate vicinity of the hotel and the town centre and canal are a good half hour walk away, which is fine during the summer months but you would want to grab a taxi in the winter.

Accommodation - small but adequate. I wouldn't want to stay here for more than two nights. I booked 7 bedrooms for our group and everyone had the same type of room. Being a circular building, if you have a bedroom on the 'inside' of the circle, you have a 'wedge shaped' room which doesn't give you a lot of space. I would presume the 'outer circle' rooms would be larger. But to be fair the room had everything you would need for a short stay - tea and coffee making facilities, clean and tidy. I would recommend this hotel for business or a short visit, but you would need a car!

Room Tip: for longer stays I would presume the 'outer circle' rooms would have more space, therefore I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloverwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for all your very kind and positive comments, I will ensure these are passed on to all the staff concerned.
We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Dont arrive by coach. If you do you have to get right round the building to the main door with your things. An open reception area with a very slightly partitioned dining area and bar. Limited seating. Room, single for me. Adequate. Staff pleasant. Shower rather a drip than a flow. . Bedding heavy and mattress had steel rims I could feel and very hard in places. Had to ask for a sheet as the room was very stuffy and the window would only open about 4". Couldnt stand it open at night due to traffic noise.. Much emphasis on the ironing board probably the room is OK for a 1 night stay. The bathroom would be difficult to access if one were on the heavy side as you had to close the door to get to the wash hand basin. The Breakfasts were excellent the dinner variable with little choice. Access to Birmingham city centre took quite a while as traffic very heavy.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of the circular building would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 476gillianw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback, if you arrived by coach the driver should have stopped either at the front of the hotel or if dropping you off at the back stayed on the main road and made us aware that you had arrived so that we could have let you in via our Portland road entrance.
I will ask the staff to find the mattress concerned so that it can be changed. The showers have an electric pump so should have delivered a good flow of water, again I will get maintenance to have this pump looked at to ensure they get it working again.
Thank you for your detailed comment as this is very helpful to ensure that we improve our offering in the hotel.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Mid range hotel with good prices. Our party had a standard and an executive room. Both rooms were very nicely decorated and modern with all the expected facilities. The executive rooms were almost twice the size of the standard worth paying the additional £10. I agree that if you opened the bedroom windows it was noisy but we were just outside town with the ongoing traffic Staff helpful. Resturant of reasonable standard, had to send back soup as cold which was returned piping hot with a smile.Breakfast was surprisingly very good, my son and husband eat very well ! Asked if there was any porridge and the answer was on request which arrived a few minutes later. Would recommend and would also recommend the gastro pub opposite !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina2_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and for the very positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#81 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan

Property: Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Address: 225 Hagley Rd, Birmingham B16 9RY, England (Formerly Menzies Strathallan)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#43 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan is centrally located and easy to get to. The hotel is close to Birmingham city centre and offers plenty of free parking on site. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. The Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan has 135 bedrooms including 53 brand new City Double bedrooms. The hotel also has lots of great facilities including a brasserie, bar and lounge, a small gym for hotel guests, 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms for up to 170 delegate and function rooms for weddings up to 170 guests. BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Menzies Strathallan Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing