We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,328)
Filter reviews
1,328 results
Traveller rating
363
489
294
102
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
489
294
102
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurder mysterycity centrehagley roadbus stopfree car parkingsingle roomrooms are smallexecutive roomrestaurant staffwould stay againironing boardbuffet styletea and coffee making facilitiesself servicereception areafull englishone night stay
Filter
Updating list...
897 - 902 of 1,328 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is a clean and comfortable hotel with a pleasant and helpful staff. The gym is exceptionally small (4 pieces of cardio equipment, only 2 working when I was there, 2 simple weight lifting machines, only 1 working) so not particularly useful. The biggest downside is that it is not in the most helpful location so to get to either the university or city center is a cab ride or a long walk. We ended up having to take a lot of cabs to get around. Otherwise, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateMBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for business over 4 nights. Single rooms are small but clean and in reasonable condition. The walls are thin. Staff are friendly and helpful (especially the cleaning ladies). Good parking. Brutalist architecture which is quite interesting. Breakfast pretty good.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your comments, which I will pass on to the staff and hope you will visit again the next time you are in Birmingham.

kind regards
Kevin Williams
General manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel, to take part in a Murder Mystery" evening. This was a first for us on two levels.

Our first time staying at this hotel and our first time taking part in a murder mystery.

the hotel was very nice, we had a lovely "Executive" room, with a nice King size bed, the room was tastefully furnished, nice bathroom, staff were very polite and helpful. this hotel is conveniently located on Hagely Road with bus stops just outside where you can catch several buses to take you to the city centre within minutes.

We thoroughly enjoyed taking part in the Murder Mystery evening, ( although we did not guess correctly who the murderer was!) We were treated to a lovely well cooked three - course meal with wine throughout the evening.

I would recommend this experience to my friends and family. Looking forward to the next one!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HermaLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for all your very positive comments and very pleased that you had enjoyed our murder mystery event, we run these very regularly throughout the year and can be booked direct with the hotel, our next ones with availability on them is in October should you or your family like to attend again.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

After a previously horrendous experience at another hotel, we were able to obtain some rooms last minute at the Menzies.

Lovely rooms, very comfortable and spotless, if a little warm! Slept well and the included breakfast was plentiful and delicious.

Very close to the University of Birmingham, perfect location to attend the graduation ceremonies the following morning.

A lovely stay, highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank 788KSNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments and for taking the time to leave them on the web site.
I will ensure these are passed on to all the staff and we hope to see you again here at the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I just had one night here as had a wedding to go to nearby. The staff were very pleasant and I was pleasantly happy! The room was small but had everything I needed for my stay,including the iron which was needed! The only downside for me was that the shower wasn't very powerful for me but I guess everyone is different on how they like their's! The breakfast was outstanding and filled me up perfectly for the day!

Great hotel and would defiantly stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben21043615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments and for taking the time to leave them on the web site.
I will ensure these are passed on to all the staff, I will ask the maintenance team to look into why your shower was not performing as it should and we hope to see you again here at the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews