We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ranked #49 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Arrived at the Menzies not a very lovely looking hotel from the outside but once in nice. carpets need a little TLC we booked with super breaks we were told if we didn't like our room to let them know and they would upgrade for £10 per night we stayed 2 so £20 we saw the room no way were we staying in that lil pokey room 424 so we went back down to reception to tell them and was upgraded to a bigger room 632 when we arrived there the room hadn't been cleaned used towels bed not made so we phoned reception and he had given us the wrong room should have been next door in 634 so along he came with key cards for 634 and gave us our £20 back for our inconvienience bonus and the room was fabulous big bed loads of room lovely ensuite my only niggle was the hotel is very hot no heating on so didn't understand why. Noise from the road and that was one of the quiet rooms earplugs don't forget them we ate in the hotel evening meal absolutely beautiful my husband had the braised beef I had the belly pork if you are a big eater u may need to order more like sides as the food is al a carte menu u get starter as well as a pud alcohol from the bar is expensive too breakfast is very nice. U can get a bus outside the hotel that will take u to the bullring and broad street £4 each on the bus unlimited useless u can walk 20 mins.we ate at the ming moon it's in china town we had to wait half hour well worth it food was beautiful all u can eat and at the back u could pick what u wanted to be cooked there and then as u waited and wait for it aCHOCOLATE FOUNTAIN yummy very nice so give it a whirl I will be back very soon as I want to check out reflex 80s club and also the shopping is brilliant enjoy x

Room Tip: Rooms facing the casino are quieter than the Hagley road 634 on 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jillhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
259Kevin, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and I was very pleased to read you had a lovely time and enjoyed your stay.
The rooms with the windows closed are very much almost noise free although I can appreciate that if it was warm you may have wished the windows open, although we do provide fans for those who would like them.
The bar prices are similar to all the hotels and restaurants in our area so feel we are very competitive with our pricing.
And your quite right chocolate fountain Yummy.

We do hope you have the time and opportunity to stay with us again when next visiting Birmingham.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

Girlfriend was in town and we stayed here. Hotel was excellent only issue was the bed had seen better days with springs that hurt our backs. Room 442. Apart from that it was the perfect stay. Will stay again :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
259Kevin, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and I was very pleased to read you had a lovely time and enjoyed your stay.

I am pleased to say that a new mattress has arrived today for room 442 and please accept my apologies for your bed not being as comfortable as it should have been.

We do hope you have the time and opportunity to stay with us again when next visiting Birmingham.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Expensive drinks miserable boring staff not be staying again bla bla bla food was shocking for breakfast even the host at breakfast has a face like a bag of spanners not what you expect in a morning at a hotel sorry but pants guys

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Skoulin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
259Kevin, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and I was to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.
We constantly receive very positive feedback about our staff and the quality of our breakfast and will certainly look into why this may have not been the case on this occasion.
The bar prices are similar to all the hotels and restaurants in our area so feel we are very competitive with our pricing.

We do hope you will give us another opportunity of looking after you again when next visiting Birmingham.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Booked for the weekend for the finals day. Perfect location quality large room but a little road noise as on busy main road. Room clean and well appointed. Full range for breakfast and self service for those with a good appetite. Staff friendly and helpful, secure free car park and a comfy small bar area. Would stay again and recommend for any trip to brum or a trip to edgbaston!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ACKERS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
259Kevin, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and I was very pleased to read you had a lovely time and enjoyed your stay.

We do hope you stay with us again when next visiting Birmingham.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed on a Super break meal deal with 1 evening meal and breakfast on each day.

Travelled with my Wife and parents for a birthday treat

From the outside the hotel is not very inviting but once inside its very well laid out, clean and the staff are friendly. We checked in and where welcomed with a pleasant smile given our keys and told what time breakfast was the next morning. The breakfast was nothing special but more than adequate with a good selection and pleasant surroundings. We had booked our evening meal for the second night to coincide with my birthday and the food was excellent 3 courses and coffee to finish. All the staff on duty sang happy birthday to me and allowed us to take our own cake into the restaurant

The rooms were clean but a little on the small side however the bed was very comfortable and the room had a flat screen tv with lots of channels.

Car parking was not an issue and is free with the room, I counted at least 50 spaces so should never be an issue with finding a spot

Room Tip: Try for an outside room so you have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
259Kevin, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and I was very pleased to read you had a lovely time and enjoyed your stay.

We do hope you have the time and opportunity to stay with us again when next visiting Birmingham.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ok. Despite the inner room that we were in 703 being so small you couldn't swing a cat in the rest of the hotel is ok. We asked for the chairs and the table to be removed which was done within 5 minutes. The hotel is clean. The breakfast was good nothing to complain about.

We asked the hotel to book a taxi for the Saturday morning so we could get to the cricket ground. The taxi arrived in time. Bar was ok and prices were ok.

We would return but now would ask for a outside room.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank themorgLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
259Kevin, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and I was very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay.

We do hope you have the time and opportunity to stay with us again when next visiting Birmingham.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We needed a cheap stop over on our way to Yorkshire and this came up at just under £40 for a double room with no breakfast. As other reviewers have said the hotel looks very 70's from the outside but inside has been refurbished so looks like any other hotel of a similar grade. A major benefit of other city centre hotels is there is lots of free parking,we parked in the tower car park which has direct access to to the lifts and stairs. Our room was on the 7th floor, wasn't expecting a lot as we had paid so little, the room was small sort of wedge shaped but had everything we needed it was clean with decent bedding and furnishings, we had coffee tea and biscuits, hanging space, desk and TV and a comfortable bed. It had air conditioning as the windows don't open which kept the room at a comfortable temperature all night. The room was on the inside of the building which meant we had a view of other windows & rusty dirty beams it's not a very well designed building, the bathroom was ok a bit small and dated, it was very quiet but there were very few people staying, We didn't eat in the hotel you don't need to as there is a Chef and Brewer pub opposite, we ate in the Ask Italian restaurant a few doors down, also spotted a TGI Fridays with in walking distance so no need to pay expensive hotel bar and food prices. The hotel is in a leafy pleasant part of the city yet only a few minutes drive to the city centre. I would stay again as it was clean and comfortable in a good location and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TonyRGUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
259Kevin, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and I was very pleased to read you had a lovely time and enjoyed your stay and pleased you found it good value for money.

We do hope you have the time and opportunity to stay with us again when next visiting Birmingham.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#73 of 118 in Birmingham
1,122 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#31 of 118 in Birmingham
1,002 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Edgbaston
The Eaton Hotel
The Eaton Hotel
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan

Address: 225 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9RY, England (Formerly Menzies Strathallan)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#43 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £39 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan is centrally located and easy to get to. The hotel is close to Birmingham city centre and offers plenty of free parking on site. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. The Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan has 135 bedrooms including 53 brand new City Double bedrooms. The hotel also has lots of great facilities including a brasserie, bar and lounge, a small gym for hotel guests, 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms for up to 170 delegate and function rooms for weddings up to 170 guests. BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Superbreak UK, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Menzies Strathallan Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing