We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas "do" stop over” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Crown
Ranked #11 of 54 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Christmas "do" stop over”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The room was massive and full of history (well the whole pub is), I loved it!
But....it's on a main road which is noisy, late night taxis etc... and I think there was a lock in at the pub coz it was so loud with music.

The en-suite bathroom was lovely and the whole wonkiness of the room and hotel was fab.

The breakfast was good too!

I didn't see the ghost/ghosts! lol

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelInspector027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    41
    17
    7
    9
See reviews for
16
51
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a great stay here. The pub had great beer and food and the staff was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in had a lot of character and was en suite. All in all, we were very happy with our stay!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Decided to book here rather than paying taxi fares back out to the Black Country after a night out in Birmingham. Same price >:-) Was absolutely the right choice. From the very first call to book, right through checking in, to checking out AND adding an impromptu breakfast on on a Sunday morning, the staff were friendly and efficient, without being intrusive.
The room was basic, but comfortable and warm. Enough room to get ready for a night out and have a relaxed cuppa at the same time.
The bed was very comfy and welcoming after a night of merriment!
I would say, if you are quite tall, watch out for the ceilings with the low beams - it IS a genuinely historic building and will catch a six foot bloke unawares several times.
The building itself is lovely, very olde worlde without being pretentious. Love it.
Have to mention breakfast, which I tacked on as a whim. £6 for a full english (with extremely good quality all-meat, no gristle sausages!) with tea and orange juice - absolute bargain.
Loved staying here, and was the envy of a couple of friends; one had travelled from London and had tried booking a couple of weeks in advance but the place was full at that time, and one that had gone for the taxi option - they loved their brief visit my room too,
Really enjoyed staying here and will definitely book again!

Room Tip: IF you want space for two or more to move around easily, go for a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is probably a very good B&B, I booked to stay here but due to unforeseen circumstances didn't but that didn't stop Kieron doing his absolute best to make our stay a success. He was not responsible for our end accommodation but still tried to help by feeding us and paying for our car parking. Next time I would like to actually stay there!

Room Tip: Can't help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BROMSGROVE
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My Wife and I recently stayed at the Old Crown, very atomospheric pub very nicely refurbed to restore the pub to a more traditional no frills old English pub, booked via late rooms and we were not dissapointed, young enthusiastic staff greeted us on arrival escorted to room which was functional and pleasant, only downer there was no loo in the room, communal loo shower were close by. The full english breakfast was first class, we paid £40 for B & B, was this value for money, ABOSLUTELY.
Million dollar question, would you come again, Answer yes. Overall if you looking for somewhere to stop overnight near to Bham City Centre this is the ideal spot, 5 mins from Digbeth Coach station and New St trains what more can you ask for.
Nice one Guys.. Rich / Denise Henbury

Room Tip: Rooms next to bathroom area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DICKOS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kieran1368, Owner at The Old Crown, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hi Rich & Denise,

Many thanks for your positive feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Hopefully see you again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I've visited this pub on several occasions but this is the first time I've tried something from the menu.

With an obvious recent refurb I was interested to try the chicken burger, whilst my boyfriend opted for the Armada burger.

Sad to say the bar service was friendly (from the barman) but inept one of our drinks was served incorrectly and the barman was clearly distracted by other things, the phone ringing, etc to focus on the order.

We saw other people waiting to be served as one of the bar staff chatted on the phone.

One couple was refused tea or coffee, because the kitchen was too busy.

When the food arrived it was delivered without cutlery or direction towards condiments. The food was also disappointing - the chips were undercooked and the chicken breast burger overlooked/chewy in places. The Armada burger was ok.

Overall this was a disappointing experience.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kieran1368, Owner at The Old Crown, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hi Caroline B,

We are sorry that your experience at The Old Crown wasn't to our normal standard.. The night in question was extremely busy and we were short staffed for the first part of the evening, however this should not have affected our customer service.

Our food is normally well recommended, so its a shame that you didn't enjoy your burger and apologise that your weren't satisfied. As is our policy, we would like to offer a full refund for the food you were not satisfied with, please call me on 0121248 1368 to arrange.

Many Thanks
Kieran mc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just had the nicest sunday lunch in The Old Crown, friendly staff and lovely, quirky, interesting building. Will definitely be returning. Food was excellent and there was plenty. Worth reading the history of the pub before going in as it is fascinating.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naughtycat_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kieran1368, Owner at The Old Crown, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Many thanks for your positive feedback, we are glad thou enjoyed you Sunday Roast

Hopefully see you again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#64 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Crown

Property: The Old Crown
Address: 188 High Street | Deritend, Birmingham B12 0LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Old Crown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing